South Texas Regional Medical Center

South Texas Regional Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great working with the community
Unit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TX 78026February 2, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the medical staff ie, doctors and nurses. It was a great team effort giving patients the best treatment from the time they were admitted to the time they were discharged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Pre-op/PACU RN (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXJanuary 15, 2018
Management was terrible. Our director encouraged unsafe practices. We were expected to work a dangerous amount of hours. This facility has excess safety issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Director of Marketing and Physician Relations (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXJanuary 10, 2018
For a small facility, the culture of caring was ideal. Many employees had 10+ year tenures which is rare for health care. CEO was maligned at times, but he was good to me. I enjoyed this place very much.
Pros
Collaborative working atmosphere
Cons
Live in San Antonio; job is in Jourdanton
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
MedSurg Unit Secretary/Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXDecember 15, 2017
I really enjoyed working here. This small town feel hospital is close knit. Takes some time to acclimate yourself within this community but the staff is welcoming and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
ER Admitting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXNovember 15, 2017
They are a very friendly company to work for and very helpful. the management was very kind and always willing to help. great company to work for. they are very friendly!
Pros
willing to work with you
Cons
no breaks sometimes due to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Emergency Room Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXApril 8, 2017
Love working here! Good work environment. Small hospital with good co-workers. good benefits and hours. management needs improvement but other wise good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A small rural hospital with good basic services.
Staff RN (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXApril 6, 2017
I liked working there, and my director gave me many learning opportunities.
Management changes = daily routines subject to change and added tasks and cross training required.
Pros
Small hospital and you get to know all your coworkers. My unit had great teamwork.
Cons
Was sometimes required to work in other areas without orientation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has a lot of problems
RT (Former Employee) –  Jordan, TXApril 6, 2016
It is unappreciated of its employee and is run from an outside source. There is a big big separation between the people working on the floor and management.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best boss ever
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXJanuary 13, 2016
i had the best boss ever. she was on top of everything she did.. i loved working at the high school. school pay was just not enough to pay the bills..
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very nice place to work
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  jourdanton txSeptember 9, 2015
To many hours not enough pay. Very unprofessional. Co-workers are very rude. Hardest part of job is not knowing how to do something and finding someone to help you. The most enjoyable part of this job was going home.
Pros
lunch
Cons
clocking in
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work and learn.
IV Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXAugust 14, 2015
South Texas Regional Medical Center is a great place to work. The management and staff are very helpful. I love coming into work, because I love my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile working environment; was treated very badly!!!!!
ER Registrar (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXJuly 13, 2015
Hostile work environment and vindictive, hateful staff!!!! I was treated like trash and disrespected. Don't work here.
Pros
Close to my home.
Cons
Poor leadership, staff plays favorites.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Going Enviroment
Switchboard Operator (Current Employee) –  Jourdanton, TxJune 11, 2015
This job has been a true blessing. Easy going and laid back atmosphere with greeting visitors and answering phones. Everyone I work with have been so great.
Pros
Cafiteria
Cons
Can get boring. Not a lot to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perioperative RN
Periopertative RN (Current Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXJanuary 26, 2015
Registered Nurses in Surgery Department
Performed through patient assessment & provided prudent care.
Works in the Preoperative setting making sure patients are prepared for their procedure.
Circulates in the GI lab.
Circulates in orthopedic, gynecological, general, cesareans and cataract surgeries.
Provides PACU care for patients.
Administered medications properly, and thoroughly cares for patients.
Works on-call hours.
Worked in collaborations with Physicians, Anesthesia personnel, surgical technicians, and other nurses to provide optimum care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and health care delivery system
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXDecember 17, 2014
Do not work here as a nurse if you value your license. From the EMR system to the lack of communication between healthcare providers to the poor management, you are set up for failure. Very unprofessional directors/supervisors and unsafe charting system. Do not work here as a travel nurse. Not worth the unsafe working conditions or the drive from SA because you will have to live there due to no housing in Jourdanton. All that aside, the people I worked with at STRMC are AWESOME and got me through it. Made some good friends among other nurses/ancillary staff.
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
Ineffective management and EMR system
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Communications, PBX Operator (Current Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXSeptember 6, 2013
My typical day is answering phones and directing visitors where to go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Admitting Clerk, Emergency Room & Outpatient (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXJuly 9, 2013
Good place to work, pleasant people, fast paced ER, Dr's & staff worked well together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Senior Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  Jourdanton, TXMarch 17, 2013
Poor management and lack of leadership skills. The company is mostly run by the Administrative Assistant to CEO which should NOT happen.
Pros
great food
Cons
poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at South Texas Regional Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 19 reviews
55
44
33
22
15

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.8Culture

South Texas Regional Medical Center Reviews by Location