Southland Employee Reviews

Found 54 reviews matching the searchSee all 59 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2012 Best franchise Business at consumer report.
Owner and Manager (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEAugust 12, 2015
Being a business owner every day is count as a good day start.

learn the best practice franchise system to operate 24/7 .

Most co-workers stay with our team 6 to 7 years.was a

great team player.

Hardest part of the job is manage inventory.

interacting with the customers and superior service.
Pros
increase sales
Cons
robbery
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
District Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  CTAugust 8, 2015
Great place to work and learn. A lot of opportunity to advance and train. Happy to have worked there.

---------- ------- ------- --- ---- --- --- --------------- -----
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
supervisor (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAJune 22, 2015
southland was a outstanding company with many benefits and room for advancement over the years i was able to move up the ladder to a supervisor where i was in charge of a few crews
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was apretty good company to work for
Receptionist, Accounting, Training Secretary (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City UtahMay 11, 2015
I have not worked for Southland Corporation since 1987. At that time it was a good company to work for. There were some questionable things that went on.
Pros
A variety of jobs to learn
Cons
Some questionable things went on
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repeat of customers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TexasMarch 17, 2015
In a typical day it was great to see repeated customers come back day after day. I have a very out-going attitude and I'm very friendly.
Pros
happy children with snacks, drinks, slurpees
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamwork
Accountant Clerk (Former Employee) –  Livonia, MIMarch 10, 2015
Completed EOM closings in a timely fashion. A typical work day included balancing A/P reports. My co-workers were easy to get along with.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 26, 2015
learned how to cook and grow as a person. everyone should take basic training just to know how you are as a person. the best choice I ever did in my life
Pros
learning life
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gas Station
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLFebruary 2, 2015
I loved my time with 7-11 I will always remember my customers and enjoyed going to work everyday. I loved interacting with everyone and would love to go back anytime.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough company to work for
District Manager (Current Employee) –  VA, MD, DCJanuary 19, 2015
-They have an OK benefits package that you are eligible for after 1 yr. of service. 401K, company car, laptop, etc.
- Once you negotiate salary, the annual increases are a joke. They lure you in with bonus potentials but year after year they increase metrics and make it more difficult to obtain. Your budget determines your bonuses and they are almost impossible to meet, even if you are a strong performer yielding double digit increases. When you do finally make bonus, you realize that they give you pennies compared to the millions you make them.
- Management doesn't care about you, your family, your needs, and wont respect your time off, including vacation.
- Vacation allotment is not great. 2 weeks until you work there for 5+ years. They wont negotiate this either.
- Poor company culture with high turnover at DM position and above.
- Franchisees hate 7-Eleven and it's a constant battle to get them to perform. Company does a terrible job at screening the franchisees and you get stuck with all of the operational issues and overall lack of performance.
- You have limited support in your role and you are the primary contact for both HQ and Franchisees. Everything goes through you, EVERYTHING.
Pros
company car
Cons
work life balance/ lack of advancement/ salary/ culture
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See previous Southland employment history
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, VAJanuary 19, 2015
See previous Southland employment history nothing else can really be said on the subject
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, but terrible management staff
CSR (Former Employee) –  DallasJanuary 12, 2015
Learned Oracle temporarily, did all data entry. Left this company because of management that wouldn't follow their own rules.
Pros
wonderful offices
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workig with the public
Manager (Former Employee) –  south side of ChicagoDecember 15, 2014
Managing a 7-eleven store was an experience i will never forget. The
customers during the daytime hours were great. At night time it was a total different animal.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy place to make me happy everyday.
Manager/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CANovember 28, 2014
Talk with the peaple and create nes sales for the store.
Improve productivity and eliminate extra overhead.
try to make the customer happy when they leave the
store.
Pros
customer satisfaction to make me happy.
Cons
working 12 hours a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Port Orange, FLOctober 13, 2014
Excellent place to work, was placed as a manager of the business and ran the company for the owners.
Pros
overall great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
customer service (Former Employee) –  Lakeside, CAOctober 13, 2014
I was working customer service for a 7-11 store. I exchanged monies, received stock, took inventory, and managed the store during mid-nite shifts.
Pros
working with public
Cons
lack of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience - allow me to start in the professional business
Accounting Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRSeptember 27, 2014
Challenge to manage ethical issues, but great opportunity to learn and demonstrate capabilities to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great place to work, the clients were very pleasant.
Various Temporary Assignments (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 26, 2014
Answer phones, input personal & coprarate Tax Returns, input employee timesheets & expenses. I learned how to multi-task on a daily basis. The management was very professional, yet flexible. My coworkers all came from different areas of the Metroplitan area, which allotted me a vast knowledge of the surounding areas. The hardest part of the job was being bonded from October to April for tax season. The most enjoyable part of the job was the End of Tax Season Celebration, everyone was able to relax and enjoy all of our efforts throughout the official Tax Season.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly enviornment
Cook/Dietary aid (Current Employee) –  Peachtree city GAAugust 4, 2014
Wonderful place.
Awesome typically day
I have learned to be the best me I can be
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworkers Only
Senior Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Suwanee, GAJuly 30, 2014
Typical week involves working 14 hour days with long driving requirements and delivery of merchandise.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place tp learn the basics of cash handling and customer service.
Cashier/ Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSJune 20, 2014
I provided great customer service. I learned all aspects of auditing cash drawers and resolving discrepancies. I learned all aspects of bookkeeping including Ap and ar. I love working with the public and meeting new people. The hardest part of the job was the required hours i.e. nights, weekends, and holidays.
Pros
it was a wonderful learning experience.
Cons
nights weekends and holidays that are required.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 1

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 59 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture