Find companies:
Southern Illinois University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
94 reviews

Southern Illinois University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
publications
research assistant (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILNovember 18, 2014
Involved in research projects funded by NSF
Developed skills to handle complex projects
Necessary skills to deal with individual projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Network Administrator/ Technology Coordinator (Former Employee), Springfield, ILOctober 29, 2014
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many offers for learning was always available
Medical Coder/Insurance Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Quincy, ILOctober 23, 2014
Pros: free lunch when provided by representatives
Cons: getting patient to understand the billing and insurance process
Daily billing, invoicing, collections, issuing insurance forms, patient contact for balance due payments. Daily coding for patient procedures and daily contact with Dr.'s and Nurse.
I learned something new everyday about health and billing issues and related information.
My co-workers were great in all departments and we had to work close daily for – more... the operation of the job.
The hardest part of the job was collections form patients and insurance companies. Making sure to be cautious of billing information to be submitted.
The most enjoyable part of the job was making sure my job was completed in a timely manner and accurate as it should be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
IT Computer Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILOctober 21, 2014
Learned A lot of useful information while helping overall a great job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice JOb
Custodian (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILOctober 19, 2014
It was a okay place to more for a little while nothing to make a career out of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized
Online Course Manager (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILOctober 3, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: virtual
Very well organized and flexible. Much room for growth, creativity and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GA position
Graduate Assistant, SIU School of Medicine (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILOctober 3, 2014
Working as a GA has been great. They really understand that I'm in school and how important that is. Studying at work is a regular thing here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream workplace nice faculties
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILSeptember 11, 2014
My GA experience at Department of Agribusiness Economics (ABE) is pretty funny and it is a lifelong memory. This kind of job position requires students to work 10 hours per week without fixed schedule. Therefore, students could do the job anywhere they preferred in order to relax themselves and improve efficiency. Also, the faculties at Department of – more... ABE are very nice and patient, they would not only explain research purposes and methodologies very clearly and carefully to help students fully understand it, but also guide students on the right track in appropriate way to conduct researches. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment
Research Assitant (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILAugust 21, 2014
Nice place to work
Works done in amicable way
responsive instructors
adjustable schedules
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbelievable experience
Teaching Assistant for PSYC 102 (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILAugust 18, 2014
Pros: getting the experience while still in college
Cons: grading papers
Monday's and Wednesday's consisted of sitting in the back of a lecture hall full of 200+ students. I watched my supervisor teach and grasp the students attention. On Friday's I spent the morning preparing my lesson plan for the afternoon. When it came down to the hour long class, it was spent walking around the classroom engaging each individual student. – more... My fellow teachers were an awesome group of co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Work Position
Office Support Specialist (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILJuly 26, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: low pay, no job security
This is a job and not a career. It will help pay rent but that is about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching assistant at SIU-C
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Carbondale IlJuly 22, 2014
Pros: low pressure work
Cons: low pay.
Typical days was teaching a course on Java, office hours.
Learned that I didn't want to be a teacher.
Professors were great.
Other graduate assistants were great too.
Hardest part of the job was giving lectures.
Best part was hanging out with the other grad assistants during office hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice university
Assistant/Associate Professor of Mathematics (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILJuly 2, 2014
Conducted research in ionzing radiation damage to cancer cell.
Taught various undergraduate courses and graduate courses.
Master degree advisor of several graudate students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an amazing opportunity!
Graduate/Teaching Assistant for the ISAT (Former Employee), Carbondale, IlJune 27, 2014
Pros: amazing opportunity!!
Cons: long hours
I worked as a TA/GA for 2 years as I completed my Masters degree! The opportunity to develop classes, labs, tests and teach at this level was amazing!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
President of Graduate Student Government (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILJune 23, 2014
It was a wonderful experience. I learned so much. The people were excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Job
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Edwardsville, ILJune 16, 2014
Supervised 48 undergraduate students and 64 upper-class residents, oversaw recruitment of future Resident Assistants, and implemented informational programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Oriented
Human Resources Officer (Current Employee), Edwardsville, ILJune 13, 2014
Pros: dynamic
Cons: construction
Serving students, faculty, and staff by helping them achieve success in all aspects of life is encourages me to come to work each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prepared me for life after graduation
Student Programming Council (Former Employee), Carbondale illinoisMay 28, 2014
Pros: experence
Cons: student envolment
Prepared financial reports for committee member meetings,Arranged lectures fiscal budget of $45,000 for programming events.Worked directly with lecturer’s agents to handle travel, lodging, food, and transportation payment arrangements.Execute day to day business practices and daily financial planning The hardest part of my day was balancing student – more... job and coarse responsibility as a student. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior design project
Project Lead (Former Employee), Edwardsville, ILMay 24, 2014
Learned about cost/quality analysis of components, PCBs, Microcontrollers, Analog filters, power supply design, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILMay 8, 2014
Great place to work.........................................................................................

1 2 3 4 5

About Southern Illinois University

Founded in 1869, SIUC maintains more than 100 finely tuned academic programs that lead to associate, baccalaureate, master's, – Read more

Southern Illinois University Photos