Southern Tire Mart Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over the road driver (doubles)
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MSApril 4, 2017
. I mostly drove to deliver tires & to pick up tire orders. I had to log my time daily. Interact with different store managers. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with cooperate & local managers.
Pros
GREAT PAY
Cons
ALWAYS ON THE ROAD AWAY FROM HOME
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working here
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, MSMarch 24, 2017
while working here I received an injury to the back that required me to be off work for a year and a half I however received physical therapy and returned to the work force
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Bryan, TXMarch 21, 2017
The owners of this company are great. The company as a whole was a great experience to work for. The customers you meet built long lasting relationships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and always busy
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXFebruary 20, 2017
I was always busy and always finishing tasks that need to be done in a timely manner. It was a fun job even going on service calls and meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a slave job.
Service tech (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 1, 2017
This is not a good company to work for stay away from this company. They don't like blacks the white people chill when blacks are working. I was a hard worker always on time. They let me go for no reason at all. Stay away from this bs compay.
Pros
You get breaks.
Cons
This company will fire you for no reason.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LANovember 14, 2016
Job is fast paced with a lot to learn. Co-workers are easy enough to get along with. Customers can be difficult to handle.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of folks
Retail Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MSOctober 26, 2016
Great company well run and privately owned. Brothers are worth $2billion among their 11 different companies - KLLM & FFE Trucking, Deep Well Drilling Services, Monster Oil Well Services, Southern Insurance, Ford and Chevy Dealerships, Commercial/Retail Tire stores, Hotel, Restaurant, TL Wallace Construction, etc. Unique culture where you either fit or you don't.

No one has a job description and one may be asked to do anything at any time. So, sometimes feels like being pulled in many directions.

Very fair to everyone if you can fit the culture.
Pros
great pay & benefits, genuinely compassionate employers
Cons
unique culture - you either fit or your don't....you'll know within a year.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place and people
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Bryan, TXOctober 5, 2016
Nice work place and people. No home life if yout a tech. And will put you anywhere with no experience and hold you accountable for what u dont know.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work environment
Administrator (Former Employee) –  TexasJuly 11, 2016
It was a good company. I was able to move up quickly and I traveled for business. I was relocated and grew even more in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trans am
TIRE TECH (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 27, 2016
Fleet yard checks on all available equipment, replenishing all materials and tires for further repairs. Service calls on down equipment on the road and on the yard.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tire Technician
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, LAMay 26, 2016
mix concrete is batched and delivered using professional computer monitored batch systems and durable equipment to ensure a quality product arrives on your job site in a safe and timely manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little help.
Shop Manager (Current Employee) –  Vidalia, LAApril 5, 2016
There is no help within the workplace. You have more people sitting around than helping. I run the entire establishment from office work to working on vehicles while others are chit chatting.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No raise
Moblie Service (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 18, 2016
I was here 2.5 Years. Again no tools . Just want some where to work if you ask for tools or brake one they replace it my manager was top my service manager was greedy
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, TXMarch 16, 2016
The management and my co-workers were both pleasant to work with.
A typical work day involved helping customers and making sure I got all my daily tasks done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay/benefits
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MSMarch 9, 2016
The job itself is great. The hours 7 on / 7 off night shift (5 pm - 5 am) is not so great. The week on you have no time for anything but work and sleep. Co - workers are great and we work very well together. This is definitely not a job for someone with a family.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
short breaks, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok just out of high school job
LINE OPERATOR / MAINTENANCE (Former Employee) –  Houston, TxFebruary 15, 2016
This was just a filler position for me until I found something better. Doesn't have great benifits or pay, hours are aweful and you didn't learn much.
Pros
None really
Cons
See review
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing and broadly diverse company - horizontally integrated.
Retail Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MSFebruary 1, 2016
Southern Tire Mart, LLC is a MS based and owned company which has in its portfolio of businesses 12 from which to find your niche'. Most of them are related to transportation, automotive, heavy construction, and oil & gas.

Organizational style is relatively flat without layers of management, so decisions are made quickly. Company moves at a quick pace.

Ownership is compassionate and has developed a uniquely loyal and tenured workforce uncommon in these industries.

Owners are involved in most every aspect of most operations on a daily basis.
Pros
compensation, ownership/mgt accessible, growth, high employee retention
Cons
One's skills and experience may be unparalleled yet not fit the STM culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont work thier
mechanic (Former Employee) –  houston texasDecember 2, 2015
bad place to work, threaten Employees . they only care about MONEY. work trucks . were Junk old smelled, didn't not stock vehicle with needed supplies. bought CHEAP bolts connector's. over broken , old cellphones cheats to
Pros
none
Cons
the whole place
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and produce quality work
Driver/ Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 24, 2015
Grab my customer orders; back my truck up to the loading dock and load up the customer tires onto my truck. I've learned how to work under pressure; work with pretty good management; get along with all my coworkers; my job is not hard at all but I do get to meet different people working at my job
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, growing company
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 19, 2015
Fast paced workplace with great employees. Management was nice & accountable.
Best part of working there was being a part of a great team. Once corporate decided to layoff and make changes it got really difficult to handle daily tasks. Over all though I liked my job, the duties that came with it and the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Tire Mart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3