South Nassau Communities Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 99 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as a messenger and in the ER
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Long Island, NYJune 2, 2017
Very good working environment , the doctors and everyone working there appreciate the volunteers and treat them with respect. It's very clean and quiet as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Student (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMay 25, 2017
Great teaching hospital. Each staff member is very willing to teach and provide examples to ensure students understand. Staff is also willing to allow students to be hands on
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is great to work here
Staff RN. ICU/CCU (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMay 20, 2017
South Nassau is a great place to work at. It is a great pleasure to be part of a great team of nurses and physicians. Very friendly environment where patients get the best care.
Pros
Friendly enviroment
Cons
Limited career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and secure place to wotk
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMay 16, 2017
At place where you can count on having job security as long you are accountable for your responsibilities, I had a grest team on my department, we're all about team work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!-- Poor pay/benefits
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 13, 2017
Nice place to work overall. Employees for the most part are supportive of one another, but stressed. Great growth potential and safe place to learn, grow, and gain experience.

The EMR and format used here is a nightmare with tedious documentation that pulls nurses away from the bedside. Health benefits are expensive.
Pros
Friendly, growth potential, supportive staff
Cons
poor pay, expensive health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Dietary Technician (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYApril 6, 2017
Highschool job, had very little hours but the pay was good and the work was easy. As long as I did my job and did what I was supposed to do my boss stayed out of my hair which I thought was a great style of leadership, because no one wants to feel overburdened
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
thankful for the opportunity
Medical Billing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMarch 30, 2017
I have worked for this organization for 3years now and within that time my department has gone through 4 managers and a revolving door of staff. but during this time I have grown to want more and take advice from each manager to advocate for myself. if you are looking for structure you will not find it here.

But on another note I have learned to see the best in every situation.
Pros
schedule, pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work as a respiratory therapist.
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMarch 12, 2017
They trsat per diem as full time therapist. They pay you the same rate as full tume therapist. 20-25 patients to gice treatments to. The staffs don't work together and some are very lazy. I live in long island but i will never take one of my family member there.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
support staff
Server (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMarch 4, 2017
Great place to work. Fun environment and good pay.
Chances for transferring and advancement. If youre a team player you will enjoy this hospital
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and many growth opportunities.
Psychiatric Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMarch 2, 2017
South Nassau Hospital is a fun place to work. It provides many opportunities for growth and is very team and family oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYFebruary 27, 2017
very fun and exciting place to work. This place has allowed me to get my foot in the door in healthcare. I highly recommend this place if you are looking to volunteer
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 stars
Intern (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYDecember 24, 2016
It is a great place to work and get to know people of the hospital and to get learning experience about the jobs and culture of the hospital. People always there to help.

Its what you make it like any job or career.
Its not only working as an individual but also as a whole. Each person serves a part whether its a person's life or paperwork or whatever it is, Because everyone serves as an important part of South Nassau Communities Hospital.
Pros
Lots
Cons
none known
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive busy environment
IT Operations Supervisor / Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYDecember 21, 2016
Great group of co-workers. Can be busy at times. Many job duties and not limited to one focus. Must be willing to give 110%. Very demanding due to providing the best patient care.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A water day
Porter (Former Employee) –  New York StateDecember 3, 2016
working in a hospital you learn how to cook all kind meat and you learn about all kind of culture Christmas celebration they wore nice and fun my co-worker are people
Pros
Have a fun day
Cons
no short dreak
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be challenging if you do not manage yourself well
Accounts Rep (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYNovember 5, 2016
This was a very stressful place to work but it also paid well and my coworkers were very helpful to me and friendly. Working here was one of the coolest places I have ever worked at.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Hospital
Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYNovember 2, 2016
South Nassau Communities Hospital is getting a better reputation thanks to new hospital wide initiative that is concentrating on patient needs and employee satisfaction.

Management isn't great and some departments are run like the wild west. Other departments are incredible to work in, thanks to their management.
Pros
Great work life balance
Cons
Disorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hostile work environment
Information Systems Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYOctober 13, 2016
Objectively the boss is flexible and generally understanding with personal things. The job environment was terrible at the time due to the people who worked there.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Assistant to Nurse Manager (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYSeptember 26, 2016
South Nassau is an okay place to work.

Some of my co-workers are cool to work with.

Work others do not want gets delegated to particular groups.
Pros
Weekends off.
Cons
More work, less pay. No one able to cover my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice hospital and great place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NY 11572September 20, 2016
Typical day on my unit is busy but my coworkers and manger always are willing to help. I've learned so much working here especially how to multitask and prioritize.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Hardworking, Motivation
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYAugust 24, 2016
Volunteered in the Emergency Department. Enjoyed interacting with the other healthcare professionals and learning about the different healthcare roles in the hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at South Nassau Communities Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 99 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

South Nassau Communities Hospital Reviews by Location