Find companies:
Southern Wine & Spirits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
126 reviews

Southern Wine & Spirits Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Business Intelligence Programmer (Current Employee), Miramar, FloridaJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: great people to work with.great lunch every now and then.
Cons: no vacation until going into 2nd year of full time employement
Great company to work for. Management is awesome. Medical Coverage is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General administrative duties
Administrative Clerk to Managing Director (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: free lunches at a variety of restaurants
Cons: short breaks
Assisted the head administrative assistant and back up to the president's assistant as needed for a beverage distributor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Sales Job
Sales Consultant (Current Employee), Bangor, MEJanuary 18, 2014
Fun sales job. Looking to advance to make or exceed my own personal financial goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!!
Picker/ Raise Lift-Operator - Seasonal (Former Employee), Union City, CAJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: the pay was great for seasonal work.
Cons: seasonal unless you can get on full-time.
A typical day: operated a cherry picker (Raise Lift) with a pick list monitor and drove to three different warehouses picking various wines & liquors at different locations. Scanned the location with an RF gun to confirm the pick & scanned the location to confirm the put away.
What I learned is you have to be comfortable of heights to do this kind of – more... work.
The management team was very patient during my learning progress. As long as I picked and put away my orders in a timely manner.
The hardest part of the job is that its a very fast pace environment and can take a toll on your body if your not use to lifting 20 to 30lbs repetitively.
My most enjoyable part of my job was working with my co-workers. I Made new friends and everyone was so helpful. Best job and experience I ever had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough working environment, but it had it's perks
Graphics Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: don't get the appreciation you felt deserving of.
I worked 11 years with Southern Wine and Spirits. I learned a lot in a business that sells spirits to different territories. The responsibilities of the sales staff to get out and get the most orders and the management to make sure that sales are done to meet quotas.

I ran reports, monthly, bi-monthly and yearly. Help make arrangements for events with – more... customers and suppliers.

My last two years, I transfered to the Graphics department to get a little more experience. I helped the sales department to determined what was needed for their customers as far as menu design and or banners for events. Then all the jobs got an assigned number and cost out for what was needed. It was also my responsibilty to see if the Suppliers would help with the costs and most times they would take care of it.

Hardest part was when my ailing husband passed away and I couldn't focus on my job any longer and felt that I needed to get away.

The most enjoyable part were the events and seeing hard work paying off with satified customers and suppliers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Key Account Management
Sake Specialist, Southern Wine and Spirits (Current Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 15, 2014
Key account management for the state. And training for all state sws personal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive environment.
Business Intelligence Supervisor (Former Employee), Miramar, FLJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: very competitive benefits
Cons: must be a self started and ambitious to get ahead.
Well rounded IT services company. Both professional and fun people make it worth a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
order selector
Order Selector (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 6, 2014
I pulled liquor from warehouse using a cherry picker and filled the singles racks for the shippers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boys Club
Sales Consultant / Account Representative (Former Employee), IllinosJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: health ins
Cons: boys club they put woman into bars because of the way they look!!
If your in you could be there a long time and if you are not in the boys club and the first sign of gray hair .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Customer Assistance (Current Employee), Syosset, NYDecember 25, 2013
Pros: benefits, job security
Cons: no advancement, dead end job
I've been with Southern for a while now and I must say that I have learned a lot throughout the years. Every day is very fast paced, and multi-tasking is a must!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The ability to move up if the desire to do so is presented.
Territory Manager (Former Employee), Reno, NVDecember 16, 2013
I started off as merchandiser and through years of dedicated service I was able to obtain one of the top territories in the nation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, and comfortable workplace, a team who is willing to help and train others
Accounts Payable Analyst (Former Employee), Miramar, FLDecember 11, 2013
Pros: multi training, great oppurtunities to move up in the company, great team to work with, great benefits
Cons: bad new management
My typical day at work was to process daily invoices, a maximum number of 240 or more invoices a day. I also processed expense reports daily for employees as well. I worked in emails processing higher demand invoices, wires, check requests, and benefits check requests on Microsoft excel to be uploaded into the SAP software. I have learned more about – more... Microsoft excel over the years, which included GSLU uploads from other divisions via email, I have learned how to audit invoices for payments, wire payments and check cuts, also I have learned the importance of quality instead of quantity which leaded me to always prepost audit before paying the employees and vendors, and importantly I have learned to research issues that needed to be resolved to avoid errors or make error payment. Management was always good and there when we needed them however they never stayed for too long. We recently got a new management and he has been trying to make positive changes in the department in which I see the progression of these changes but he has not developed proper communication skills with his team which has caused me to resign. The hardest part of the job was the new management. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting my daily goals, which were processing high numbers of invoices, responding to other divisions and getting payments processed in a timely manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Order Puller/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Columbia, SCDecember 9, 2013
Fast paced, multi-tasking. Great company to work for. Advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Account Manager/Sales Representative (Former Employee), Tampa, FloridaDecember 3, 2013
Pros: attending major events
Cons: long days
Must be on your game and good at what you do, with over 40,000 SKU's you must keep in tune with the industry. Education on wine and liquor. Management is educated in the business and products. Co-workers were friendly and sociable as well as easy to work with. Hardest part of the job is staying one step ahead of your competition. Learning about new – more... products and being educated on existing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sws
Human Resources, recruiter (Former Employee), NYNovember 24, 2013
Unstable at the time. Needed solid management in place. Much better now a days
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Assistant
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Union City, CANovember 21, 2013
Provided executive administrative support to the Vice President of American Wine and Spirit Division
• Scheduled customer, vendor, supplier and divisional meetings.
• Coordinated travel arrangements, and onsite/offsite meeting/events.
• Composed memorandums, letters, and documentations.
• Created presentations, and business reviews for executive meetings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great entry-level job to get B-2-B experience.
Chain Sales Representative (Former Employee), Fresno, CANovember 19, 2013
Pros: good b2b experience, suppliers offer incentives to motivate you to sell their brands, great products to represent.
Cons: a lot of physical work, little pay, long hours, .
You start your day as early as 6am and can finish as late as midnight on some days. It's mostly merchandising your displays in the supermarkets in your territory. A lot of physical exertion, not for the feint of heart. The base pay is very low, but you can make up for it with the incentives that the suppliers offer. Co-workers are your biggest competitors – more... and a good manager can make or break you. Very hard to advance into broad market sales from this position. You would have to brown nose one of the branch managers for years before they give you a shot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee), Syosset, NYNovember 18, 2013
Organizing and processing customer orders on night shift making sure that all truck departure timelines are met.
• Operated material handling equipment as necessary.
• Responsible for routine picking, receiving, shipping and packing functions.
• Loaded and arranged pallets into trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Merchandiser (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 11, 2013
the managers are cool i enjoyed working for southern nice place to grow but it seems like you have to know people in the company in order to move up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding
Executive Admin/Account Manager (Current Employee), New MexicoOctober 29, 2013
Pros: fast paced, great pay and benefits
Cons: poor management skills
I currently like my postion. It is a cut throat industry, very fast paced and always striving fro excellence.

About Southern Wine & Spirits

Southern Wine & Spirits of America, fueled by alcohol, dominates nationwide. The company is one of the largest distributors of – Read more

Southern Wine & Spirits Photos