Southland Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Clerk, Assistant MGR, Manager (Former Employee) –  All different stores, ILSeptember 27, 2017
I had a good time working as a clerk, Assistant Manager, and Manager. We always had a good crew to work with. It was fun, yet very fast paced. It made the day fly buy.
Pros
Fun place to work, fast paced, challanging.
Cons
No breaks, no health insurance, no guarentee you wouldn't work a 24 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rude
Valet Attendant (Former Employee) –  Marion, ARJanuary 29, 2017
i liked where i worked at but i just could not stand the people. I am a very good employ and always do as i am told, there was no reason for them to be as rude to me as they where.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The region I worked for was not good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 30, 2016
There was always work to be done. There was no breaks at my locations. Towards the end of my employment, there was corruption in my management. I found payroll fraud being done and I whistle blew it and had retaliation by them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 12, 2016
Great place to work for. the company offers a great benefits package. They offer dental,medical and life insurance. The company also offers a 401 K plan as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved New Challenges daily
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burleson, TXFebruary 11, 2016
You never know who will walk into your store but its always a joy to see how you can help them. I liked meeting new challenges everyday for new people. I loved seeing return customers come back because of the positive experience i helped deliver.
Cons
some people can really be messy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SouthLand
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  West Virginia (WV)February 5, 2016
I enjoyed working for Southland Corporation. It was a fast paced environment which I enjoyed. I decided to leave company back in the mid 1990's due to compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only Clerk on Duty at night
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fenton, MOJanuary 24, 2016
Ran cash register, stocked shelves and cooler, swept inside and outside areas, pulled merchandise to front of shelves, baked cookies and made coffee. The only clerk on duty from 11:00 PM to 7:00 AM.
Learned how to move a long line of customers with their purchases and how to do inventory for receiving, ordering, and stocking merchandise.
We had a very good staff.
It was hard to always catch people running off without paying for gas or beer.
Getting people out of the store in a short amount of time.
Management could have been better with assigning the proper staff.
Pros
I enjoyed the gummy snakes and co-workers
Cons
The store location was too far from where I lived
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 15, 2016
I worked the swing shift by myself. You have to be a multi- tasker. And I am. Worked the register, customer service skills a must. Inventory store, stock shelves, clean store.
Pros
Workplace was nice because I loved my customers.
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meeting the public
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LANovember 18, 2015
This job was worked over 30 years ago. It was a typical day at 7-11
to do paperwork and wait on customers. To stock, keep store in order. Paper work included gasoline report, cashier report, ordering
products, and helping with monthly inventory. Did account receivable for store and vendors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Gardener (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCNovember 3, 2015
laid back and you work at your own pace. theres really no hard parts of the job. the management were great to work for I'd work for them if they'd asked me to come back
Pros
hour lunches, off on weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with the public
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Charles Town, WVOctober 19, 2015
fun place to work with supportive management. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the public. There was a lot of variety in what I did each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
cashier .sales clerk . asst manager .. manager .. (Former Employee) –  SANFORD FLORIDASeptember 29, 2015
to repert to work ready to work .. I learned a lot about people
and i also learned how the conveinance store experience worked
I met so many new people ..the hardest part of my job was fear of getting robed .. the most important part of my job was getting to make people smile
Pros
nice bosses and I was able to work a set schedule
Cons
benefits left after the stores in florida went franchise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2012 Best franchise Business at consumer report.
Owner and Manager (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEAugust 12, 2015
Being a business owner every day is count as a good day start.

learn the best practice franchise system to operate 24/7 .

Most co-workers stay with our team 6 to 7 years.was a

great team player.

Hardest part of the job is manage inventory.

interacting with the customers and superior service.
Pros
increase sales
Cons
robbery
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
District Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  CTAugust 8, 2015
Great place to work and learn. A lot of opportunity to advance and train. Happy to have worked there.

---------- ------- ------- --- ---- --- --- --------------- -----
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
supervisor (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAJune 22, 2015
southland was a outstanding company with many benefits and room for advancement over the years i was able to move up the ladder to a supervisor where i was in charge of a few crews
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was apretty good company to work for
Receptionist, Accounting, Training Secretary (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City UtahMay 11, 2015
I have not worked for Southland Corporation since 1987. At that time it was a good company to work for. There were some questionable things that went on.
Pros
A variety of jobs to learn
Cons
Some questionable things went on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repeat of customers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TexasMarch 17, 2015
In a typical day it was great to see repeated customers come back day after day. I have a very out-going attitude and I'm very friendly.
Pros
happy children with snacks, drinks, slurpees
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Accountant Clerk (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIMarch 10, 2015
Completed EOM closings in a timely fashion. A typical work day included balancing A/P reports. My co-workers were easy to get along with.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 26, 2015
learned how to cook and grow as a person. everyone should take basic training just to know how you are as a person. the best choice I ever did in my life
Pros
learning life
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gas Station
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLFebruary 2, 2015
I loved my time with 7-11 I will always remember my customers and enjoyed going to work everyday. I loved interacting with everyone and would love to go back anytime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 73 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
3.7