Find companies:
South Georgia Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
43 reviews

South Georgia Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Housekeeper III (Current Employee), Valdosta, GADecember 10, 2014
Great Place to work, great caring people, clean facility, every demonstrates excellent teamwork and customer service is outstanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fulfilling learning how to research records to help others
Medical Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Valdosta, GADecember 1, 2014
Pros: communicating with others
Cons: low pay
I supervised new employees and checked patients in and out. I learned how to multi-task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horror House
Nursing Support (Former Employee), LakelandNovember 15, 2014
This company was the worst place I have ever worked in my life. Management lack skills on their own policies and procedures. To busy purchasing new facilities to even care about quality of care. SGMC Lakeland this facility was stuck in the dark ages it reminded me of an episode of "The Beverly Hillbilly sitcom" a typical day at work was nothing but – more... confusion and no support amongst staff. The Hardest part of the job was the cultural setting the workers were complacent and lack skills. No regard for respect or dignity to its patients. I would not recommend anyone to work for this company they don't care about workers. Lowest wages in this region. They practice discrimination tactics on a daily! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with fun co-workers.
Radiologic Technologist Intern (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAOctober 31, 2014
The co-workers were easy to get along with and were always helpful. They provided great encouragement and my confidence was boosted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Floor
Patient Care Technician II (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: making patients happy
Cons: short break, sometimes no break
-Taking care of patients could be up to 17 at one time
-Learn to do your job independently
-Some job titles were not recognized for their hard work as if they were not as important as others
-Hardest part-getting current manager to address certain issues with certain people; previous manager was great!
-Enjoyable part-making the patients happy and their – more... families; the patients and their families telling you they appreciate you – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to want to go to work, although I love my job, the management lacks.
Holding Area Coordinator (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAOctober 7, 2014
Pros: i have a job, and friends.
Cons: rarely get breaks, 30 min lunch, no freebies or help.
I usually go to work at 0400 to start the charts, etc, but am not allowed .to clock in till 0455. I do this on my own because it makes the workday easier for the rest of the staff to have this done ahead of time. Ive learned that people, as adults, are just as cruel as children. Our management will do anything to take credit for the day running smoothly, – more... even if it is someone else making it happen. She spends more time at her computer, and smoking, and talking about people, than doing her job. She has no skills at management, is tactless, will call people out for problems in front of their cooworkers. She has also been known to not be truthful when problems arise. She is out the door at 1330, no matter what, she cannot be reached in an emergency, and if you do she has usually had to much to drink. I could go on, but it is unbelievable what she does to people, she is cruel. Most of my cooworkers are wonderful people, they are just afraid of her because she has been here so long. They have gotten to the point that they won't do anything extra, unless they are told for fear of her retaliating. The hardest part of my job is trying to act nice to her, and covering my back, which is why I am still here, cause I know how to document everything. I love my patients, I love being a nurse, I love taking care of people, and want to do it for a long time. I used to be so happy here, until she came into this position, now I spend more time making sure Im covering my back than taking care of my patients, whom I love. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PCT 3 MSICU
Patient Care Tech III/MSICU (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: difficult patients
Get report from my nurses, greet my patients, help with family members in their time of change, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, friendly employees, insufficient compensation
❸ Healthcare Application Training Specialist (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: self pace, teamwork, and good work/life time management
Cons: less than average compensation, low employee moral, not recognized for accomplishments
I enjoy training licensed and ancillary staff on a variety of healthcare applications in the hospital inpatient and outpatient setting. I have gained valuable and applicable experience in several electronic health record (EHR) applications such as: McKesson Horizon Expert Orders, Expert documentation, AdminRx, Relay Health, Athena Health EMR, and many – more... more. I participate as part of the implementation team for all EHR project phases: class scheduling, integrated testing, training/education, and go-live support. I work with a great team and staff in the Information Services department, and have established great working relationships and networks in the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grat emergency room staff.
