Find companies:
SOUTHERN STATES COOPERATIVE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

SOUTHERN STATES COOPERATIVE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The personnel were great to work with. The only reason I left was the need for fulltime employment.
Credit Manager (Former Employee), Georgetown, KYDecember 5, 2014
I would go back in a heartbeat, if I could have full-time work and full benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excitable with few advancement opportunities
Warehouse and Sales Associate (Former Employee), Monroe, NCAugust 29, 2014
Pros: great starting pay, personable atmosphere
Cons: few advancement opportunities and benefits
Excellent co-workers atmosphere, management is excellent with a few exceptions just above the district manager, the hardest part of the job was the physical labor, while the most enjoyable part was the customers and getting to know them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse worker, store stocker
Warehouse worker (Former Employee), Petersburg, VAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: staying busy
Cons: extreme heat, very heavy merchandise
I loved what I did but no opportunities. Hardest part of job was the heat. Co-workers very nice but some lazy. Boss was great. I already knew how to do most of the duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured Organization
District Manager (Current Employee), Richmond, VAFebruary 4, 2014
Company that values employee opinions and ideas. Open door policies. Encourages training, education and community involvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there.Good coworkers.
SENIOR SALES & MERCHANDISING ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Tarboro, NCNovember 13, 2013
Pros: various daily duties.good benefits.good vacation benefits.
Cons: low pay.understaffed at times.
Enjoyed working there.Good coworkers.Overall good company to work for.The pros outweigh the cons!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work great customers
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Shelbyville, KYSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: helping customers succeed
Cons: not having enough people to do things right
was fairly good place to work. Learned many things about business and new farm practices. Really enjoyed working and meeting the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the pay and the job itself is a good combination. the mangment is a bit shaky and the advancement is almost nill to none
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Orange, VAApril 15, 2013
Pros: good pay and good work hours.
Cons: no raise or promotion, crews can be rough.
good palce for a highschool job but don`t plan on staying for ever. Not a career place. Good pay for a high-school student looking for money but you will not advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would have liked to work there longer.
Clerk (Former Employee), Roxboro, NCMarch 16, 2013
Pros: they always gave us a birthday cake on our birthday
Cons: had to be on your feet all day
Enjoyed working there because of the customers and co-workers.
You stayed busy and the store was a clean and nice place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good company to work for
Lead Associate (Former Employee), Cloverdale, VAMarch 14, 2013
A very good company to work for.Very hard job with a lot heavy lifting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Creative Services Marketing Intern (Former Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 23, 2012
Large enough company to have a career opportunity, but not too large so you are only a number.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong relationships with long commutes
Dealer Sales Manager (Current Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 12, 2012
Pros: company car, phone, and laptop.
Cons: many hours driving
Travel to dealers and visit prospective dealers in the assigned territory. I build strong relationships with my accounts through selling timely products and helping with business strategy. However, I spend the majority of my day commuting from location to location. I enjoy working with people at stores, however the long hours on road are difficult. – more... My co-workers and managers are great to work with, even though I do not see them often. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong relationships with long commutes
Dealer Sales Manager (Current Employee), Richmond, VAAugust 12, 2012
Pros: company car, phone, and laptop.
Cons: many hours driving
Travel to dealers and visit prospective dealers in the assigned territory. I build strong relationships with my accounts through selling timely products and helping with business strategy. However, I spend the majority of my day commuting from location to location. I enjoy working with people at stores, however the long hours on road are difficult. – more... My co-workers and managers are great to work with, even though I do not see them often. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great environment
Head of Warehouse (Current Employee), Philippi, WVMarch 9, 2012
Pros: easy work, not stressfull
Cons: low pay, slow advancment
For 88 years, Southern States has been a trusted partner for small farmers and producers in the agricultural industry. Whether you’re looking for a custom blend of feed, guidance on when to apply a crop protectant, or assistance with financing, they can help you secure all the right supplies and services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Danville,VAMarch 1, 2012
This is a great company that demands a high level of work ethic to accomplish everyday tasks. This is because they place a high level of interest in their customers.

About SOUTHERN STATES COOPERATIVE

Founded to provide affordable, high-quality seed for Virginia farmers, Southern States Cooperative has grown into an agricultural – Read more