Southwest Airlines Employee Reviews

Found 444 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anywhere but Las Vegas...
Ramp Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Las VegasSeptember 26, 2014
Southwest Airlines has a history of being a fantastic employer; and in many ways they are. Imperfect, yes; but corporately their "heart" is in the right place. If the requisition for Ramp Supervisor was anywhere but LAS, I would not hesitate to recommend you submit your resume'. But not in LAS... Sadly, entrenched management - and far too many "mid-level managers" striving to justify their existence; has resulted in a 'management mess' that the ramp supervisors have to deal with daily. The managers have little or no understanding of ramp operations, the few who have worked the ramp did so, so many years ago, as to make their experience more detrimental than beneficial. That, in combination with 'CYA'; makes the job much more difficult than is necessary. They will pay lip service to their supervisors-but not listen to suggestions to improve the operation. They are 'stuck' where they are in their own career, and thus have little or no interest in furthering yours. Much like the saying..."at the end of your rope? tie a knot and hang on." The recent merger with AirTran has made many feel either threatened or proud (for the wrong reasons) and the 'blending' of the companies is hostile at best, in LAS, BWI, MDW, and ATL. That, in combination with a unionized workforce that has not been able to sign a new contract (still in negotiation...) since 2010 or '11; has put the non-union ramp supervisors in the role as "bumpers" between the ramp and management; and thus usually "hung out to dry". You will get little or no back up from your managers, there are probably only 1 or 2 MROs you  more... can actually trust. The other supervisors will have your back unless it means risking theirs, then it is (understandably) every man for himself. I have been in passenger aviation for over three decades, after leaving Southwest, I am now in a management position with Alaska Airlines; where - thankfully - my experience and knowledge is viewed as an asset and not a 'threat'. If you can get hired by Southwest, and then asap transfer to another station; go for it. If you have to stay in Las Vegas; start using your experience to go to another carrier... I have many friends still on the ramp in LAS, and it is heartbreaking that they feel 'trapped'.  less
Pros
travel, great corporate mentality, insurance...
Cons
las management team, low morale, unnecessary infighting after the merger
Was this review helpful?Yes38No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many unhappy, afraid to speak up
CCR (Current Employee) –  CS & S PhoenixMarch 15, 2014
A typical day at work includes making, changing, and cancelling reservations for Corporate Customers, Travel Agents and the General Public, and putting up with numerous Team Leaders who will walk the floors and "listen" for mistakes, like a "witch hunt" or something. They don't layoff per say, but will follow the process to get you out, and if you go to another department or to inflight (like many have) and don't make it thru, they will NOT TAKE YOU BACK, unless you are a favorite. I know 1st hand of jobs that were "found" @ LGA, BUR, LAS, and DAL to name a few places for some of those that were not able to "cut the mustard" of their new position so to speak.I learned that they do have their "favorites" even if your score card is pretty much perfect, they will find ways to get rid of you, or make your life miserable. Co Workers are great, lots of Happy Hours, trips to SeaWorld, Disney, etc... , even though we have lost about 20 on my team since 3rd quarter 2013, from walkouts, firings or forced "retirements". The hardest part of the job is trying to figure out what the various Team Leaders want, and which ones you can "trust", as there is so much inconsistency. Southwest refuses to charge for bags and changes which is great, but their NEED for extra revenue is HIGH, and they have us soliciting for the Chase Visa, Early Bird Check In's, Business Select tickets, Rental Cars and Hotels. Chase, Hotels and Rental Cars pay Southwest a commission for each one that is booked. Employees do not receive a commission, but if you miss it on a call, they let you know about it The most enjoyable  more... part of the job of course is being able to be "yourself" when helping someone in need whether thru humor, seriousness or sympathy depending on why they are traveling, such as a funeral, sporting event, wedding, graduation, family reunion, vacation, etc...  less
Pros
easy to get trades and time off in advance. free flights on southwest for spouses, partners, kids, and parents. great insurance, and up to 16 "buddy passes" per year for friends and other relatives.
Cons
low pay, the "pressure" to be 100%, when no one is perfect. incosistency among team leaders and center support leaders. weak union, no backing, and no one to really talk to except among ourselves
Was this review helpful?Yes25No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company like no other
Customer service rep (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 25, 2012
This place is harder to get into than Harvard, statistically speaking. Whenever they have openings, they are open only for a short amount of time. If you are just looking for a job, have a bad attitude and are generally lazy, move along you won't get hired because it is very competitive. The company culture is great, it is just like family when you go to work. The co-workers are great and so is management.

The thing I always like hearing is when the customers tell me how much they love Southwest and that we are above and beyond other airlines. Our customers are very loyal. Southwest puts the employee first because without happy employees, you cannot have this kind of culture and this level of customer service.

The benefits package is great and the outlook is great as this company promotes from within and there are tremendous amounts of opportunities to fly to headquarters and attend free training such as the management program. The CEO is a humble man and is very hands on. Being a customer service rep is very challenging and stressful as you must learn an exorbitant amount of information but it is rewarding at the end of the day.

You fly to Dallas and stay a few days to attend orientation which is AWESOME POSSUM and very fun. Southwest cares mostly about your personality and what type of person you are. They can tell if you are one of those people who only acts friendly in the interview but have the worst attitude while on the job.

Employees are known to go way above and beyond for customers and always represent the company with a warrior spirit. This may sound kind of cheesy
  more... but this company means what they say and there are times when things seem unreal in the beginning because everyone is so nice and it stays that way. Yes, you do get to fly for free when you work here.

Do your research if you are lucky enough to get an interview.
  less
Pros
company culture, co-workers, benefits, growth, representing a product you can be passionate about
Cons
stressful situations with customers at times, need to retain and learn a great deal of info, but this is good if you like a challenge
Was this review helpful?Yes15No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Travel Benefits you can't use. No true time off.
Operations Agent (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 25, 2015
You will not be able to use your flight benefits the first 6months as you WILL be scheduled to work mandatory overtime on your days off. This is a stressful environment because There are never enough employees to cover the demand therefore, new employees are forced to work mandatory odd shifts.(in addition to scheduled shift) There is no consideration for you or your family if you need time off, even if things were planned months in advance. (Wedding, vacations, therapy, etc) You are required to report to work sick or injured or you risk being fired. You can trade shifts with another employee but that shift will often be extended. You will be tapped on the shoulder an hour before you leave and told your shift is extended 2 or 3 hours. The "Luv Culture" is a joke. While the environment is fun loving for the most part, The majority of the Veteran employees will NOT bend over backwards to help the new employees. They are often out of uniform and have nasty attitudes. THE manager does not exude the fun loving attitude that is expected and is rarely available. Your concerns are unheard. So, don't bother expressing them. The supervisors are better to work with but there are so many that rotate shifts from different areas, its difficult to get to know their style of supervision. There is alot of turn over.Just giving you the true experience of working for Southwest. If you can deal with the above, go for it. If you have a family, think long and hard about the sacrifice.
Pros
Training, Flight Benefits, Health Benefits for full-time employees, Theme days and employee recognition events.
Cons
Mandatory Overtime on your scheduled day off, Pay, little support from supervisors and managers, Veteran employees, health benefits for part-time employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes46No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General overview
Director - Data, Security & Tools - Technology (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 21, 2014
Responsible for providing leadership and strategic direction for six distinct work groups including Security, Compliance, Database Administration, Enterprise Insights Platforms and Software Configuration and Release Management.

• Responsible for a Team of 125 individuals and a $41M budget. Grew original Team from 80 members to current staffing levels to support new projects and expanded breadth of responsibilities. Required multiple presentations to CIO, CTO and Board of Directors to gain visibility into unsupported business needs in order to justify additional annual spend requests.
• Achieved Payment Card Industry (PCI) certification three consecutive years (2010, 2011 and 2012). 2010 marked the first year of PCI compliance for Southwest Airlines as a tier-1 merchant. Currently pursuing fourth year of maintaining this compliance certification.
• Developed and implemented a Program Management Office (PMO) to track and report the overall status and health of key departmental projects. Program is currently being adopted and expanded to benefit all of Information Technology.
• Achieved an increase of $15M in budget responsibility in 2012 alone to undertake and oversee the inaugural strategic security efforts for Enterprise Tokenization, Public Key Infrastructure (PKI), Security Information and Event Management (SIEM), Next Generation Identity Management and Secure Software Development Lifecycle.
• Responsible for successful negotiations of an unlimited license agreement with Oracle as well as Teradata upgrade (HW/SW) which helped Southwest Airlines realize multi-million dollar
  more... cost savings over the term of the agreements.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
SAP FICO Functional Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 14, 2013
• Worked with SMEs in gathering business and functional requirements through user workshops, gap analysis, and preparing blue prints for AS-IS and TO-BE process systems.
• Configured and customized new company codes, New General ledger functionality- created master records, configured number ranges and G/L accounts for company codes. Also defined and configured Charts of Accounts, Account groups, Field status Variant, Fiscal year variant, and intercompany G/L accounts and revenue accounts.
• In A/P, configured Vendor Down payment, Installment payment, Automatic payment program, Check management, and recurring entries.
• Working on customer/vendor master records, tolerance limits per business requirement for over payments and under payments, set up the reason codes and in open item management in customer accounts.
• Integrating FI with SD and MM, providing configuration support in SD, MM integration for account determination, material movement setup, and inter-company billing.
• Worked with SD consultant to implement time related revenue recognition.
• Creating primary and secondary cost elements, created cost element groups and assigning number ranges to groups. Configuring automatic and manual cost element creation.
• Creating cost center standard hierarchy, configuring the Reconciliation Ledgers, activity types and statistical key figures.
• Accountable for running test cycles under Distribution and Assessment for every month end operations and resolving uploaded error logs.
• Defined Profitability segments, user defined characteristics and value fields.
• Provided training
  more... to end users and post production support for the Go-Live system.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard...play harder
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 16, 2013
Southwest Airlines is famous for their mantra: work hard...play harder. The atmosphere is often festive (seasonal decorations, costume parties, drawings for prizes). They believe in working hard to get the job done. Inbound calls whereby customers are needing assistance with reservations, billing, baggage and airport issues. Several applications available to make sure we have the answer to the customer's questions/needs.

