Southern Methodist University Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 62 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Assistant Tutor Coordinator/Intern (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 5, 2016
-Internship for the Center of the Academic Development of Student-Athletes
-Great learning experience for potential Academic Advisors/Counselors for athletics or Tutor Coordinators
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Program Director (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 17, 2016
SMU is a good place to work, however there is a big imbalance in upper management with a very big gap regarding diversity.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Lack of minority employees in administration and upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my time at SMU. The hype is real
Organic Chemistry Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 6, 2016
I enjoy my time being a TA at SMU. There was a bit of a learning curve adjusting from student to teaching. But the experience was well worth it. I have a new found respect for teachers and the nuances that go into instructing a class.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice School
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 3, 2016
I finished my PhD in this school while working as RA/TA. I'm so happy that got my PhD there compared to other schools in Dallas TX.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment.
research assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 2, 2016
educative, talented, social and well equipped facilities, people and environment enhanced a brighter work .
my Professor was accommodating, easy to work with. I learnt a lot that helped me in my final exam. the difficulty i faced was to get others see the need to get the work done before the deadline in an accurate manner
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self centered enviornent
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 22, 2016
Some people are just so selfish. People "up the Hill" are just so snotty, they only treat people who look who have money nice.
Pros
beautiful campus
Cons
Clocking in and out/ no just compensation for people with advanced degrees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive
Interim Collegiate Recovery Program Director (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 19, 2016
Building Collegiate Recovery on a college campus is tough work. I have 2 very supportive people who open doors for me on campus. I love it here, good pay and excellent benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Master Thesis (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 9, 2016
SMU is really beautiful school. I liked to study there. Management is really good. Work culture is student friendly. Hardest part of the job is to grade student.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 19, 2016
Assisted in teaching Macroeconomics while working toward a Ph.d
in Economics. Graded homework, proctored exams and issued final grades. I choose the wrong school to do my Ph.d I just followed my boyfriend to Dallas and hated it there. I missed the kind of camaraderie I'd had with coworkers at UTA and a job I loved.
Pros
Enjoying Students
Cons
Didn't like working in academia
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Exposure to College Financial Aid Process
Financial Aid IT Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 26, 2016
As a Financial Aid IT Assistant, I am tasked with processing numerous types of queries and queues of paperwork coming in from the current SMU students as well as incoming freshman. I enjoy learning about the process required behind authorizing financial aid as well as working with my supervisors to ensure the operation operates efficiently. I also enjoy the ability to learn different excel functions and features that make the manipulation of data easier.
Pros
Understanding of Financial Aid, Excel Experience
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice ppl to work with
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 11, 2016
Adviser is super nice without pushing, patient and knowledgeable. I've learned a lot in VLSI design-flow, testing field. The hardest part of the job was making good paper with unique thought :)
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work On campus
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 8, 2016
The timings are flexible.The student can study and work as well.
The supervisor is a co-operative.I learned time management skills.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Not applicable
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Amazing
Massage Therapist (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 28, 2016
I love interacting with the students, faculty and alumni. Everyone is extremely friendly. If you don't have a client you are encouraged to walk on the treadmill. I love the positivity to promote wellness.
Pros
Meet amazing people, use of gym
Cons
Accounts Payable is slow to pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
4th year PhD full time student, RA and TA (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 5, 2016
In Southern Methodist University I had the chance to work on several projects in different fields, giving me the opportunity to increase my hands on experience. I found friendly and collaborative people as co-workers. The campus in nice and the employees of all offices are willing to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMU student manager
Student Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 31, 2015
It was a good job; however, it wasn't a career path. They had a good management staff and always took care of their employees. If there was room for moving forward I might have stayed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very helpful
Upward Bound Resident Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 14, 2015
The managers and other staff members are great. Everyone works as a team and gets a long well. We all work together for the better of our scholars.
Pros
pay, trips, free food, helping others
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Environment
Sponsored Projects Intern (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 16, 2015
Data management and entry in a safe and friendly work environment. Expectations were clearly defined and help was always offered.
Pros
Work on Campus
Cons
Limited Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce place
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 3, 2015
Its a univeristy. I worked as a student here. I used to wrk for the professor. Pleasant place to work. I loved it. The management is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive and fun place to work
Running Backs Coach/Special Teams Asst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 29, 2015
The city of Dallas to raise kid, very friendly people, that love there football.. Great educational school. I loved working with the people and most of all the players where great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 21, 2015
Awesome work culture. Encouraging supervisor and senior staff.
Always ready to help and understands employee's concern.
We get to learn the IT setup of the school which always beneficial for future.
Pros
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Methodist University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 62 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Southern Methodist University Reviews by Location