SOUTHERN MARYLAND HOSPITAL Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, but flexible schedule
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDJuly 26, 2017
Worked weekend alternative, so schedule was very flexible. Worked with same co-workers so excellent teamwork. The most enjoyable part of the job teamwork and pay. Management was weak in leadership skills.
Pros
flexiblity
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospital outside of DC
RN ICU (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDMay 16, 2017
Friendly staff, and excellent learning environment. No rush to complete their orientation. Flexible scheduling. Twelve hours shifts. Ability to move between departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nooooo
Environmental Services Aide (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MD 20735December 25, 2016
Terrible. It felt like working on a plantation. A lot of the people in HR seemed to be racists in my opinion. The nurses in ICU/CCU are very loving and caring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Candy Striper (Former Employee) –  MarylandJune 14, 2016
My experience at Southern Maryland Hospital was great. I had the opportunity to help the nurses file the patients paperwork and other office duties. I am a people's person so I enjoyed being around others that are in need for help. The most enjoyable part of the job was making sure the nurses had all the correct information in their computers about each patient.
Pros
Meal ticket
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transitions create insecurities among dedicated people with yrs of service
Manager (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDMarch 8, 2016
There is a difference in For-profit and not-for-profit establishments that destroys faith in employment. Excellent effort can go unrewarded and worst; unnoticed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospital
Staff Accountant/Property Manager (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDAugust 15, 2015
Good company to work for. I was there for 10 great years, family operated and very caring. Management is very supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDJune 28, 2015
MY primary function of the Phlebotomist is to obtain patient blood specimens by venipuncture or micro techniques.
I aid in the collection and transportation of other laboratory specimens, and may be involved with patient data entry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone worked as a team and helped one another
STAFF NURSE/CHARGE NURSE (Former Employee) –  7503 SYRRATTS ROAD CLINTON, MD 20735April 16, 2015
It was busy with periods of calm. The staff was friendly and professional. i learned that with caring patients respond well.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere.
Cons
Sometimes no breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely productive environment
License Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDAugust 17, 2014
Hands-on experience, productive and enjoyable. The co-workers were very positive and team oriented.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDApril 30, 2014
overall enjoyable place to work
work load is normal
management is overall fair
hardest part of the job is loosing a patient
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free Food
Custodial Worker (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDMarch 17, 2014
Cleaned hospital patients rooms, baths, laboratories, halls, offices and others areas. Wash beds and Mattresses, and remakes bed after dismissal of patients. Distributed laundered articles and linens
Replaced. Disinfect and sterilized equipment and all supplies using germicides and sterilizing
Equipment. With the use of proper procedures for disposing of waste including medically
Contaminated sharps and medically soiled.
Pros
Lunch Breaks
Cons
Not Enoough People
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning place
Clinical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDMarch 6, 2014
My typical day at work starts every shift by making rounds, and assessing my patients. I prioritize my activities for the shift by checking the lab results, patient’s need, and staffing. As the charge nurse, I like to make rounds to address any urgent matters, safety issues and any concerns from patients or staff. It is sometimes difficult trying to address all concerns in a timely manner. The most enjoyable part of my job is working as a team to give the best service to our members. I have learned from experience to always be sensitive to patient’s need and listen to your peers for improvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a busy but pleasant workplace.
Transporter and Laundry (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDSeptember 9, 2013
I learned while working at Southern Md Hosp. This is where I became interested in advancing in the Health Field.

Alot of caring people there, and mostly everyone I spoke to was advancing in school or in their field. Very inspiring.
Pros
Great medical benefits
Cons
Can't say I have any cons, That place is what "it is", A hospital, Not to be taking lightly, I love it, wish I could have lent more of an helping hand, that's why im going to school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about my profession
Staff technologist (Former Employee) –  Clinton MarylandAugust 5, 2013
The most enjoyable thing about my job was working with some of the best nurses in the state.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family environment full of awesome energy and opportunity
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDJuly 22, 2013
Excellent experience as a volunteer to witness different aspects of Southern Maryland Hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and consistant work.
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDJune 24, 2013
I learned several different types of phlebotomy techniques. Loved that it was fast paced and several different type of people. Loved working in a lab and learning to do new things in different locations.
Pros
Fast paced
Cons
Biohazard
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching Facilty
Plebotomist (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MDFebruary 28, 2013
Never a dull moment, Great people to work for and work with. Holiday parties was an event to look forward to. Great facilty.
Pros
eating facility, great
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard and love my team
House Keeping (Former Employee) –  clinton, MDJune 4, 2012
I want to work part time it wasn't so bad and i didnt have kids then
move you in the company fast
Pros
free parking
Cons
love the benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative Staff
CNA (Current Employee) –  Clinton, MDFebruary 10, 2012
Simply not a fun bunch to work with. Alot of rumors started and pass on among emplyees. No team work among each other.
Pros
convenient to southern maryland area, overtime provided
Cons
breaks are rare, cafeteria food is awful, poor parking availability
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SOUTHERN MARYLAND HOSPITAL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

SOUTHERN MARYLAND HOSPITAL Reviews by Location