Find companies:
South Shore Mental Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

South Shore Mental Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry Level Position
Residential Rehabilitation Educator (Current Employee), Quincy, MANovember 4, 2014
Pros: entry level experience
Cons: low pay
This is a place where you can gain experience, especially while currently in school, or after graduating to gain some experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No leadership!
Medical Receptionist (Former Employee), Quincy, MAJune 26, 2014
For the low wage they expect way to much of the employees. You can only do so much in 8 hours.
The employees are great, but upper management haven't a clue on the work we do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peer Mentor
Peer Mentor (Former Employee), Quincy,MAJune 2, 2014
Providing mentoring services to young adults navigating the DMH system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, Fulfilling and Rewarding Opportunities
Peer Specialist (Former Employee), Quincy, MAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: close to home, the mobile feature of the position.
Cons: the inability to do more.
Working with the Mobile Crisis Intervention Team had incredible potential. Learning how the Crisis system works was an invaluable experience.

The most difficult part of this position was not being able to do more.

The most rewarding parst of this position were, as stated, that it was challenging, fulfilling and rewarding. The opportunites to be a – more... peer
advocate were endless. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Im fortunate to have my career as a novice begin with such a nurturing company.
Lead Registered Nurse / Case Manager (Current Employee), Quincy, MANovember 10, 2013
Pros: i receive daily endeavors
Cons: because the clients have chronic illnesses, the reward of watching them heal are far and between.
Working at SSMH has been the biggest opportunity of my career. The team I work with come from different backgrounds which brings unique experiences and perspectives to their work. Career growth and development is encouraged daily. The hardest part if my job is not benefiting from seeing my client recover from chronic suffering of mental illness. The – more... most enjoyable part of my job is establishing a working relationships and witnessing my clients look forward to having visits with me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eye Opening Look On Life
Therapeutic Mentor (Current Employee), Quincy, MAAugust 12, 2013
Pros: own flexiable schedule
Cons: no sick days or vacation, fee for service
The people on my team are amazing. They are very supportive and help one take care of themselves. This job opens your eyes to the realitites that many families deal with on a daily basis. It allows one to help and make a difference in these families and for these children. THe hardest part of this job is having to leave work with work due to the burdens – more... and hardships of many of the families. The best part of this job is being able to be one constistant person who people can count on in their life that can be in chaos. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community/Residential exciting place to work
LPN Community Based Flexible Support (Former Employee), Quincy, MAAugust 6, 2013
Pros: education, experience, co workers, benefits, mileage reinbursement
Cons: pay
A typical day of work would be wonderful. Most days would start off with a nurses meeting or multi-disciplinary meeting. Nurses work independently with a certain amount of number of clients in the community and residential that work on their Individualized Action Plan. Some have medical, health, wellness goals. Nurses would advocate and take clients – more... to specialized appointments and make sure clients would follow through with medical regime. Clients would also be seen at different providers and provide information back to caseworkers. The hours in a day would vary, some days could begin at 6am due to taking clients to ECT an hour away, some days begin at 10am because there is a late appt at 4pm in Boston. Every day was different and challenging. This job was wonderful. My nurse manager was compassionate, an educator and just overall a wonderful nurse. All other team members were great to work with. The hardest part of the job was leaving to attend the LPN to RN program at Massasoit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), MAMarch 7, 2013
Enjoyable
Good team
Competent staff
Adequate compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very stressful job, good experience for a 1st job in the field, fun co-workers, poor upper management, poor compensation
Mental Health Worker (Current Employee), Quincy, MAFebruary 2, 2013
Pros: co-workers that are fun, helpful, and skilled, discounted six flags tickets and movie tickets, not too stressful
Cons: poor upper management, no raises available at this company
I've been working at this company for a full year and overall, I enjoy my job. I really like my co-workers and immediate supervisors - they are very helpful, skilled at what they do, and fun to work with, as well as easy to get along with. Some days can be very stressful when there are a lot of clients coming to/from the CSU (crisis stabilization unit), – more... though other days can be much calmer when there isn't much going on, such as weekends. This is my first job in the field and it's been a great experience for me; I feel like I've learned a lot about the mental health system. However, the upper management is very poor and they can be very inappropriately passive aggressive when they are displeased about something, which is unfortunate. There are also no opportunities for raises in one's pay rate unless he/she moves to a different position within the company, which is difficult when you only have a bachelor's degree like myself (though I am currently working towards my master's degree). The hardest part of the job is when there is little to no support from upper management on busy days when there is a significantly higher number of clients than staff, and sometimes they can be very demanding. However, the most enjoyable part of the job is working with a team of immediate co-workers/supervisors who are very supportive - it makes the job much easier. I was hoping that there would be potential for a raise in my rate of pay since I've been working here for a year and commute to/from work for over an hour each way, but it seems as though I will need to search elsewhere for employment if I hope to advance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Behavioral health organization
Residential Rehabilitation Educator (Former Employee), Quincy, MAOctober 22, 2012
As a Residential Rehabilitaion Educator I worked with residents that have a variety of Mental Illnesses. A typical da at work includes reviewing staff notes, assisting residents with daily living skills, administering medication, implementing treatment plans, and monitoring residents emotional and physical well being.

