Southwest Airlines Employee Reviews

Found 655 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Career
Flight Attendant (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 18, 2017
Being a flight attendant is always changing. Everyday is a new adventure with the ability to make new friends with your new crew. You get to see cities you wouldn't have normally seen on your own and sometimes have a whole day to go exploring either on your own or with your crew/new friends.
Pros
Free Travel
Cons
Not a lot of sleep
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people. poor environment
Operations Agent (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 16, 2017
They seem to do things the hard way. Good perks and 401K but you have to work for them a long time to be in the good pay bracket. Poor supervisors and average managers.
Pros
free flights
Cons
long hours, poor uniforms.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, lots of mandatory overtime
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 16, 2017
Seniority based job and schedule take a toll on any life / work balance...I had no life outside this job while i worked for them. And harrassment is prevalant.
Pros
nice hardworking people, company supports decisions
Cons
no life outside work for low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard play hard !
Ground Operations supervisor (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 16, 2017
Great Company to work for . Amazing benefits and fun culture. If you like to travel this is the job for you. How ever you will work long hours sometimes 16-27 hrs in a day if the weather is bad. also your schedule is always changing and one month you might work early mornings then the next late nights. Great company if you can go with the flow.
Pros
Great medical and travel benefits .
Cons
Long shifts heavy lifting and a big commute to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked outside in a fast paced atmosphere
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 14, 2017
I have always been really interested in aviation and it was exciting to get to work at an airport. I got to work with a lot of interesting people and even travel.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Operations agent (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 11, 2017
all of the employees are very respectful, nice, and helpful. its a great place to work if you're looking for a fun and friendly environment. training is done well.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company with great pay and benefits
Boeing 737 Captain (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 9, 2017
Great company with a great working culture. Outstanding business plan with a solid future. Ability to move laterally within the company to multiple location in the continental US, Caribbean, Central and South America.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 7, 2017
This is absolutely the best job around. I have no complaints about this job. It's family oriented, loving, caring, also room for growth and improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful company
CSA (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 3, 2017
I love working for SWA!!! I work as a part time CSA and it has been a wonderful experience. The only difficulty that I've experienced is trying to move into a professional role in the Corporate Office. Other than that; if you love to travel, SWALIFE is it!!!
Pros
Free flight benefits and a day off for perfect attendance
Cons
Advancement opps
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
java developer
Java Developer (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 3, 2017
It's a comprehensive ecommerce application aimed at providing secure twenty-four hour online Banking
support. The application primarily consists of modules that provide a consolidated statement of all your UBS
accounts and loan activity, and also used to see which checks have cleared, or review the complete transaction
history of any of your accounts, provide functionality for fund transfer between accounts with UBS Online
banking and provide support for all the other UBS products & services like checking accounts, saving accounts,
installment loans, overdraft protection.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place too work at
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 1, 2017
If you have seen any of the commercials for Southwest,then you can imagine what it's like too work there. The benefits are great, the people are friendly and very caring.
Pros
Free flights and other great benefits
Cons
Flying standby
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
CS&S Customer Support Services (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 28, 2017
SouthWest Airlines is an ecellencent company to work for.
They give and show their great heart and hospitality to their employees and customers.

They offer different shifts to their employees.

Co workers are the BEST to work with.
Great union team
Pros
Excellent benifits
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of understanding of techlogy by leadership
Technical Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 22, 2017
Age old technology makes employee life difficult to work and support needs of SWA. Reservation and revenue system is very completed and need to upgrade to future technology
Pros
Free fly benefits for employee
Cons
hectic work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be employed at
Ramp Agent (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 17, 2017
The job isn't to difficult, requires conditioning and awareness of your environment. Great work environment, great employees, along with all the benefits and time off you can ask for.
Thanks for the opportunity.
Pros
Free flights, meals, clothing, equipment, and PPV
Cons
Loud, hot or wet
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Southwest- employees are hihly valued
Sr. Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 17, 2017
The company is extremely fun.
I have leant team building here, co-worker are encouraging.
Sometimes the scope of the projects are unclear and always had challenges to figure out the next steps.
Pros
WORK CULTURE
Cons
LONG HOURS
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Flight Simulator Technician (Former Employee) –  Love FieldFebruary 13, 2017
Southwest is a great place to work. The people are great and they are getting a new training center. I would certainly reccommend this place to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace
Project Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 12, 2017
Efficient and challenging. Great place to groom yourself to be a successful professional. Very good training techniques.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLFebruary 10, 2017
I always enjoyed my job at SW. I had fun and learned a lot. Many employees are dedicated to their core in the success of SW.

Management attitudes changed over my tenure with them. From a friendly business to one of just there for profits.

While the vast majority of employees are some of the best people I have ever known, there are those select few in positions of authority that work counter-productive to that success ethic.

SW is ultimately a superior company and anyone would love the time they spend working. It can be hard work, but its satisfying work too.
Pros
All most Everything
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Airline Headquarters
Flight Following Agent II (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 8, 2017
If you like traveling and experiencing all that America has to offer (or even the world) then get yourself in the employ of an airline.

Southwest is an awesome employer with many, MANY career opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brief Interactions
Stratmar Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 8, 2017
I worked for StratMar promoting the Southwest Airlines credit card in Midway Airport. I enjoyed working in the airport. Although I did not work for Southwest Airlines directly, I interacted with a lot of people who did work for Southwest Airlines. I always looked forward to my short conversations with people from Southwest Airlines as they walked past my kiosk.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southwest Airlines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 658 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
3.9
Culture
4.4