Southern Illinois University Employee Reviews

Found 164 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work and can learn a lot
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJanuary 8, 2017
Best place to work, with really awesome people around me.
Learnt how to indulge in the office culture, how to work as a part of the team. Gained leadership abilities. The salary could be a little more.
Pros
Flexible timings
Cons
Lesser pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good workplace environment
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJune 18, 2016
Good co-workers, really nice people. For the most part everyone does a good job - we are all working hard. The hardest part of the job is balancing school life and work life, and the most enjoyable part of the job is the beautiful nature that surrounds the area. Management is also, for the most part good, I haven't had a boss here that I didn't like.
Pros
Good job culture
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very constructive work environment.
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILSeptember 27, 2016
-Supportive management
- Positive work environment
-Opportunities for growth and advancement
-Vacation
-Stress free work environment
-Loving coworkers
-Great business hours (weekends off)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
January 2017 Tutor (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILFebruary 7, 2017
I worked as an assistant to set up equipment needed for class and clean up any spills made.

i learned a lot, i learned how to use a fume hood, how to set up an electric circuit.

managemnt was very communicative and helpful

workplace culture was inclusive

hardest part of the job was coordinating my schedule with other people

enjoyable part was interacting with other students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment. Very family friendly
Business Manager/Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILMay 3, 2016
Worked at SIU for 36 years and learned so much from just the culture there. It is government controlled but had job security until recently.
Pros
Great benefits and so much to learn
Cons
State of Illinois' poor budget management has affected the university
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Graduate school, sinking university
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILMarch 6, 2017
I have enjoyed my education in the graduate school, and working at SIUC. The people here are very nice. The people at SIUC are the main reason to come here. BUT...

SIUC is suffering from the weight of an infrastructure capable of handling 23,000 students being supported by 15,000 students. Most blame the financial trouble at the university on the state withholding funds. This is like a terminally ill patient complaining about a paper cut. Graduate student contracts are one semester long. This makes committing to a two to four-year graduate program haphazard at best. If you have a fully funded offer for another school, you would be wise to accept it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rich experience
Greenhouse Credit Worker (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJuly 20, 2016
Met various growers and their operations.
Greenhouse work; sanitization, potting, plant management, watering, insect management.
Planned and created a perennial bed located in front of the Agriculture building.
Various vegetable field work, harvest, water, fertilizing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Tech support (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILDecember 21, 2016
it was a great job , there was always something to do each and every day there. but there was no job security at all with budget cut from the state ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work space
Usher (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILNovember 7, 2016
Getting dressed in the tuxedos, helping guest, awesome performances, very flexible hours.

Learned about backstage set up.

Manager was awesome, layed back and like by everyone that I noticed.

The co-workers were nice, friendly and interesting. Had good tmes and smiles.

Trying to compete with the others for job postings (work the performances) while not interfering with school or band activities.

Looking good, helping the guest and working along side the people I care about.
Pros
Best job I've ever had, just all around nice
Cons
Wasn't an everyday, 9-5 type job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work, easy access on campus
Facilities Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILMay 5, 2016
Helpful management staff, allowed easy communication from those in charge and the student workforce. Offered assistance whenever necessary. A culture that was inviting to questions and growth.
Pros
Chance for improvement and growth
Cons
Repetition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Academic Work Environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILJanuary 15, 2017
Fairly decent organization to work for. Work hours, for a research assistant, are very flexible. Supervisors respect your expertise and experience.
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
sometimes required to work more than contracted hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILMarch 27, 2017
Several female instructors had issues with a few students when I was there, and the administration did everything they could to support the instructors and assist them in feeling safe during instruction.
Pros
Excellent administration and amazing faculty
Cons
Low pay for adjunct faculty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low end job
Building Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Springfield, ILFebruary 28, 2016
Insufficient staffing. Inadequate equipment. Does have sufficient benefits package. Not physically demanding. Better management would be beneficial. Could have better pay compared to comparable positions.
Cons
Dead end job, no chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biased and discrimianted work place
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  ReasercherFebruary 20, 2017
This work was a project for graduate school. I don't feel that I gained any valuable working experience. Also the institution did not provide any job replacement.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
No real experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its was a great atmosphere
I am a very detailed cleaner (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILMarch 9, 2017
I enjoyed working for my school and my peers. Everyone had nice attitudes and great vibes. Employees were well respected and team members worked together to complete the tasks on time.
Pros
Independent work
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Camp Lejeune, NCDecember 20, 2016
I taught undergraduate students academic writing skills. It was challenging and rewarding. Since I believe communication skills are critical in the workplace and in the process of getting a good education, I liked the work.
Pros
small classes
Cons
some students were not motivated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
StrengthsQuest Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILMarch 20, 2017
SIU is not located near a big city and Carbondale doesn't have anything else in it besides SIU, SIU does not seem to care about the faculty or staff and as a result, there is a lot of turnover.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILMarch 16, 2017
SIU is a great place to work for the students. Students can receive federal work study. The employer understand the balance between school, life, and work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best student job at SIU
Student Employee (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILFebruary 15, 2017
This job is wonderful for students who want a good job where they can stay physically active and gain a hands on feel for the wonderful Campus at SIU.
Pros
Felxiblity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Healthcare System
Medical Office Employee (Current Employee) –  Springfield, ILFebruary 9, 2016
SIU Healthcare is a growing Healthcare System with a solid relationship with the 2 major Springfield, Illinois hospital systems. Management listens and is open to change, but sometimes slow to act on employee complaints. Sick time abuse in the department has created a time off system in which it is very difficult to ever use your PTO/Vacation to actually TAKE a vacation. One day here or there is achievable, but it's very difficult to get a week off without planning 5+ months in advance or being extremely lucky.
Pros
PTO/Sick Leave, 2 Week Paid Holiday Break
Cons
Unaccountable Staff, Abuse of Sick Time, Hard to Get Vacation Due to Sick Time Abuse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Illinois University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 165 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2
80%

CEO Approval

Based on 26 ratings
Add your rating

Southern Illinois University Reviews by Location