Southern Illinois University Employee Reviews

Found 134 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building Manager
Building Manager of the Student Center (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJanuary 10, 2015
Great job. Wish I could have stayed. I had to move back to my hometown. The job was sweet.
Pros
hours, pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funding sources unstable and university not managed well.
Researcher II (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJanuary 5, 2015
I learned quite a bit from the lab I was working in, but funding is very unstable and the university is mismanaged.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Tutor
Paid Undergraduate Tutor (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILDecember 27, 2014
While working as a tutor, I have learned to be patient with people; I have learned how to successfully interact with those who may be distressed, angry, and hard to deal with. I have also learned other valuable customer service skills, as well as certain leadership skills. I am able to lead meetings, I have helped come up with ideas that will allow the center to run better. I have also participated in outreach to other departments on campus for the center.
Pros
fun job, great hours, ability to learn and earn worthwhile skills
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and gratifying to work and interact with parents, students, faculty, and administration.
Office Manger (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILDecember 20, 2014
A typical day involved interacting with administration, students, parents, and occasional outside vendors. I enjoyed basically all the areas of the duties and responsibilities of my job, and throughout my employment I worked with some exceptional co-workers. The hardest part of my job was not being able to say no. I am a people person, and I learned that basically people are the same. Treat others always the way you want to be treated.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
publications
research assistant (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILNovember 18, 2014
Involved in research projects funded by NSF
Developed skills to handle complex projects
Necessary skills to deal with individual projects
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Network Administrator/ Technology Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILOctober 29, 2014
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many offers for learning was always available
Medical Coder/Insurance Billing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILOctober 23, 2014
Daily billing, invoicing, collections, issuing insurance forms, patient contact for balance due payments. Daily coding for patient procedures and daily contact with Dr.'s and Nurse.
I learned something new everyday about health and billing issues and related information.
My co-workers were great in all departments and we had to work close daily for the operation of the job.
The hardest part of the job was collections form patients and insurance companies. Making sure to be cautious of billing information to be submitted.
The most enjoyable part of the job was making sure my job was completed in a timely manner and accurate as it should be.
Pros
free lunch when provided by representatives
Cons
getting patient to understand the billing and insurance process
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
IT Computer Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILOctober 21, 2014
Learned A lot of useful information while helping overall a great job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized
Online Course Manager (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILOctober 3, 2014
Very well organized and flexible. Much room for growth, creativity and advancement.
Pros
great management
Cons
virtual
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GA position
Graduate Assistant, SIU School of Medicine (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILOctober 3, 2014
Working as a GA has been great. They really understand that I'm in school and how important that is. Studying at work is a regular thing here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about Southern Illinois University?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream workplace nice faculties
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILSeptember 11, 2014
My GA experience at Department of Agribusiness Economics (ABE) is pretty funny and it is a lifelong memory. This kind of job position requires students to work 10 hours per week without fixed schedule. Therefore, students could do the job anywhere they preferred in order to relax themselves and improve efficiency. Also, the faculties at Department of ABE are very nice and patient, they would not only explain research purposes and methodologies very clearly and carefully to help students fully understand it, but also guide students on the right track in appropriate way to conduct researches.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment
Research Assitant (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILAugust 21, 2014
Nice place to work
Works done in amicable way
responsive instructors
adjustable schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbelievable experience
Teaching Assistant for PSYC 102 (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILAugust 18, 2014
Monday's and Wednesday's consisted of sitting in the back of a lecture hall full of 200+ students. I watched my supervisor teach and grasp the students attention. On Friday's I spent the morning preparing my lesson plan for the afternoon. When it came down to the hour long class, it was spent walking around the classroom engaging each individual student. My fellow teachers were an awesome group of co-workers.
Pros
getting the experience while still in college
Cons
grading papers
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Work Position
Office Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJuly 26, 2014
This is a job and not a career. It will help pay rent but that is about it.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
low pay, no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching assistant at SIU-C
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carbondale IlJuly 22, 2014
Typical days was teaching a course on Java, office hours.
Learned that I didn't want to be a teacher.
Professors were great.
Other graduate assistants were great too.
Hardest part of the job was giving lectures.
Best part was hanging out with the other grad assistants during office hours.
Pros
low pressure work
Cons
low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice university
Assistant/Associate Professor of Mathematics (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJuly 2, 2014
Conducted research in ionzing radiation damage to cancer cell.
Taught various undergraduate courses and graduate courses.
Master degree advisor of several graudate students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an amazing opportunity!
Graduate/Teaching Assistant for the ISAT (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, IlJune 27, 2014
I worked as a TA/GA for 2 years as I completed my Masters degree! The opportunity to develop classes, labs, tests and teach at this level was amazing!
Pros
amazing opportunity!!
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
President of Graduate Student Government (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJune 23, 2014
It was a wonderful experience. I learned so much. The people were excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Job
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILJune 16, 2014
Supervised 48 undergraduate students and 64 upper-class residents, oversaw recruitment of future Resident Assistants, and implemented informational programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Oriented
Human Resources Officer (Current Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILJune 13, 2014
Serving students, faculty, and staff by helping them achieve success in all aspects of life is encourages me to come to work each day.
Pros
dynamic
Cons
construction
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 135 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture