Find companies:
South Georgia Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

South Georgia Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grat emergency room staff.
Staff /charge Nurse in the ED (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAJuly 6, 2014
I worked here right after graduation and learned many nursing skills in the emergency room. Assisted with many codes, multiple traumas and medical issues who presented to the emergency room.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Experience
EMT/Paramedic (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAMay 2, 2014
SGMC is a wonderful place to work for. My co-workers are the best!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAApril 29, 2014
Very nice place and atmosphere to work with and for, everyone is friendly and makes you feel like not only that you belong with the company but also recognize you when you do a good job and brings your flaws to your attention as well which is a good thing due to the fact that it gives you a chance to improve in the areas you lack in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with a family atmosphere.
REGISTRATION CLERK/CLERICAL SUPPORT TECH (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAApril 24, 2014
A typical workday was checking in almost 50 patients a day. I learned how to file paperwork in medical charts, pre-register patients, make appointments, print prescription lists, and scan documents into the database. My co-workers were wonderful to work with. The hardest part of my job was making appointments when there was no more appointments left.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy my job
certified respiratory therapysts (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAApril 7, 2014
Pros: rrespiratory care week/ free inservices for ceu"s/ free food from reps
Cons: sometimes you have to limit your lunch, but you also have to think about that special need patient that cant breath.
A typical day for floor technicians application of bronchodilator treatment/incentive spiromerty/abg drawsinstallation of bipap/cpap and monitoring. I learned to intubate through intubation rotation in the Operating room.Our supervisor is a good manager and fair.I love all my co-workers and theyand they love me.All of then are capable therapysts.The – more... hardest pat in not takeing you work home with you when a patient passes away.I got along with doctors nurses /and all co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Supervisor of Patient Financial Services (Current Employee), ValdostaMarch 25, 2014
Good company to work with. Nice people to work with and no problems with job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job was good but Management is very poor
Facilities Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAMarch 21, 2014
Pros: you do get your 40 hours in thats about all
Cons: to many to list
love the job, but no backing from Management cant get nothing fix
waste money . will not help you to better yourself trying to get an education so I Resign to go back to school to get my degree.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client Services Representative
Client Service Representative (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: love the people i work with, love the patients, free lunches from our reps
Cons: can't think of any cons
Working at Wound Healing is a very satisfying job. I love the people I work with and I love our patients. I got a great promotion with this job. I started this job with a great raise in pay. I went from making 8.25 and hour in Youth Care to making $10.96 when I moved to the Ambulatory Services Center and then received a $2.00 raise when I was promoted – more... to the Wound Healing Center. I have received several raises since coming to Wound Healing Center. I currently make $14.79 an hour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAJanuary 14, 2014
I prepared invoices to enter into computerized system. Very people oriented environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthcare setting at hospital.
PBX Operator (Former Employee), Valdosta, GANovember 14, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: no benefits
Everyday is a challenge that comes with new knowledge in healthcare. Working with co workers as a team was beneficial to providing excellent customer service. it was always a good day when you can help people who may not understand or know where to turn in situations surrounding this hospital care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All prior jobs were very educational.
Customer Service, Medical Record Management (Former Employee), Valdosta, GANovember 13, 2013
Pros: paid holiday
Cons: parking
At the place where I worked to longest which was South Georgia Medical Center, I had the opportunity of learning medical terminology as well as accomplishing skills such as working the computer. A typical day at work would be a day of rushing anywhere from 20 to 30 patients out to surgery, receiving them back and sending them home. Managing their medical – more... records with pertinent information for surgery was the most important part of my job. I enjoyed serving patients and their families as well as working with a team of positive, hard working co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MY JOB IS GOOD ITS HAS GOOD AND BADS DAYS ACCORDING TO WHATS DISPATCHED OUT COULD BE SAD
Secretary/Non Emergency Transport for EMS (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAOctober 30, 2013
Pros: benefits and monday thru friday
SETTING UP TRANSPORTS REGISTRATION BILLING. HOW TO TREAT EVERYONE AS INDIVIDUAL AND HOW YOU WOULD LIKE TO BE TREATED REGARDLESS OF THE WAY THEY ACT.WE ARE A TEAM HERE AND EVERYONE HELPS EVERYBODY WHEN NEEDED OR ASK.THE PEOLPE I WORK WITH ARE GREAT AND THE IS NO BAD PART OF MY JOB IT'S ALL ENJOYABLE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acceptable work environment
Administrative Director of Laboratories (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAOctober 27, 2013
Limited individual authority. Administration too controlling for individual achievement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Patient Access Specialist (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAOctober 15, 2013
It is family oriented.
It is a good place to get training and experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great people to work for. Patient oriented.
RN Med-surg/ GI/ Charge (Former Employee), Valdosta, GASeptember 20, 2013
Would work there again in a heartbeat. Loved the people I worked with. Great teamwork and atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun coworkers
ER PCT III (Current Employee), Valdosta, GAAugust 19, 2013
Pros: the charge nurses were great
Cons: short breaks, no ot
A typical day seem to pretty steady and productive with teamwork from coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place to work
Registration Clerk (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAAugust 15, 2013
I learn a great deal about different people, and customer service, insuracne and billing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biggest Hospital in Valdosta, Ga.
ICU Staff RN (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: large hospital, wide range of services, cardiac oriented, cancer oriented
Cons: doctors allowed by admin to treat staff improperly, all about the money, insensitive to staff needs. largest and most poorly paid hospital in the area.
The sign says not for profit hospital, but its all about the money there. They froze our salaries for 3 years in 2008 saying it was necessary, then bought the administrator a brand new Tahoe, built a brand new 5 story outpatient surgery center all within 6 months. Taking care of the normal staff including the nursing staff was a low priority, Doctors – more... run the place and are allowed to berate the staff at will. Retaliation will be taken if you protest the berating. A typical day is not so bad depending on the department. Unless of course you are a male nurse or cna then you are automatically barred from the women's health wing, most especially Labor and Delivery, I never cared to work there but it is well known that if your male, don't bother. Management is basically "Company People" so don't bother to voice a complaint or concern. But like everywhere else it depends on the manager, or department. Hardest part of the job was dealing with management. Most enjoyable were the patients and families. I actually started there as an Off Duty Sheriff's Deputy security in the ER in 1991. We were paid about 15 an hour starting. A BSN with a 4 year degree started at $12.00 – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy hospital in south Georgia that provides coverage for many areas
Surgical Floor Nurse (Former Employee), Valdosta, GAJuly 28, 2013
Very busy hospital that covers many areas so essentially doesn't experience any low census time, but employees are forced to work with low staffing on a daily basis. Not unusual for one nurse to be responsible for 8-9 patients at any given time and not be recognized for their hard work. Employees continue to be punished for patient dissatisfaction, – more... which essentially is impossible to correct without adequate number of staffing. There's not very good teamwork among the limited staff on med/surg floors. Lowest paying hospital in all of south Georgia. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Valdosta GaJuly 16, 2013
would not recommend. Could only find the wrong in what the staff did.