South Nassau Communities Hospital Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 76 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMarch 18, 2015
The office is somewhat quite on a typical day. I learned that life is too short and never judge others because you don't know what the other person is going through. There is poor management, i feel that the manager doesn't value good employees, very little advancement. Co-workers are friendly and hard workers. The hardest part of the job is when you have to confront angry family member but it will come second nature when you know how to deal with difficult people. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping people.
Pros
discounts on movie tickets
Cons
on snow storm where other business are closed they expect everyone to come in
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magnet Hospital - Evidence Based Practice
Certified ER Nurse, Emergency Room (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMarch 8, 2015
Magnet hospital that focus on caring for high-risk individuals across the lifespan with neurological, respiratory, cardiac, gastrointestinal, endocrine, musculoskeletal, genitourinary, trauma, OB/GYN and psychiatric emergencies
Was this review helpful?Yes7No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FRIENDLY STAFF/ manger not productive
Supervisor Patient Financial Services (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMarch 2, 2015
As a supervisor having to work with a manager that did not want to work and put all her tasks on me. Other then that it was a great job
Was this review helpful?Yes16No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Phlebotomist-Per Diem (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYFebruary 19, 2015
Absolutely loved it, I would work for them again if they are hiring. I loved to draw blood, and you were able to build a nice patient professional relationship
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good hospital to work for. Team work environment.
Clinical Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 5, 2015
A typical work day is like any other day at the job. My shift begins by doing my QC. check Temperature etc. I must emphasized that I have learned a lot from working at this hospital. Management is excellent at training and employee advancement. My co-workers were easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was not being able to leave on time when my shift ends. This is only because I had another job that I had to get on time. The most enjoyable part of the job is running all my specimen within the time fame given.
Pros
sometimes the work flow can be a bit reduced.
Cons
break must be taken as scheduled.
Was this review helpful?Yes31No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Sr. Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  Nassua CountyJanuary 25, 2015
Great place to get a good start. Excellent company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run hospital.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Ocenside, NYJanuary 3, 2015
Excellent hospital. Well run and seem financially sound. Work in Operating Room with a lot of variety.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good organization to get hands on experience in the Healthcare industry.
Billing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Baldwin, NYNovember 27, 2014
As a employee your able work in a team setting, and independently.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
South Nassau Community Hospital is a wonderful place to gain experience
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYOctober 22, 2014
It was a pleasure to be employed at South Nassau. The work environment was clean and organized. The staff was top notch from management to environmental. Everyone was always so very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Central Lab Processor (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYOctober 19, 2014
love the service and the staff.
employees are great and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Place to Work
Certified Surgical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, New YorkSeptember 23, 2014
Very friendly staff, great team work, hospital has no union, and health benefits are pretty mediocre.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent work enviorment, time management skills
Medical Billing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYAugust 28, 2014
Working independently on billing tasks, submitting claims electronically, verifying eligibility and reviewing & entering patients authorizations. Appealing insurance denials within a timely manner to increase the revenue for the department. The hardest part of this job is that we are understaffed so their is always a overflow of work for one employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Safe Place to Work
Registered Professional Nurse (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYAugust 22, 2014
I enjoy working at South Nassau. Everyone is super friendly and it is pleasant work space environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No12
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i'm a productive worker.
PORTER (Former Employee) –  OCEANSIDE NYAugust 18, 2014
Porter - Operating Room (Former Employee), Oceanside, NY – august14, 2014
EASY job but the person leading the GROUP is NOT GOOD!!!!
SLEEP ON THE JOB HOURS
A lot of favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes32No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a pleasure working there
Nurse Aide (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYJuly 30, 2014
I was sad when i had to move and i had to move out of state, south nassau was my home away from home for many years i enjoyed working there and i learned a lot. my job experience was the best.
Pros
room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes20No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Unit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYJuly 30, 2014
Good people to work with. Great pay! Great environment. Small company.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great company to work for.
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYJuly 22, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to provide service to patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small community hospital with family-like values
Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMay 26, 2014
South Nassau is a community hospital that dedicates itself to providing excellent customer care.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Hands-On Experience.
RN preceptorship (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYMay 20, 2014
This was a real nursing experience, and South Nassau provided me with a true glimpse of it. My preceptor allowed me to experience patient care in its entirety, and I learned so much from both her and my environment as a whole.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYApril 3, 2014
All of management are "friends" and it's very hard to advance here because managers will not allow you to leave/grow; employees have been "blacklisted" from transferring to other units/areas within the hospital. A lot of favoritism.

Most coworkers (doctors, nurses, PCTs, phlebotomists, etc.) are awesome, fun, knowledgeable, professional, supportive and intelligent people that are great to be around for 12+ hours. Clinical cases are interesting. Great "mix" of patients. Lots of high acuity cases; good learning environment.

Latest technology such as electronic medical record, Omnicell, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes34No3

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 76 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture