Find companies:
Southcoast Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Southcoast Health System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No chance for job advancement in the admin depts.
Finance Clerk (Former Employee), Fairhaven, MAMay 30, 2014
Most employees in the administrative departments have been there for 15+ years & have stagnated in their positions. No one advances, no one retires. If you are hired into a position you will have trouble advancing since new positions are not being added (due to cutbacks in costs in preparation for the new healthcare law), and no one I talked to is planning – more... on retiring/advancing anytime before they qualify for Medicare. Their policies are draconian, and there is ZERO flexibility with most managers. The pay isn't bad, but it is also not what I would consider competitive. I've made more money in temporary positions with similar job functions, and I quit to take temp jobs just to be happy in my work environment. Oh & the cherry on top is that their healthcare insurance is terrible & only allows you to see their doctors. If they do not have a certain type of specialist & you have to go to a competitor (like a Steward Healthcare dr), then you pay "tier 3" co-payments. Their dental insurance is really good however. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Savannah, GAApril 8, 2014
Good teamwork
Doctors are great.
Nurse Practitioners are good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and growing medical company
Clerical Team Leader (Current Employee), Savannah, GAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: working monday through friday
A typical work day at Southcoast Medical group involves a lot of employees who are like family members to one another away from home. I meet and greet patients from all different cultures and backgrounds. Getting to know patients on a more friendlier level as the visit the doctor.I enjoy learning new material and software that the company provides to – more... accommodate the needs and personal information of the patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of integrity
Anatomic Pathology Manager (Interim) (Former Employee), New Bedford, MAJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: pay is decent, cmo is great, cafeterias are nice
Cons: it is slow!!!!!
Job culture sounds great after a number (5) interviews but once hired on, you'll find they don't "walk the talk", lacking integrity!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job as the Director's Secretary and worked with some of the most caring and dedicated professionals. I enjoyed going to work every day.
Secretary to the Director of Emergency Services (Former Employee), New Bedford, MANovember 13, 2013
Pros: great people, wonderful company to work for, good cafeteria food especially clam chowder
Cons: so busy that often there were days that work i wanted to get done had to be put aside, short staffed hospital wide.
I worked in the business office in one of the busiest Emergency Department's in Massachusetts. Caring for 80,000 patient/yr, it was an honor to be a part of an amazing team of professionals. My role was the Director's Secretary. I provided clerical and Administrative support to the Director and the Leadership team of Managers, Resource Nurses, Business – more... and Quality Managers. My days consisted of handling extremely busy calendars, booking meetings, attending meetings, recording minutes, typing, tracking licenses and certifications for all staff (230), preparing paperwork for performance self-assessments and evaluation, maintaining education and personnel files, creating powerpoint presentations, participation on several committees; to name a few. The Director and Managers in the business office were a pleasure to work with. We learned a lot from each other and provided support by helping out in any way we could. My responsibilities were diverse in nature and many of my days were filled with continual interruptions. I am very organized and work well under pressure; therefore my ability to handle stress and complete projects in a timely manner was impeccable.I recently relocated to New Hampshire (spouse job opportunity) and miss my job and the wonderful people I got to work with on a daily basis. They were like family to me and the hardest part of the job was having to leave it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Evniroemnt
MIS PMO Intern (Current Employee), Fairhaven, MAJuly 30, 2013
I learned Project Management, Process improvement. Most enjoyable part of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
SDC Coder (Current Employee), Fairhaven, MAJuly 23, 2013
Pros: work remotely
Great co workers and management make SCHG a super employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
CONSULTANT (Former Employee), Fairhaven, MAJuly 22, 2013
Cons: short breaks
A typical work day involves researching, contacting clients, identifying and solving problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced urgent care, great patients, great physicians
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee), Aliso Viejo, CAApril 17, 2013
Pros: well run, organized urgent care center
Cons: long work hours and week ends required
This is a great place to work - the clinic is well organized, the physician owner is very caring and compassionate, a great MD.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for hospital experience
Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee), New Bedford, MAMarch 28, 2013
Pros: local, hospital experience
Cons: short staffing, low pay, stressful
SouthCoast Hospitals group, a good place to work for hospital experience. However, RN pay grade is not great. Very stressful place to work, short staffing system wide. Too much upper management strain on regular staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Actually LOVE My Job!!
Check-In Clerk (Current Employee), Savannah, GAFebruary 10, 2013
Pros: hour lunch <3
Cons: lack of communication among management.
My supervisor is so understanding that I have a special needs child and anytime I need to take off for various appointments she never hesitates to let me off or question me :-)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization to work.
Nurse Manager (Current Employee), New Bedford, MAJanuary 27, 2013
Excellent organization to work many opportunities for growth. Organization is extremely supportive of employees and strives to support the work life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and challenging workplace.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Wareham, MASeptember 29, 2012
Pros: excellent benefit package, generous time off.
Cons: unable to advance.
I worked the 3-11 shift with a variety of roles, but most recently as the administrative supervisor my day would begin with an overview report of the whole house and staffing patterns in all departments.I would assist all nursing departments with issues as they would arise, assist visitors, staffing for the 11-7 shift, staff reviews, assist with clinical – more... crises, start IV's etc. The true lesson learned in this job was the "big picture", which I did not have as a staff nurse, The people I worked with here were some of the most devoted professionals and have maintained so many friendships over the years. The hardest and most enjoyable part of this job are the same, the job itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Referral Specialist (Former Employee), Savannah, GASeptember 24, 2012
I really enjoyed working there the job was demanding. I love my co-workers but we never got a good raise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace in environment
Emergency Room Technician (Former Employee), Fall River, MAMay 14, 2012
Assisted RNs and MDs with technical care of patience, performing phlebotomy, 12 lead EKGs, placing patients on cardiac and vital sign monitors, performing point of care testing, as well as wound care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good organization to work for
patient accounts biller (Current Employee), fall river massachusettsFebruary 22, 2012
Pros: flex hours, breaks are good
Cons: short lunches
have good benefits,co-workers easy to get along with, flex hours, good seminars, training in advance areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard worker looiking for advancement willing to learn new skills
health unit coridinator (Current Employee), fall riverMarch 9, 2011
Pros: good people
Cons: have to work weekends
southcoast is a good employer to work for good place for nursing students looking to advance