Find companies:
South Shore Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
61 reviews

South Shore Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked hard in a collaborative hospital setting
Environmental Services Specialist (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAAugust 13, 2014
Great job but working 3rd shift was very hard. Learned patient confidentiality. Learned working with many different co-workers from varied backgrounds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PLACE TO WORK
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: good salary
Cons: driving distance to work. 50% of dept less tehn 15minute drive
SSH IS GREAT PLACE TO WORK. HOWEVER, DURING WINTER, DRIVING UP TO WEYMOUTH FROM SANDWICH CAN BE :TRICKY". I AM LOOKING FOR SOMWTHING CLOSER TO HOME,AND HOPEFULLY,SPEND MORE TIME WITH MY FAMILY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magnet Hospital Growth Opportunities Diverse patient population
Team Leader/Case Manager (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: supportive environment educational opportunities
Cons: rotating shift requirements for full time case managers
Arranging home visits, attending meetings, triage add on patients, complete administrative duties relating to case management. Provide support, information as needed to team members. Cover for Nursing Supervisors when ever needed. Complete 6 home visits and computer documentation completed by 10 pm.
Work with manager to identify complicated cases and – more... make changes to POC to promote discharge. Work with manager to identify areas of individual staff development needs.
Respond to pages and emergency visits as needed.
I learned Community Nursing and case management rooted in evidence based practice. I was trained for role of nursing supervisor. I learned triage skills, flexibility, and perseverance !
My co-workers represented four generations of nurses and supportive staff. Many dedicated, strong, devoted and talented staff to be surrounded by daily. My co workers also came from all around the world, affording special insight into other cultures.
The hardest part of the job was the new shift rotation requirements implemented to attract Partners for merger and to provide better access to care for our patients. I believe this change greatly effected staff moral and both consumer/nurse satisfaction. This created barriers to case managers being able to provide seamless care plans with continuity being lost despite a team approach. We also lost benefit time that was hard earned during the courting of Partners.
The best part of my day was spending time with my patients. Nothing compares to the feeling of giving comfort and care to people in their homes. I enjoyed the challenge of each new case. I enjoyed never giving up on medically complex patients. It was a joy to see my teaching of patient and caregivers can reduce re-hospitalizations and lead to a better quality of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Patient Access Coordinator (Current Employee), Weymouth, MAJuly 28, 2014
Great enviroment
good working experience
great people
good benifits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly,productive facility to work
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 18, 2014
Pros: the discounted cafeteria prices and free parking
Cons: smaller building than most
A typical day at South Shore Hospital consist of greeting everyone i encounter staff and patients. I am to check the patients, get my assignment from charge nurse and begin my day. My day consist of obtaining all vitals and checking the patients, then make schedule for myself according to the information gathered in my report from the night aide, performing – more... patient care would be next. It's great to have wonderful teammates, the hardest part of the job would be not doing my job. The most enjoyable part is the fact that I am always busy i tend to make the best out of the things I do for the patients and the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Experience
Clinical Experience (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAMay 22, 2014
Amazing experience here loved the staff and the patients were amazing. I learned so much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different experience
Admitting Clerk (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 19, 2014
Although I have learned a lot from this job, the duties are overwhelming and the salary should have been higher.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Unit Coordinator/Cardiovascular Center (Current Employee), Cardiovascular CenterMarch 8, 2014
It is a great place to work and patient care is the highest priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive family oriented workplace
Administrative Secretary/Data Entry Technician (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLMarch 5, 2014
Pros: great work environment, great people, compensations, bonuses
Cons: negative people
This was a great job with great people. Interacting with nurses, doctors, patients, families etc. is a great feeling. Just letting people know that you care about them & what they are going through. At this hospital we were family. I hated the day the hospital closed down. It was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn different exams
Radiology Intern (Current Employee), Weymouth, MAFebruary 22, 2014
As a student, I was trained on Fuji digital and computered radiography, and also GE C-arms. This hospital is a level two trauma hospital, so I have been trained on the trauma cases.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical receptionist
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: experience in the medical field
Cons: no raises and pay was extremley low
Sit at your desk greet patients and register patients for the following, blood work, x-rays,labs,wound care,ekg, mammograms etc.How to look up cpt codes and icd-9 codes as well also verifying Insurances such as Medicare,Medicaid, Blue cross blue shield,cigna,United health care etc.Management was very helpful and caring and took time out to explain certain – more... things in such great detail. Made sure we understood the importance HIPAA laws. Dealing with detox patients, they don't give the correct information,sometimes they come in high and it's can be come aggravating at times cause their unable to communicate. Getting to know the patients in the community and helping them out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot, some frustrating barriers present but still a great place to work
RN (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: good salary, lots of opportunities for training and growth
Cons: a sometimes hostile work environment due to certain staff
worked for this organization for several years, only left because i moved out of state. enjoyed my time there and learned a great deal. some of the staff are cynical and frustrated but management seems to be moving in the right direction. i'd want to work here again in the future if i ever return to MA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Staff Nurse, RN (Former Employee), Chicago,illinoisDecember 18, 2013
Pros: good team players and close nit workers
Cons: worked hard and at times didn't get a break or lunch
Started @ 7am received report from the night shift,received my assignment ,made rounds,triaged patient's in need of pain medications to ensure they were comfortable and relieved from pain.
Did total patient care was responsible for all of the patients needs,worked as a team player assisted as needed with other nurses. Used critical assessment skills – more... to deliver quality care. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Sanitary Engineer/ Kitchen Aide (Former Employee), Weymouth, MADecember 11, 2013
A foot in the door the healthcare industry. Learning experience about food sanitation and patient care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jennifer Coscia
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), weymouth,maDecember 11, 2013
I have always enjoyed helping people and doing anything I can to help them feel better!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a very busy work place
Medical Records Clerk (Former Employee), Miami Beach, FLNovember 10, 2013
Pros: what i like about this you by movie tickets
Cons: great health care
employees were vey nice there time you can get very busy patient could be hard at sometimes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Place.
Housekeeping (Current Employee), South Weymouth, MAOctober 24, 2013
Great benefits.
The culture and ethics are portrayed though employees actions

Plenty of work with great and understanding co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fast paced place!
Medical Assistant Extern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 22, 2013
It was the best experience every, If i had the chance do it again with open opportunity im talking that chance. I learned proper sterile techniques, to be assertive at all times my professionalism has improved a lot since i had hands on experience. And my supervisor was AWESOME. My co-workers we’re the best and always helped if i needed!! Just getting – more... adapted to the pace that was it. My most enjoyable part of the job was assisting the doctors it was interesting watching them do their work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many interesting procedures in one small department
Cardiac Cath/ E.P. technologist (Current Employee), Weymouth, MAOctober 15, 2013
Pros: good co-workers, easy commute
Cons: short staffed
3 room department with many different type of procedures.
In one day you could o a cardiac cath, peripheral, fistulogram, and EP study. Makes for an interesting day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
CNA (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAOctober 13, 2013
Pros: co-workers were like family
While working at South Shore Hospital Emergency Room, I was attending school to attain my RN. I worked with patients who were acutely ill and advanced my training to work with children in the Pediatric ED. I found my love for pediatrics while here.

While working here, I also found my work family. I spent my day stocking and readying for the 12 hours – more... of busy patient care. I truly loved working with the clientele and enjoyed helping children through difficult procedures. This is where I found that no matter how difficult it might be to comfort children and how at the time they could be very scared, and at first be afraid of you, when it was all over they would turn around and give you a big hug! There was nothing more rewarding than that in my mind. – less

1 2 3