Southern Illinois University Employee Reviews

Found 133 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun and active place
Financial Aid Advisor III (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILSeptember 17, 2013
Assisting students getting their financial aid together. The people in the office where great considering the amount of traffic that come through daily. Everybody wanted the best for the students and management encouraged growth.
Pros
always something to do and my immediate supervisor. loved her too death
Cons
a set schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good equipment and opportunity
Undergraduate Research Student (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILMarch 3, 2015
I usually went in the mornings before class and checked the experiment set ups to see if they were running fine or needed adjustments. The experiments took much time but I would go over data that was previously recorded to prepare for the consensus of the complete research.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place, Orderly conducted
Athletic Department, Videographer (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILNovember 3, 2013
I Go to work and stream live the sports games from the camera. I learned how to make graphic designs and make different graphics for basketball games. My co-workers are fun to work with. The hardest part of my job is making the replay's for the game. The enjoyable part of my job is being around all the fans and crowd.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Work Environment
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILOctober 7, 2015
Supportive management. Promotes professional development and advancement. There is a lot of red tape and guidelines that one must follow in order to get a task completed. Coworkers and supervisors are great. There is a lot of work variety in what I do day in and day out.
Pros
Stipend
Cons
Work more than 20 hours per week
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching assistant at SIU-C
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carbondale IlJuly 22, 2014
Typical days was teaching a course on Java, office hours.
Learned that I didn't want to be a teacher.
Professors were great.
Other graduate assistants were great too.
Hardest part of the job was giving lectures.
Best part was hanging out with the other grad assistants during office hours.
Pros
low pressure work
Cons
low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have a great time
teacher assistant (Former Employee) –  College of EducationMarch 5, 2014
I was here for education. I did my doctoral degree with the exceptional support of the professors and I have the great opportunity to teach I was very loved by my students because they knew I care about them
Pros
teaching and learning was fun
Cons
end of semesters very hectic due to unsubmitted homework and projects
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working with students
Food Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILApril 3, 2013
Worked with food routing, stocking, preparing, cleaning equipment, montioring student.

That alot of students are not allowed to touch certain kinds of food, due to there culture.

Management was good.

Co-workers was good eager to learn.

There really wasn't one

Loved working with food and students..

Great Job.
Pros
students
Cons
cleaning the fryer vats
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to be exposed to different diversity in students
Staff Clerk (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILDecember 13, 2013
I loved working at the university. The students that attended were from different areas from all over the world. It was fun being able to experience the different cultures that was represented by our college community.
Benefits from the college was excellent.
Pros
paid holidays
Cons
lack of supervision skills from supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and understanding work environment
Building & Ground Staff (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJune 15, 2015
For the most part all I did was take out trash. I would at time have to clean floors, windows, or other various surfaces. My job overall was to keep most of East Campus of Southern Illinois University clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and fun environment
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILApril 14, 2014
Mainly I'm a student first, so just finding that balance between work and personal life takes time. Time-management is very important in the workplace because you can become overwhelmed with school work and your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace for a student as long as you can find a meaningful job.
Information Technology Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILMarch 14, 2014
Majority of student employees are paid minimum wage, regardless of their job responsibilities. However, it is a great opportunity to get your feet wet, especially if you can find employment that is relevant to your studies.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students
Student Worker/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJuly 16, 2012
They are always great about working around your class schedule and trying to get you the hours you need. Everyone in the College of Applied Sciences and Arts building is so fun to work with!
Pros
hours, compensation
Cons
limited to academic semesters
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Arabic 101 Instructor (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILSeptember 14, 2015
I have enjoyed doing manufacturing and warehouse jobs. The most I enjoy about that is being a part of a team. I am also the type of employee that would go the extra mile to get the job done.
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Announcer/Commentator (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJanuary 20, 2016
I had the opportunity to do and learn things that I never could have imagined. I had always dreamed of getting to be on an actual production set or being up close to college sports games.
Pros
Great Experience
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment for learning and working.
Instructor of Record (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILFebruary 7, 2013
Southern Illinois was a college that trained teachers. It has retained this atmosphere of learning your craft while gaining valuable teaching experience. The staff is knowledgeable and professional.
Pros
teaching experience
Cons
isolated/rual
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the instructors.
Secretary II Transcriber (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILApril 16, 2012
Was responsible for shippping out all supplies for traveling instructors to military bases for the Industrial Technology dept. When the instructors returned to SIU, I would process all paperwork for their travel and make travel arrangements for their next class.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great opportunity to learn quality techniques while in college.
Field researcher (Former Employee) –  Plant and Soil Scienc DepartmentNovember 16, 2011
I loved going to work everyday here at Southern. The people I worked with were very fun and enjoyable.
Pros
various hours
Cons
very little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an amazing opportunity!
Graduate/Teaching Assistant for the ISAT (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, IlJune 27, 2014
I worked as a TA/GA for 2 years as I completed my Masters degree! The opportunity to develop classes, labs, tests and teach at this level was amazing!
Pros
amazing opportunity!!
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly people
Teaching assistant for course World Geography (Current Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJanuary 13, 2014
People here are so friendly and you will never feel lonely. Usually not too much stress in the work. Several nice restaurants near the campus. Really good recreation center.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun, time went past very fast
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Carbondale, ILJanuary 5, 2016
a typical day at work would be taking out the trash in the dorms of the students, clean windows and wipe down some of the furniture as well as vacuuming the halls.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 134 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture