Southern Management Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
southern
Concierge (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 20, 2017
Its a cool company a lot of perks, great pay and benefits. the managers are not so cool and it is a stressful place to work. You grow within the company if they want you to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAOctober 18, 2017
Work was very consistent not a lot of stress supervisors were easy to get along with job is not stressful at all and coworkers were considerate and understanding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i really enjoyed working there.
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Lynn Haven, FLOctober 2, 2017
I really enjoyed working there. my hard work and dedication paid off I was employee of the month 06/06. the managers were awesome and I enjoyed the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Southern management
Senior Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Oxon Hill, MDOctober 2, 2017
I would recommend Southern management to anyone interested in maintenance. They are a family and respect everyone ideas to grow as a team and company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a school is different and very fast paced.
custodian (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, GASeptember 25, 2017
A typical evening was being by yourself at all times cleaning 9th grade classrooms.I learned my passion for childhood education and careers that I know I will talk to my two kids about in details.The way things were there were unfair because my managers wife and step daughter worked in the same building and were not forced to follow the same guide lines as the rest of the employees. High school has a big diversity in cultures as in backgrounds.You see them grow grade after grade and how much students have changed.The thing that I didn't like was having to throw trash in the dark every single night.The best part of this job was getting to communicate with students and listening to what careers they were interested in what they wanted to be when they graduated from college.
Pros
free tips (tactics) from teachers
Cons
not enough breaks, chemicals or supply's
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Caregiver/Companion/Nanny (Former Employee) –  Kingston, OKSeptember 25, 2017
great company to work for .the good hours were long but .atmosphere was fun place to work only left due to owners closing business s to moved out of state
Pros
awesome boss and coworkers
Cons
business closed owners moved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy but very fun
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 14, 2017
I loved working for southern but i was topped out at my level and there was no where to advance to so I had no other choice but to move on to increase my knowledge
Pros
co workers/ team building
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a nice place to work.
Cleaning Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAAugust 6, 2017
Good schedule. Easy company to work for. Good hours and staff easy to work with. Provided all of the equipment required to do the job. Upper management was very good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee) –  Madison, ALAugust 4, 2017
I had a great experience here. Flexible hours and the management is good. I learned how to do janitorial work and be consistent with my Work,and it was nice working with different people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at a steady pace
CUSTODIAN (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALJune 19, 2017
This job was laid back and loved working for people that never complained but was very complimentary.
The company was willing to give hours that would accommodate your schedule
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Muscle Shoals, ALJune 11, 2017
store manager was a racist and make cruel remarks to customers . informed the district supervisor and nothing was done about it because they were friends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenence
Assist residents (Former Employee) –  Hyattsville, MDApril 11, 2017
clean several buildings
grounds & cleaned outdoor trash
perform household duties per residents request
Assist manager
Assist Team members
Ensured there was Quality Service
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
High Rise Executive Living (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDJanuary 14, 2017
Th training classes at Southern were very helpful, marketing their apartments to potential applicants, giving tours, arranging holiday parties, realtor open houses, and collecting rentt checks, data entry
Pros
excellent buildng
Cons
long commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VADecember 30, 2016
Very understanding. Great communication! Easy to work with. Balanced work/personal life with ease. Had no issues with employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard
Administrative Assistant II & Leasing Professional (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDDecember 27, 2016
Great Company. Benefits, earnings, and bonuses were fair. Room for advancement, and professionalism. Free training. The company was strict with what to wear, felt more military style at work.
Pros
Learning opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great work place
Maintenance Assistant/Groundsperson (Former Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDJuly 5, 2016
Great learning experience.Good coworkers and great benefits not that good with injury and sick leave but overall a great company to work for would recommend for anyone looking to grow in the maintenance field. Great opportunity with free classes available for numerous trades.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with great team members
Administrative Leasing Professional (Former Employee) –  MDJune 8, 2016
Great company with benefits that are second to none. I really enjoyed that Southern was employee focused and work/ life balance was great.
Pros
Compensation, Work/life blance, Training
Cons
Very competitive hiring process
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smc
Assistant Property Manager (Former Employee) –  College Park, MDJune 1, 2016
Southern Management is the best property managment company to work for because it offers great training, compensation and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine for short term work.
Employee (Current Employee) –  MarylandMay 9, 2016
Your job is plainly stated and for the most part you are held responsible for what you do. Pay is fair and the benefits are great. There are clear issues with management and also there is not much room to grow as managers tend to stay where they are.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Exciting environment to work at
Leasing Professional (Current Employee) –  Takoma Park, MDMay 1, 2016
I enjoy working at Southern Management because it allows me to grow as an individual and within my career. I started as a paid intern and then earned my position I have now. I love working at my community and enjoy the people I work with along with the residents who live where I work. I would recommend anyone who was looking for a career to Southern Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9