South Shore Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 84 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Adult Sitter (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 10, 2017
This job helped me learn a little it of everything especially since my major is health care. It taught me more hands on things which was easier for me to comprehend.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Nursing Assistant, Float pool (Former Employee) –  Weymouth, MAFebruary 9, 2017
great place to work, staff was supportive and helpful. Management listened and was supportive. Great place. wish I could work there again someday soon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my opinion
Central Supply Technician (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 31, 2017
the management shows favorites for people who do and do their jobs and give the hard workers a hard time. there is no good leader at this job. But its a nice experience to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace
Communications Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 30, 2017
I didn't originally wanna work the operator, but once I started I grew to love it. The people there are very nice. I was able to meet many different people and I learned how to work different equipment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staffing
prn staff nurse (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 24, 2017
My first emergency prn time job, love to work with different cases in the ED, trauma level,radio communication with EMT.

Learn fast how to insert line, foley cath, lungs tube, chest tube, intubation, different codes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy emergency department
Emergency Department Nurse (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 11, 2017
Walk in traumas, unstable management, no supervisor during my time there. Very dated department and equipment. No true flow of patients thru the department.
Pros
Everyone helped each other..worked as a team
Cons
too far from my home 1.5-2 hrs travel time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as active as it should be
Unit Secretary / Telemetry Tech, Full Time (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 3, 2017
The facility needs more communication and ordinance. Give on the job training more motivation and caring consideration more to one other. Share and learn as a family and team effort to save lives from doing all you can and more.
Pros
free lunch or dinner on special occasions, bonus, and in services
Cons
no growth potentials / raises or favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rn
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 29, 2016
As a beginning nurse with no experience, South Shore has taught me alot. The nursing staff is great. We work as a team. Hardest part of the job is working short staff & doing the job of multiple people. Some days can be very stressful.
Cons
Pay/Work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pro, great place to work.. Con, out of control health benefit costs..
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Weymouth, MADecember 21, 2016
Great place to work, staff is helpful and professional. Employee medical benefit costs are out of control, every year they increase. Other than that it's a good place to work..
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enjoyable enviornment to work
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Weymouth, MADecember 4, 2016
Was a long time employee of SSH. Management became unapproachable regarding problems within department. Borderline harassment if opinions were stated.
Pros
PTO if allowed to use
Cons
No lunchbreaks. Managment. Bias retaliation
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about South Shore Hospital?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work, essence of family!!!
Registered Nurse- ER Observation/MedSurg floor (Current Employee) –  Weymouth, MANovember 8, 2016
Love working here. I will work here for many years to come. Big hospital with a community/family feel. Management does a great job of keeping its employees happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unhealthy environment
Perioperative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Weymouth, MA 02190November 3, 2016
poor environmental standards and management. human recourses meant to protect management fault, not employees safety
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 12, 2016
I think you all are a great in very helpful in helping people fine the best job that accommodate their still in work always help you out keep you up to date with all of the new changes
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back but hectic
Kitchen Aid (Former Employee) –  Weymouth, MAJuly 17, 2016
In the kitchen, you are either sweating and doing fast paced laboring work, or doing nothing chatting with the guys in the dish room.
Pros
Free food when lunch and dinner food comes back to get trashed
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
South Shore Hospital is a nice place to do a internship
INTERNSHIP/ MEDICAL CODING (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 14, 2016
the people there are nice and kind they are also hardworking. I really enjoy doing my internship there and getting to know some of the people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neighborhood Hospital
Manager of Patient Access and Business Office (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 12, 2016
Small, family oriented hospital, located on southeast side of Chicago, community focused and is conveniently located.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Weymouth, MAJune 7, 2016
Great benefits. Learn a lot. Flexible scheduling. Coworkers work great together. Nurse manger is great. Family oriented. Patient safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Patient Care Attendant/Obserer (Former Employee) –  Weymouth, MAMay 7, 2016
The ED needs to spread out, it's very cramped, to many patients in the hallway for hours. Needs more Nursing Assistants in all sections, A, B etc.. The Trauma teams are the best, all the employees there, need to be respected as long as they are respected, management, included.. Overall, I loved my job, I hope I was able to make a difference in someones' life..The hardest part, seeing so much sadness and death..
Pros
a paycheck
Cons
no breaks, no back-up, low pay..
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
Unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Weymouth, MAMay 6, 2016
You can work as many hours as you want, but if something drastic occurs in your life, the hospital does not care. Employees are disposable and replaceable and treated in ways that no caring employee should be treated.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 1, 2016
Work was very easy. typical day was easy. nothing major. the worker was very nice. the hardest job was leaving my family at the job
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at South Shore Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 84 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0