Southern Maine Medical Center Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging environment
Certified Surgical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJanuary 10, 2013
- challenging environment to balance home and work.
- compensation has not met cost adjustments or benefit adjustments.
- administration and mid-level management do not demonstrate commitment to staff loyalty or seniority in decisions.
- rest breaks are infrequent due to pace and nature of task.
- best part of job is helping patients improve health situation and working with true professionals
Pros
employed, good people staffing operating room
Cons
recent operational staffing changes have created unnecessary stress in a stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work
MEDICAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEMarch 14, 2015
Busy, fun, great team, awesome management, patients are great, multi task, convenient location, great learning atmosphere, typical day full of various tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my employment was of short duration
Medical Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MaineJune 9, 2013
Evening Shift :
- depending on personal staffed for the work day determined which department I would work in
- different techniques in Blood Bank
- have no opinion good or bad with regards to management
- introduced new ideas and collaborated well
- the necessity to fluctuate between a specific area and Blood Bank
- the opportunity to work with new equipment and techniques
Pros
the opportunity to move to maine
Cons
forced overtime (ex. to work midnight shift and then work evening shift)
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never the same from day to day
Telecommunication Operator (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEOctober 28, 2013
I really enjoy this job because every day is a little different. It always has a new challenge. It can be very stressful at times especially when there is an emergency or a code in progress. There is such a variety of responsibilities. Our job consists of being on the phones a great part of the day since we are the main line for the hospital. We deal a great deal with the all the physicians for SMMC from paging doctors for all the floors to keeping track of the physicians schedules for the hospital. We also keep current lists of inpatients throughout the day. I have to say that we have a great group in our department and we all try to work together.
Pros
do not work alot of weekends
Cons
work too many holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hospital with great employees.
Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEAugust 17, 2012
Largest hospital in York county, along with the largest employer for the county. Great spence of team and well trained and prepared employees.
Pros
great team of people who help in bettering the community we are in.
Cons
healthcare in general is very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work, great work life balance
Asthma Education Specialist/Staff Educator (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MENovember 7, 2014
Very friendly staff! Great food! Ability to be independent and creative.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, with friendly people
Intensive Outpatient Program, LCPC Intern (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEOctober 2, 2013
Great place to learn and practice skills. Friendly co-workers.
Great opportunity to work with other clinicians, run groups, and work with a variety of clients in the mental health and substance abuse field.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Southern Maine Medical Center
Patient Account Representative (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJune 24, 2014
I would love to work for this hospital again. Such a wonderful experiance. Always feel welcome, and at home.
Pros
everything
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced.
Room Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEApril 3, 2013
A great place to work at if you like doing more than your job and running around frantically.
Pros
free drinks
Cons
almost everyhting especially hours and pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hi-tech department with cutting edge practices in therapy.
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJanuary 18, 2014
Excellent caring environment and hospital wide team approach.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Environmental Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEOctober 8, 2013
good place to work in Biddeford ME, very friendly and nice, good pay, and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard hospital job
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Biddeford, MEApril 8, 2013
Was a nice small hospital to work in, great opportunity to train in phlebotomy. Great autonomy while drawing in nursing homes in the area.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MaineJanuary 8, 2014
Good place to work. Made lots of friends there, I work in the OR and feel they have cut the personnel to unhealthy levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hopsital
Ultrasonographer (Current Employee) –  Biddeford, MEJuly 1, 2013
Love the hospital. Great employees. I do mostly on call but have mostly good things to say.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Maine Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

Southern Maine Medical Center Reviews by Location