Staff /charge Nurse in the ED (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAJuly 6, 2014
I worked here right after graduation and learned many nursing skills in the emergency room. Assisted with many codes, multiple traumas and medical issues who presented to the emergency room.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Experience
EMT/Paramedic (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAMay 2, 2014
SGMC is a wonderful place to work for. My co-workers are the best!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAApril 29, 2014
Very nice place and atmosphere to work with and for, everyone is friendly and makes you feel like not only that you belong with the company but also recognize you when you do a good job and brings your flaws to your attention as well which is a good thing due to the fact that it gives you a chance to improve in the areas you lack in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with a family atmosphere.
REGISTRATION CLERK/CLERICAL SUPPORT TECH (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAApril 24, 2014
A typical workday was checking in almost 50 patients a day. I learned how to file paperwork in medical charts, pre-register patients, make appointments, print prescription lists, and scan documents into the database. My co-workers were wonderful to work with. The hardest part of my job was making appointments when there was no more appointments left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy my job
certified respiratory therapysts (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAApril 7, 2014
Pros: rrespiratory care week/ free inservices for ceu"s/ free food from reps
Cons: sometimes you have to limit your lunch, but you also have to think about that special need patient that cant breath.
A typical day for floor technicians application of bronchodilator treatment/incentive spiromerty/abg drawsinstallation of bipap/cpap and monitoring. I learned to intubate through intubation rotation in the Operating room.Our supervisor is a good manager and fair.I love all my co-workers and theyand they love me.All of then are capable therapysts.The – more... hardest pat in not takeing you work home with you when a patient passes away.I got along with doctors nurses /and all co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Supervisor of Patient Financial Services (Current Employee), ValdostaMarch 25, 2014
Good company to work with. Nice people to work with and no problems with job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job was good but Management is very poor
Facilities Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: you do get your 40 hours in thats about all
Cons: to many to list
love the job, but no backing from Management cant get nothing fix
waste money . will not help you to better yourself trying to get an education so I Resign to go back to school to get my degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client Services Representative
Client Service Representative (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: love the people i work with, love the patients, free lunches from our reps
Cons: can't think of any cons
Working at Wound Healing is a very satisfying job. I love the people I work with and I love our patients. I got a great promotion with this job. I started this job with a great raise in pay. I went from making 8.25 and hour in Youth Care to making $10.96 when I moved to the Ambulatory Services Center and then received a $2.00 raise when I was promoted – more... to the Wound Healing Center. I have received several raises since coming to Wound Healing Center. I currently make $14.79 an hour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAJanuary 14, 2014
I prepared invoices to enter into computerized system. Very people oriented environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare setting at hospital.
PBX Operator (Former Employee), Valdosta, GANovember 14, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: no benefits
Everyday is a challenge that comes with new knowledge in healthcare. Working with co workers as a team was beneficial to providing excellent customer service. it was always a good day when you can help people who may not understand or know where to turn in situations surrounding this hospital care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All prior jobs were very educational.
Customer Service, Medical Record Management (Former Employee), Valdosta, GANovember 13, 2013
Pros: paid holiday
Cons: parking
At the place where I worked to longest which was South Georgia Medical Center, I had the opportunity of learning medical terminology as well as accomplishing skills such as working the computer. A typical day at work would be a day of rushing anywhere from 20 to 30 patients out to surgery, receiving them back and sending them home. Managing their medical – more... records with pertinent information for surgery was the most important part of my job. I enjoyed serving patients and their families as well as working with a team of positive, hard working co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MY JOB IS GOOD ITS HAS GOOD AND BADS DAYS ACCORDING TO WHATS DISPATCHED OUT COULD BE SAD
Secretary/Non Emergency Transport for EMS (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAOctober 30, 2013
Pros: benefits and monday thru friday
SETTING UP TRANSPORTS REGISTRATION BILLING. HOW TO TREAT EVERYONE AS INDIVIDUAL AND HOW YOU WOULD LIKE TO BE TREATED REGARDLESS OF THE WAY THEY ACT.WE ARE A TEAM HERE AND EVERYONE HELPS EVERYBODY WHEN NEEDED OR ASK.THE PEOLPE I WORK WITH ARE GREAT AND THE IS NO BAD PART OF MY JOB IT'S ALL ENJOYABLE

1 2 3