South Puget Sound Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The enjoyable part of my day.
Staff nurse on the Oncology Unit (Current Employee) –  Olympia, WAJuly 20, 2016
The most enjoyable part of the job was the students. Teaching them about nursing was fun. The hardest part of the job was trying to get all the work done for 40 students. Extra help was always wanted. in lab.
Pros
The students
Cons
Administration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive supervisor and team, environment, culture, pay, & benefits
Basic Skills Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Olympia, WAAugust 15, 2015
Typical day: entering data, checking data, answering emails, sending emails, working with team. Improved Excel knowledge. Still learning state board rules and regulations and CASAS testing system. Love supporting adults developing their basic skills.
Pros
Work environment is beautiful, benefits, supportive management, positive workmates
Cons
Confusing state regulations and coordinating CASAS testing and state database
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Campus Security Sergeant (Current Employee) –  Olympia, WAMarch 16, 2016
I have enjoyed my time while working at SPSCC, the staff is a warm and friendly group. I have been pushed to learn new things about my job so that I can become better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient space to learn through the job.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Olympia, WANovember 10, 2015
At the school I would have classes in the mornings and in the afternoons I would go to work. Having to walk to my job was easy, because I didn't have to worry about transportation or too much time.

I was be able to have breaks and during my break, I get to eat or finish my homework in the cafeteria.
Pros
Walking to my Job, eating or finishing homework during break time.
Cons
break was only 15 to 20 minutes, had to stand at hours at a time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instructors were very knowledgable and great teachers
STUDENT / VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Olympia, WADecember 30, 2015
Educational and Learning standards very high. I had a great learning experience at the college and have a great appreciation for all of my instructors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
South Puget Sound Community College
Office Assistant I (Former Employee) –  Olympia, WANovember 29, 2014
This was a very easy job I sat at a desk all day. I would pull files go though them organize them and prep them to be scanned and index. Then when I was done with the files I would then refilled them. I learned how to prep files. My co-workers where very friendly. Management was very welcoming of myself and co-workers even thou we were just temporary employee. There was nothing hard about this job. Being able to listen to my music well I worked.
Pros
Nice place to work.
Cons
It was only temporary .
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was student
Welder Student (Former Employee) –  Olympia, WAOctober 6, 2015
Nice place to learn to weld flux core, wire feeds, Oxy and ace, stick, MIG TIG and aluminium. Teacher was great and the assistant helped out a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job for student
Administrative Reporting (Former Employee) –  Olympia, WAMarch 19, 2014
I enjoyed working in the math center. I checked in other students, organized the calculators and books as well as rented them out.
Pros
Worked around my schedule
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This College is Exceptional.
Welding Student (Former Employee) –  Olympia, WAJuly 7, 2015
I learned everything there is to know about welding. I enjoyed my time in the classroom and with hand-on expieriences. I would highly recommend this college to many people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to help the public improve their skills
Lead Cashier (Current Employee) –  Olympia, WAJanuary 24, 2015
South Puget Sound Community College is good for the Puget Sound area. This is a place for anyone of any classification to go and get skills to help improve their job skills, lives and others around them.
Pros
good benfits, consistent work schedule, caring staff
Cons
restructuing, cutting jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence workplace
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Olympia, WashingtonApril 12, 2013
Loves to meet many different people, loves all my co workers, very friendly environment...miss them dearly when I had to leave
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Literacy Tutor (Former Employee) –  Olympia, WAAugust 13, 2013
The jail was a great experience to work in. It taught me how to work in a secure environment and to be aware of all safety.
Pros
income
Cons
locked facility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great campus with dedicated employees
Student Tutor (Former Employee) –  Olympia, WAAugust 28, 2012
Wonderful atmosphere, great students and dedicated professors and faculty that want students to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at South Puget Sound Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
4.4
Culture
4.2

South Puget Sound Community College Reviews by Location