Being a Residential Rehabilitation – more... Educator was very rewarding. It was gratifying to know that I was able to assist and advocate for others so that they will one day be able to live independent, productive, and satisfying lives in the community. The rewards are never immediate, but the time invested is worth the progress that is made in their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working enviornment
Mental Health Worker (Former Employee), Weymouth, MAOctober 13, 2012
I enjoyed working for SSMH because it was always someone there to help you along the way all of my co-workers as well as my supervisor were very friendly and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Mental Health Experience
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Quincy, MASeptember 11, 2012
Pros: great peers to work with
Cons: not enough staff to cover when needed
Worked closely with chronically mentally ill clients whose diagnoses ranged from substance abuse to mood disorders to schizophrenia. Participated in treatment by initiating group therapy, administering medication and working with case management and prescribing team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place and great clients
CBFS Caseworker; Human Rights Officer (Current Employee), Quincy, MAAugust 8, 2012
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: you must be good with time management for this job
This is a great place to work, great bosses who you can relate to and interesting clients to work with. As long as you have good time management skills this is a good place to be. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the clients improve in there daily life. The bosses for caseworkers are great people with fun personalities! I love this job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive environment!
Family Care Coordinator/Intern (Current Employee), Quincy, MAJuly 31, 2012
Pros: hourly rates and other benefits
Cons: don't see any cons---you get what you put into the job.
In-home therapy has it's challenges but the work is very rewarding. People at South Shore are extremely helpful and provide outstanding clinical supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Comm of Ma is a great place to work
House/Program Manager (Former Employee), Quincy, MAJuly 25, 2012
Pros: set working hours, job security and benefits, wonderful people to work with and patients.
Cons: occasional mandated overtime, budget cuts, behavioral issues.
WDC was an excellent place to work. You have to be the type of person that enjoys working with large numbers of handicapped people with mental and physical disabilities. From youths to aged. I loved the relationships built between patient and care giver. To see a smile on someones face that you put there and having improved someones quality of life, – more... simply because you came into it. No greater reward. Working with dedicated individuals as did I makes your job so much easier and rewarding.
Hardest part of the job were the days when things got out of control, dealing with behaviors, staffing issues, unusual program changes.
Being part of the change in the world can start through the smallest smiles and the biggest laughs. Quality of life is the key. Not quanity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized work setting, unprofessional management.
Residential Rehabilitation Coordinator (Current Employee), Quincy, MAJuly 3, 2012
Pros: clients are very friends, supervisor will give days off on short notice, supervisor is friendly, able to work independently
Cons: too much pressure, a lot to do in 8 hrs
I absolutely love the clients I work with. I once enjoyed coming to work. I typically go into my office and review my appointments for the day. I then create what is called a " Doctor's Visit Form". This sheet tells the Doctor everything that has been going on with clients as well as an updated medication list in case there are any changes. I then input – more... data on client's progress with the goals daily. I transport clients to their appointments as well as meet with medical and psychiatric doctors.

Staff often do not work together and often talk about one another. My supervisor instead of speaking directly to me if there are any issues with my clients , paperwork and so on she will talk to other staff about it and does not talk directly to me. Just like the game telephone words end up changing. When I request meetings she will not meet with me she avoids the meetings.

The hardest part of my job is keeping up. There are a lot of responsibilities that go into being a Residential Coordinator and the staff does not work as a team. I am responsible for clients medical and psychiatric appointments, their IAP goals which is their progress in becoming more independent. I am to attend meetings twice a month. I must input data into the program to be sent to the Department of Mental Health. I also must meet with my clients daily to discuss any issues they may have at the residence and in their personal lives. I am then to type out and send this data. I must follow up with all doctors as well as refilling prescriptions calling family members, dealing with incident reports when something happens. Staff does not use the interventions to help my clients so I personally must do it. I do all this in 8 hrs which becomes very difficult. My supervisor does not give me support and if she does she does not do it properly. When their is an issues in the house and the supervisor is involved she will quickly cover up. When she is not involved she will not try and help staff or resolve the problem in house she will write people up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supervision
Child and Family In-Home Therapist (Current Employee), Quincy, MAMarch 12, 2012
Good opportunity to work independently and in a group. Lots of supervision and training experiences.

About South Shore Mental Health

Founded in 1926, South Shore Mental Health is a leader in providing services for children, teens, and families experiencing serious – Read more