Southern Illinois Healthcare Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but very unorganized.
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, IllinoisApril 14, 2017
I love the patients and the job I do. Management is unorganized and suspicious but I think they are trying to improve.The best part of my job is drawing a newborn screen on as anxious mother's infant without making the baby cry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Laboratory Technician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Herrin, ILMarch 4, 2017
I enjoyed working for southern Illinois healthcare. Worked with a lot of great people and made several friends. The management was overall pretty good. I felt like they valued employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Corporate Compliance Intern (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILFebruary 21, 2017
It has been an amazing opportunity to intern at SIH. I've learned so much in just the first few weeks and it has increased my comfort level in the corporate environment as well as for real work job expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to develop and build skills
Certified Epic Health Information Trainer (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, IL 62901February 9, 2017
Busy work days, different day everyday. Alot of the time it isn't what you know but who you know in the company and makes it hard for people to move up in the company.

Company is on cutting edge of newest technology, can be a good thing and a bad thing at same time.

The amount of work and responsibility does not match pay.
Pros
Plenty of jobs
Cons
Employees over worked; under paid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly understaffed
current employee (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJanuary 21, 2017
Always understaffed. Management awful. Very costly insurance & benefits. Vacation time is on their schedule. The staff are somewhat friendly. Very chaotic place where work schedules are very unorganized. If you are needing questions answered, the management do not seem to know how to help you and never follow up.
Pros
12 hour shifts
Cons
management, benefits, no organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Marion, ILJanuary 16, 2017
Loved working for technicolor worked for many years there but the factory shut down and moved to Mexico for. I would of stayed working there if it had not of shut down. Very good pay and benefits !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and superb staff and management
Patient Sitter (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJanuary 12, 2017
This Hospital is a exceptional place to work. Management is superb and very professional. The CEO of the hospital is a very caring person who really has compassion for the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Industrial Onsite and Ergonomics Specialist (Current Employee) –  Herrin, ILDecember 8, 2016
Great coworkers
Great opportunity for growth
Good benefits
My ideas are valued
Management works very hard
I support the mission and goals
A good culture to grow and develop as a clinician
Accommodating hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILOctober 17, 2016
I have been there 16 years, in that time I have advanced and their tuition assistance program is great. Overall it is a wonderful place to work with great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on what you are looking for
Service Partner/C-Section Technician (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILSeptember 24, 2016
This job is filled with many new experiences that someone can build their skills from, but they pay does not match the workloads that they require you to do. I love the job, but there have recently been many task added to our workload.
Pros
30 minute uninterrupted lunch, benefits, standby option, fill the hole pay
Cons
no pay increase, rude nurses, lack of appreciations, degrading
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great stagg
Registered Nurse - Obstetrics (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJuly 7, 2016
Great place to good, low pay. You rarely get raises, if at all. It is very hard to move up in the company. The staff is great to work with though. The managers need to work the floor more so they know how to better handle situations. When I was hired on they said that they worked the floor at least twice a quarter. I haven't seen that happen once in 5 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and efficient workplace with caring coworkers
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJune 28, 2016
Management is always willing to work around school schedules. Nurses offer to help when they're available. Hardest part of the job is being able to handle 12 hour shifts, time management, and prioritizing. Most satisfying part of the job is getting to help patients and developing friendships with coworkers overtime.
Pros
My unit is very close knit and help when they can, benefits
Cons
On your feet constantly throughout the day, variety of different tasks at once
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sih
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Cabondale, ILJune 17, 2016
Wonderful work enviroment, employees, patient care, atmosphere. I enjoyed my coworkers as well as my bosses, my patients were equally as great!
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the working atmosphere.
Health Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILFebruary 9, 2016
The nurses and doctors at Southern Illinois Healthcare were very professional and a pleasure to work with. I performed patient registration, customer service, healthcare enrollment, and data entry.
Pros
Great experience
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping us busy
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILDecember 22, 2015
I loved this job. My managers expected a lot out of us with deadlines constantly having to be made and we were understaffed at the time. However, once we hired on more people deadlines were no longer a problem and we got to really enjoy our consistent patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educational work place
Clinical Internship (Former Employee) –  Herrin, ILJune 11, 2015
Clinical involvement focused on range of motion, transfers, ambulation, stretching, modalities, muscle
strengthening, setting patient orientated goals and patient care meetings.
I learned through this clinical important qualities to be a successful PTA.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experince
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, IlApril 24, 2015
Overall a leading name in healthcare in Southern Illinois. Continues to grow. Management and coworkers were close to one another. The hardest part of the job was being in offices towns away and communication between them became hard.
Pros
Great variety of job options
Cons
understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful learning environment
Patient Relations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILMarch 23, 2015
Dynamic, patient centered environment where staff and physicians are focused on patient and family needs. Advanced knowledge and technology directed toward patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Corporate Supply Chain Manager (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJanuary 29, 2015
I usually start each day at 4:30 am and I usually end my day around 5:00 pm
Pros
Insurance
Cons
High pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent hospital
Skilled Nurse (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILOctober 11, 2014
L&D, NNN, Postpartum then transferred to SDS and recovery room. Very much enjoyed Endoscopy
Pros
Provide excellent healthcare
Cons
no longer utilizes LPN
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Illinois Healthcare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

78%
14 ratings
Add your rating

Southern Illinois Healthcare Reviews by Location