The hardest part of the job is time off flexibility... If you want time off, it's best to pay someone to take your shift, versus taking your vacation or pto... There are penalties for not coming to work. However, if you are one of the more industrious (or just need more money), you can offer to take a shift that someone will trade for cash, vouchers, or others options...it is a bartering society. It's cheap to travel, when seats are available. Benefits for family members makes it possible to visit the many Southwest cities.

I learned that Southwest does take care of their people - I would work for them again. Management is available and willing to listen. Southwest is a union run business and thus, you have some protection against disputes that may arise. Co-workers became family and were a big part of my social life.

The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting people on the phone, and on flights that really appreciated the Southwest Spirit; it made me proud to be part of the Southwest family
Pros
great atmosphere and work ethic
Cons
if you need time off, make sure you can afford it
Was this review helpful?Yes12No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool job working with airplanes
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  BWISeptember 30, 2013
As a ramp agent, a work day could mean day shift, evening shift or double shift.

Usually you have a partner that you flip specific jobs between. You may be the lead, where you would marshall in the plane and make plans on how to pack the plane by weight of packages suitcases and cargo. Your helper will be doing the packing for you and also hooking up all attachments the aircraft needs. The lead will then push the plane out for lift off after all is approved by pilot.

It is not easy to be outside, safety guidelines are important, and weather conditions could vary, air flights change, are early or late sometimes, some cargo can be very heavy and injury can happen easily.

Although there are many hard things to get through and learn like all airport codes and computer system, how to measure weight and pack correctly for next airport, it truly is a neat job. sitting inside the cargo area of a huge 737 is awesome.

Management/supervisors are very helpful and always around. Co-workers are all different. Especially if they have been working there a long time and have there own system of doing things. Some are helpful, some are late, some are hard working and some are just plain rude.
Pros
free flights for you the worker and spouse, 1 set of parents and children that belong to worker, insurance begins day 1 for worker, insurance is blue cross blue shield
Cons
work the most terrible hours, terrible shifts or positions until you put in about 5 years when you finally move up the ladder, you must bid for shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes22No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with even better benefits
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Boston MASeptember 8, 2013
Once clocked you go to your assigned position, whether it is ticketing, gates, or the baggage service office. Your duties and responsibilities would vary based on your assigned position. Some of these being, helping customers with any and all inquiries, announcing gate and flight information, and baggage handling.

There are many things to admire about a such an accomplished company like Southwest Airlines, and also many things to learn. While being employed by Southwest the most valued thing I learned is the true meaning of Customer Service. Being a customer service agent is not just about providing answers and general services to the client. It's also about compassion, hard work, and enthusiasm.

My co-workers were the best. I enjoyed the company of every single one of them.

The hardest part of my job was encountering a problem a simply could not fix, for example getting a customer to their destination during a time of delays and cancellations and there are simply no flights left for the day. While a place to sleep and meal in their bellies helped it was never a solution, it only eased their pain.

