Find companies:
Southern Illinois University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
96 reviews

Southern Illinois University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place, Orderly conducted
Athletic Department, Videographer (Former Employee), Edwardsville, ILNovember 3, 2013
I Go to work and stream live the sports games from the camera. I learned how to make graphic designs and make different graphics for basketball games. My co-workers are fun to work with. The hardest part of my job is making the replay's for the game. The enjoyable part of my job is being around all the fans and crowd.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taught high school age youth the basic of architecture.
Architecture Instructor (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILOctober 28, 2013
Pros: i was able to influence young peoples lives in a positive way.
Cons: because of the lack of leverage on the students it is hard to push students to do their best.
This job was a lot of fun. Although it is hard to keep order in a classroom where there is little leverage for maintaining order in the classroom the students don't get any grades or anything. The class pretty much required that I gained the students respect.Afterwards I am able to steer the direction of the class.
A typical day usually starts by me – more... explaining a project and having the students start on the projects in teams.
They usually have a lot of questions and complaints until I explain what I expect from them more thoroughly. A project usually last for about or a week or two or until most of the students in the class or finish. After that I explain a new project using 2 dimensional and 3D models or or projections. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Lab Technician Assistant (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILOctober 8, 2013
The Agriculture department is wonderful! On a normal day people are excited to advance on their research whatever it may be; I have learned to work as a team and why it is important to do your duties; I have learned to better manage my time outside the workplace to work to my potential; co-workers are amazing; the hardest part of the job is probably – more... doing field work; and the most enjoyable is knowing that you are working to help to world as everything that is being researched will probably be published in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Office Manager (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILOctober 3, 2013
I could only work 900 hours so my experience was limited. The boss was decent and out of the office most days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Department of Physics/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILOctober 2, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: na
Mostly research for PHD Candidate.
Teaching Lab and tutoring
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Laboratory Researcher and Instructor (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILSeptember 27, 2013
Very good place to work. Vast amount of knowledge and experience at RGI.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun and active place
Financial Aid Advisor III (Former Employee), Edwardsville, ILSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: always something to do and my immediate supervisor. loved her too death
Cons: a set schedule
Assisting students getting their financial aid together. The people in the office where great considering the amount of traffic that come through daily. Everybody wanted the best for the students and management encouraged growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place
Research assistant (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILSeptember 11, 2013
SIUC is a healthy educational environment. I got much knowledge and friendly people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Admin (Former Employee), Edwardsville, ILSeptember 8, 2013
Co-Workers were really nice enjoyed it and the perks were a plus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly location
Postdoctoral research associate (Current Employee), Springfield, ILSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no respect for the juniors.
I am in research. The medical doctors look down on PhDs because they think that we are the scum of the scientific world. Most of the departmental faculty treat you like you are a brainless oaf while they are the expert-gods of their restricted fields of research. But, the university provides good benefits (health, dental, optical and life) for you and – more... your dependents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits; Located in a great place to raise a family; Lots of cultural diversity. Top notch educational and research opportunities.
Director of Labor and Employee Relations (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILAugust 9, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits and great area to live in.
Cons: current economic conditions in illinois have resulted in budget cuts.
SIUC is a great place to work, offering an easy going but very caring work environment. Southern Illinois is a great place to raise a family.

Work hours are typically 8am - 4:30pm. In my current position, I am fortunate to have a very supportive upper administration that values my input and relies on my expertise. The most difficult part of my job – more... is notifying an employee that due to budget cuts their position is being eliminated, or watching the occasional misguided employee throw away a good job by engaging in poor behavior.

The most enjoyable part of my job, aside from the great group of people that I am privileged to work with, is when I am able to help a struggling employee through difficult issues by coaching / counseling them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Disability Conversion Specialist (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILAugust 7, 2013
The management was never around and unreliable. I enjoyed working with the students but this was a job that you sat at the computer the entire shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Admissions Coordinator (Former Employee), Great Lakes, ILJuly 27, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: temporary position
I thoroughly enjoyed my job at the SIU admissions office. Being I was once a student of this offered program, it was nice to work on the other end of things, and help alleviate anticipations of incoming students. I really liked having the responsibility of being the office liaison, and being the direct connection between the university and students. – more... I enjoyed giving the orientation presentations, as much as being in charge of recording grades, and maintaining files. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and comfortable environment
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILJune 13, 2013
An amazing campus, especially in the summer so many fun outdoor activities to do. Employees on campus are friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at different places lead me to develop professionally. Overall, It was really fun and a good learning experience.
student worker (Former Employee), SIUE dining servicesJune 4, 2013
Corporate Experience:
I volunteered at Microbe Inotech Laboratories (MIL) where I conducted tests like Gram staining technique, handled Biolog Microlog, metabolic characterization system and prepared nutrient agar petri plates. Apart from this, I also did implant training at Torrent pharmaceuticals and Intas Biopharmaceuticals in India where I learned – more... about techniques such as Gel Electrophoresis, Chromatography techniques, Sonication, Robotic Liquid Handling System used for performing Bradford Assay. Working in such corporate environment definitely boosted my confidence levels in performing various biological assays and helped me to gain knowledge in the field of Biotechnology. It also helped me to experience the corporate culture which will be helpful for me to adjust myself in such an environment in future.

On campus Work Experience:

I worked at Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville (SIUE) dining services. It was really good learning experience working at SIUE dining services. Working here helped me to interact with various people who worked with me. Sometimes, during the absence of my Supervisor, I had to undertake her role and responsibilities. Working under such situations definitely helped me to improve my management skills. Also, by interacting with my co-workers and supervisors helped me to improve my speaking abilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work.
Lecturer for the Curriculum & Instruction (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILMay 29, 2013
While I enjoyed the work, I wished there was room for advancement, and a more stable work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Saluki Game Staff Ticket Taker (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILMay 27, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Fun place to work - met a lot of cool people and made good connections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university with excellent students and faculty.
Lecturer (Current Employee), Carbondale, ILMay 21, 2013
Enjoy working at SIU. Dedicated students and a tremendous faculty. Nice facilities. A very caring and supportive environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Carbondale, ILApril 8, 2013
Typical day would be to help keep the students update to date about university policy, hold weekly meeting, create display boards for residents, and serve as a mentor to residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working with students
Food Service Manager (Former Employee), Edwardsville, ILApril 3, 2013
Pros: students
Cons: cleaning the fryer vats
Worked with food routing, stocking, preparing, cleaning equipment, montioring student.

That alot of students are not allowed to touch certain kinds of food, due to there culture.

Management was good.

Co-workers was good eager to learn.

There really wasn't one

Loved working with food and students..

Great Job.

About Southern Illinois University

Founded in 1869, SIUC maintains more than 100 finely tuned academic programs that lead to associate, baccalaureate, master's, – Read more

Southern Illinois University Photos