Find companies:
South Shore Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 reviews

South Shore Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly,productive facility to work
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 18, 2014
Pros: the discounted cafeteria prices and free parking
Cons: smaller building than most
A typical day at South Shore Hospital consist of greeting everyone i encounter staff and patients. I am to check the patients, get my assignment from charge nurse and begin my day. My day consist of obtaining all vitals and checking the patients, then make schedule for myself according to the information gathered in my report from the night aide, performing – more... patient care would be next. It's great to have wonderful teammates, the hardest part of the job would be not doing my job. The most enjoyable part is the fact that I am always busy i tend to make the best out of the things I do for the patients and the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Experience
Clinical Experience (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAMay 22, 2014
Amazing experience here loved the staff and the patients were amazing. I learned so much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different experience
Admitting Clerk (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 19, 2014
Although I have learned a lot from this job, the duties are overwhelming and the salary should have been higher.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Unit Coordinator/Cardiovascular Center (Current Employee), Cardiovascular CenterMarch 8, 2014
It is a great place to work and patient care is the highest priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive family oriented workplace
Administrative Secretary/Data Entry Technician (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLMarch 5, 2014
Pros: great work environment, great people, compensations, bonuses
Cons: negative people
This was a great job with great people. Interacting with nurses, doctors, patients, families etc. is a great feeling. Just letting people know that you care about them & what they are going through. At this hospital we were family. I hated the day the hospital closed down. It was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn different exams
Radiology Intern (Current Employee), Weymouth, MAFebruary 22, 2014
As a student, I was trained on Fuji digital and computered radiography, and also GE C-arms. This hospital is a level two trauma hospital, so I have been trained on the trauma cases.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical receptionist
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: experience in the medical field
Cons: no raises and pay was extremley low
Sit at your desk greet patients and register patients for the following, blood work, x-rays,labs,wound care,ekg, mammograms etc.How to look up cpt codes and icd-9 codes as well also verifying Insurances such as Medicare,Medicaid, Blue cross blue shield,cigna,United health care etc.Management was very helpful and caring and took time out to explain certain – more... things in such great detail. Made sure we understood the importance HIPAA laws. Dealing with detox patients, they don't give the correct information,sometimes they come in high and it's can be come aggravating at times cause their unable to communicate. Getting to know the patients in the community and helping them out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot, some frustrating barriers present but still a great place to work
RN (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: good salary, lots of opportunities for training and growth
Cons: a sometimes hostile work environment due to certain staff
worked for this organization for several years, only left because i moved out of state. enjoyed my time there and learned a great deal. some of the staff are cynical and frustrated but management seems to be moving in the right direction. i'd want to work here again in the future if i ever return to MA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Staff Nurse, RN (Former Employee), Chicago,illinoisDecember 18, 2013
Pros: good team players and close nit workers
Cons: worked hard and at times didn't get a break or lunch
Started @ 7am received report from the night shift,received my assignment ,made rounds,triaged patient's in need of pain medications to ensure they were comfortable and relieved from pain.
Did total patient care was responsible for all of the patients needs,worked as a team player assisted as needed with other nurses. Used critical assessment skills – more... to deliver quality care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Sanitary Engineer/ Kitchen Aide (Former Employee), Weymouth, MADecember 11, 2013
A foot in the door the healthcare industry. Learning experience about food sanitation and patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jennifer Coscia
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), weymouth,maDecember 11, 2013
I have always enjoyed helping people and doing anything I can to help them feel better!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a very busy work place
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLNovember 10, 2013
Pros: what i like about this you by movie tickets
Cons: great health care
employees were vey nice there time you can get very busy patient could be hard at sometimes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Place.
Housekeeping (Current Employee), South Weymouth, MAOctober 24, 2013
Great benefits.
The culture and ethics are portrayed though employees actions

Plenty of work with great and understanding co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fast paced place!
Medical Assistant Extern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 22, 2013
It was the best experience every, If i had the chance do it again with open opportunity im talking that chance. I learned proper sterile techniques, to be assertive at all times my professionalism has improved a lot since i had hands on experience. And my supervisor was AWESOME. My co-workers we’re the best and always helped if i needed!! Just getting – more... adapted to the pace that was it. My most enjoyable part of the job was assisting the doctors it was interesting watching them do their work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many interesting procedures in one small department
Cardiac Cath/ E.P. technologist (Current Employee), Weymouth, MAOctober 15, 2013
Pros: good co-workers, easy commute
Cons: short staffed
3 room department with many different type of procedures.
In one day you could o a cardiac cath, peripheral, fistulogram, and EP study. Makes for an interesting day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
CNA (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAOctober 13, 2013
Pros: co-workers were like family
While working at South Shore Hospital Emergency Room, I was attending school to attain my RN. I worked with patients who were acutely ill and advanced my training to work with children in the Pediatric ED. I found my love for pediatrics while here.

While working here, I also found my work family. I spent my day stocking and readying for the 12 hours – more... of busy patient care. I truly loved working with the clientele and enjoyed helping children through difficult procedures. This is where I found that no matter how difficult it might be to comfort children and how at the time they could be very scared, and at first be afraid of you, when it was all over they would turn around and give you a big hug! There was nothing more rewarding than that in my mind. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Housekeeping/Transportation (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 8, 2013
I had alot of fun at South Shore Hospital. i got to put smiles on sic patients faces. I got to talk to patients that didnt have a family to visit them. I got the chance to push patients around and talk to them. I love to clean up. I love all the comments i got from the patients. The co-worker was ok. i really didnt bond with them because i was the youngest – more... person there. The hardest put of my job was getting fired due to being pregnant. I really enjoyed working there. if i could I would go back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical nursing assistant job
Orthopedic Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Weymouth, MassachusettsSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: worked around my school schedule, co-workers were fun to work with, cafeteria serves good food
Cons: lots of heavy lifting, work could get tiring and wear you out
A typical day on the orthopedic floor consisted of a lot of hard work. The day started with getting all patients who've had total joint replacements out of bed for breakfast. Meanwhile, washing patients who were unable to care for themselves. Keeping in communication with the nurses and PT/OT staff. My co-workers made the job fun. Everyone seemed to – more... get along well. The manager is very kind and understanding and tries his best to accommodate the needs of his staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Registrar - Diagnostic Imaging (Current Employee), South Weymouth, MASeptember 19, 2013
It is my pleasure to work for South Shore Hospital and I support its
dedication to providing excellence in care to our patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Nursing Student (Former Employee), Braintree, MAJuly 24, 2013
Working in the hospital setting as a nursing student prepared me for my future endeavors.

1 2 3