SOUTHERN GRAPHIC SYSTEMS Employee Reviews in United States

Found 17 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication and no advancement
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 13, 2015
If you don't mind working hard and never getting anywhere it's ok. But If you don't work hard and slack off, you still end up in same postion as everyone else.
Pros
ok pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very big company atmosphere
Accounting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 23, 2015
Working at Southern Graphic Systems gave many opportunities for advancement and furthering your education. Benefits were great but increases and raises were minimal.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Big company atmosphere with a lot of turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SGS culture
Benefits Manager/HR Generalist (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 10, 2015
SGS is a great place to work with dedicated employees in a constantly changing environment. The company is in a major growth phase and is challenging.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Restructuring management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
electronic engraver lead (Former Employee) –  richmond,vaAugust 8, 2015
It was a nice experience.The people were nice and friendly.There was a lack of communication from the managers to the departments.
Pros
nice people, good pay
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stick in the mud
Production Artist (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILFebruary 19, 2015
This company pays well and has good benefits. But for someone young who wants to learn and grow in this industry, THIS COMPANY IS NOT THE PLACE.
Pros
wages, big name clients, benefits
Cons
no work/life balance, poor office morale, management doesn't care about employees only the clients, don't plan on a promotion ever
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Environment and Work Experience
Packaging Archivist & Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sandston, VADecember 5, 2014
Appreciate this company for the work experience that I have gained and the relationships build.

Learned about corporate culture and procedures and thoroughly enjoyed the environment.
Pros
collegues, opportunities, data experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big company with lots of work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Pewaukee, WISeptember 15, 2014
I would load cylinders for the printing company into a lathe with a special diamond bit that would etch a logo in tothe cylinder and if it passed and the tolerances were good it would go on to later be chrome platted and sent to the customer the hardest part of the job was setting up the machine, truing the chucks on each end of the lathe within 2 or 3 thousands of zero and getting the machine to run correctly. The easy part of the job was checking the tolerance of the cuts in the design.
Cons
12 hour shift with one break
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Engraver Operator/Leadman (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 27, 2014
Southern Graphics has afforded me an opportunity to apply acquired Business Management Skills
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a great deal about package art
On-site Procurement and Digital File Manager (Former Employee) –  Glenview, ILApril 2, 2014
Worked with a wonderful group of people. Learned about package art, budgeting and digital art.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old to New
Finance/Plant Manager (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 22, 2013
Small company was acquired by SGS and the day to day dealings are still being ran like the small old company. Family environment and small plant were the perks.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
micro-managers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced.
Journey Man (Former Employee) –  West Monroe, LAAugust 12, 2013
Operated computer generated machines such as Engraver and Chrome plated machines. I learned how to set up cylinders for chroming, plating, and engraving. The hardest part of the job was being called out at all hours, to fix cylinders. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning all the computers and becoming the fastest person to do the job.
Pros
call out pay
Cons
late night call outs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purchasing Agent and Customer Service
Purchasing Agent and CSR (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 25, 2013
In charge of Purchasing and CSR for short run Digital Printing and Mock Ups. Negotiated pricing and delegated the purchasing of printing supplies for Indigo and Heidelberg Digital press’s. Roland, HP, Mimaki wide format printers. Bindery supplies for UV coater, Hot and Cold laminators, cutters, etc. Also, negotiated pricing and delegated for outsourcing to vendors for large quantities of digital and wide format printing .
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boys Club
Graphics (Former Employee) –  Sandston VAApril 16, 2013
There are many locations, and they compete. Some may be better places to work, but there is a trend over the whole company: If you are friends with the right people, it can be a good place to work. If not, they will take whatever they can, and discard you when they don't need you. ("nothing personal, but...") They will treat people differently based on religion, politics, and friendship. They closed union plants and moved the work to non-union plants. They will often require huge amounts of overtime. People have sometimes worked for 6 months without a day off. Sure, it's illegal. Do you want to keep your job?
Pros
latest technology, industry leader
Cons
long hours, politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They take advantage of temp services.
Copper Plater (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIMarch 24, 2013
they work temps until they quit or they dont want them but they wont ever hire them no matter how well they work. I was a direct hire worked 7 days a week for over 2 years busted my but for them broke all kinds of production records. After 2 consecutive 80 hour work weeks i came in on a monday only to be told i was being laid off because corporate moved work to a different plant..They gave me no notice.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with opportunities to learn new things everyday
Account Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYJanuary 17, 2013
I would start my day off by checking emails, concentrating on any urgent matters. Once that was completed, I would start typing up job orders for the day and dealing with any complications or issues. Since this was a pre-press business, I learned many things throughout the 10 years that I worked there. Programs to enter our jobs were always changing. I caught on very quickly on how to navigate through each program. I also learned how the business worked and eventually learned all the details that went with the job. My co-workers were excellent to work with and was always there to help if I had a question in need. The hardest part of the job was meeting the deadlines. The most enjoyable part of the job was I was able to learn new things everyday.
Pros
great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and productive environment
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYFebruary 8, 2012
Fast paced and every changing environment. Knowledge of graphic assembly is helpful for success in all departments.
Pros
community environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

See more SOUTHERN GRAPHIC SYSTEMS reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture