Southern California Edison (SCE) Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company cares about its employees
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Rosemead, CAMarch 28, 2017
This company cares about its employees. If you work alongside them, you will make true friends. If you work discretely through channels, you will have many opportunities to learn how other departments operate.
Pros
Stable. Friendly
Cons
It is hard to go from temporary to permanent work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that is going thru a lot of changes
Director, IT Audits (Former Employee) –  Rosemead, CAFebruary 17, 2017
SCE is an exciting work environment with a lot of challenges and management has a positive attitude to deal with those challenges.
Employees are great people to work with.
Benefits and compensations are excellent.
Company mission is very strong and adaptive to the changing economic and regulatory changes.
Overall a very good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Civil Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Clemente, CAFebruary 4, 2017
Great place to work. Gained quite some experience. I worked as a Civil Engineer at San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station (SONGS), San Clement, CA (Southern California Edison), for 10 years. I prepared specifications, reviewed vendor information, checked plans, shop drawings, and performed civil/structural engineering calculations, and onsite inspections of structures/equipment to identify potential adverse seismic conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent compensation & benefits
Senior Manager Environmental Health & Safety (Former Employee) –  Rosemead, CAJanuary 17, 2017
Nice place to work. Southern California Edison follows a good set of work values, including respect, integrity, teamwork, excellence, and safety. It was a great opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Contract Manager (Former Employee) –  Rosemead, CAOctober 6, 2016
The leadership purchased a $500,000,000 nuclear steam engine that worked too well. However the existing piping need upgrades. The leadership wen to California for another $500,000,000 and they closed the nuclear plant down. SCE laid off 5000 workers and the leadership remained.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company Especially For my First Job.
Student Management Trainee (JSP) (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAMarch 9, 2016
The JSP program for Southern California Edison was to ensure that students like my previous self during my Junior Year, were able to be taught training for working. I worked in the Ontario southern California Edison as a Student Management Trainee.
Pros
Learned to File, Computer skills, Social skills
Cons
Long Hours, Hard to get Used to, Monotonous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work life balance
SCCM Analyst / Application Packager (Former Employee) –  Irwindale, CAFebruary 9, 2016
Provided me a foundation to build my career in IT. Excellent management and perfect place to begin a career. Worked as part of the migration from Win XP to Win 7.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Project Manager, Business Planning (Former Employee) –  Rosemead, CAJanuary 18, 2016
SCE is an old school bureaucratic establishment that is trying to reinvent its values and culture from an hierarchical management style to a more progressive state. Overall this industry will continue to struggle with new technologies that disrupt their business model.
Cons
Not challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company that offered me many years of happiness
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Irwindale, CANovember 11, 2015
I started at this company in my early 20s and was given limitless opportunities to grow and learn. During my 16 years, there I had exposure to many support areas and job responsibilities.

I loved the leadership and opportunities I was given - it made me an engaged employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you have a good manager
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CANovember 6, 2015
Have been lucky enough to have great management around me that has given me many great learning opportunities and allowed me to thrive, but I have seen many in other groups where management is ineffective and sometimes childish.

Salary and benefits are pretty good, but no reward for going above an beyond. They have a promotion schedule that they do not like to advance you through before their arbitrary timeline says you can go through. Although I have found that sometimes you can get through a year or so early.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Program/Project Analyst (Former Employee) –  Irwindale, CAOctober 14, 2015
I learned a great deal, employee's were well trained in their positions. Developed lifelong friendships. Steady work pace, employee's are friendly and helpful.
Pros
Great people, Good work environment
Cons
Lay offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and satisfying place to work
Information Technology Specialist/Engineer (Former Employee) –  Irwindale, CAAugust 20, 2015
Nice place to work with decent benefits, including training reimbursement. A unique opportunity to learn about California utility.
Pros
Multiple opportunities within company
Cons
Upper management is a bit in chaos
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the biggest utility companies in US.
PRINCIPAL MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Edison, CAJune 15, 2015
The company is transforming from a "Power generation" utility company business model to a "Transmission and Distribution" only model, while purchasing the power from independent suppliers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edison, CAMarch 4, 2015
A typical work day involved status meetings to set the stage for expected progress.
Vendor status checks, review of risks and issues
PMO reporting
Assessment of the progress actually made with a review of any project risks and issues
Report out
Pros
Good synergy between project teams sharing vendor and other experiences
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive experience and a lot of fun.
Business Objects Developer (Former Employee) –  Edison, CANovember 8, 2014
This company is awesome. Its very enjoyable working for them
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Portfolio/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Edison, CAOctober 21, 2014
Company is great for empowering employees, promoting safety as part of the work culture. Good management that encourages innovative thinking and change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IOU Environment
Program / Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Rosemead, CAAugust 10, 2014
Used to be a job secured environment
Good benefits
Less promotion opportunity
Pros
Still Stable Environment
Cons
Getting unstable in job environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same Place, Same Thing
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Edison, CAFebruary 4, 2014
This company still runs like the good old boy days. Conservative at heart, and very authoritarian ruling. They love "Yes" people who don't challenge their leaders, and do as they've been told. The employees are generally pleasant to be around and loyalty has a history of being rewarded. Lots of money to spend on non-essentials as they are a monopoly but they've cracked down in the last year due to CPUC pushback. Opportunities to grow if you can learn to play the game before it plays you.
Cons
Old school traditional culture and leadership. Command and control.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Field Engineer-RF Consultant-Subcontractor (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 13, 2014
Day work-Field contract work
Enjoy working in the field
good management
good team work
On road all the time
lots of challenges
Pros
Providing auto and good compensation
Cons
Contract work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Southern California Edison Review
Professional Trainee 4 (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAAugust 26, 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed my time spent at Edison. Was able to learn from and work with great people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern California Edison (SCE). Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8

Southern California Edison (SCE) Reviews by Location