There is always another side to the rainbow and I would definitely have to say that my favorite part of my job was making the customer happy. Whether it was from a friendly smile or a free drink coupon, it would make me feel like I was on top of the world.
Pros
free flights
Cons
compensation not sufficient, parking was employee paid and expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving Peanuts is Awesome!
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 25, 2013
* Providing leadership and assuming complete charge of passengers and aircraft cabin management during normal, abnormal and emergency situations while performing onboard flight attendant responsibilities.
* Adhering to all procedures and rules of the Federal Aviation Regulations, Occupational Safety and Health Administration Regulations and Southwest Airlines Manual of Policy, Procedures and Practice.
* Developing and maintaining team communications with crew to ensure all operations are planned and performed with safety as the number one objective.
* Completing reports as needed after any incident involving passengers, medevacs or emergency events.
* Ensuring that all onboard emergency equipment is maintained in a response ready state.
* Protecting any monies collected, while in personal possession.
* Assisting ground support personnel, co-workers and supervisors, providing a harmonious team environment while ensuring safe, efficient, cost-effective transportation across the United States.
* Ensuring the accuracy of all forms and required paperwork.
* Responding to passenger complaints and problems graciously, resourcefully and tactfully.
* Maintaining cleanliness of the aircraft cabin and ensures that fleet service and catering supplies are boarded as specified.
* Accounting and handling of all controlled items. Performing passenger boarding in all locations serviced by the Boeings.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5

Comment – July 12, 2013

Hi, Thank you for the info . My dream is to work as flight attendant with southwest . Can you please tell me what should i do , or how you did to become FA

Want to know more about Southwest Airlines?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, play hard.
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 30, 2015
For the short time that I was with Southwest I always enjoyed myself. Yes the work can be hectic especially during the holidays but overall it was a very enjoyable experience. The people were welcoming and every person that I've interacted since I started working there have nothing but kind to me.

A typical day at work is coming in and working maybe 6 flights for the day if we're lucky and there aren't any gate changes being made. I've gotten the chance to work with some characters who have not only made my work life easier but have also taught me much about my job. It's great because I left there knowing that I can call them my friends. Our managers and supervisors don't have the best time all the time with dealing with a lot of the changes that occur but they do the best with what they have and being a person of military background, that's all we can do most of the time.

The hardest part of the job for me was the distance and not being a part of my family's everyday lives. Even though I worked an hour and some change away from home I felt like I was losing that familial connection because most of my time was spent on the freeway going to work and coming back or just at the airport working.
Pros
meeting new people, travel, being employed, comradery, healthcare, flying benefits for the family
Cons
the distance to and from work
Was this review helpful?Yes30No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and positive work environment with heart
Customer Service and Support (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 17, 2015
My first experience with Southwest Airlines was extraordinary. The
orientation was professional but fun. The main headquarters in Texas
was very impressive. After extensive training with an instructor that
was not only thorough but patient as well, I officially began my career
with Southwest. As a customer service and support agent, I assisted passengers by phone with online bookings, information concerning air travel, provided flight information and reaccomodated passengers when their flights were disrupted, among many other duties. Our employee reviews were quarterly and our supervisors were the best!
They were always available to us and offered constructive ideas to improve my work performance. The most difficult part of the job was not that it was very challenging but could be very monotonous. I missed the face-to-face interaction with customers. The most enjoyable part of the job was, of course, was offering awesome customer service and leaving the caller with a positive experience.
My co workers were always friendly and helpful. Although, some employees just vented about bad experiences they had on the phone, and that could be very annoying.
Pros
Employees and dependents fly free
Cons
Mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes28No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Fun & Relaxed working environment
Sr. Financial Refunds Analyst (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 9, 2015
A typical day at Southwest is relaxed without any dress code. You are given daily, monthly & quarterly assignments that are to be completed in a timely manner. Some assignments are more time consuming than others but thats where good personal time management comes into place.

I learned the importance of planning for the future. I witnessed a fortune 500 company plan two years out on becoming an International Airline. I know how important every detail is to completing the task at hand.

Management are mostly out of sight and in meeting daily. Rare interaction with them besides passing in the Hallways or team events/department functions.

Most co workers have been with the company 10 years + so it was relatively hard to find a common ground with many but I did meet some wonderful people.

The hardest part of the job for myself was trying to figure out how I would advance in my career. There seemed to be a glass ceiling on your career if you were not befriended by a small group of employees who always moved up and took each others position when one moves up in the company.

The most enjoyable part is definitely the flight benefits! Hands down that is the best part of the job. Flying free is amazing!
Pros
Free Flight
Cons
Poor Career Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I ever had/Miss it everyday
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  New YorkDecember 5, 2014
I worked for Southwest Airlines in NY as a Ramp Agent for almost 12 years before being terminated 2 years ago because of my attendance. There's not a day that goes by that I don't regret letting my personal issues get in the way of my job. I let myself down but more importantly let this great company down. Wish I could go back and start with them again now that everything is back to normal for me but understandably they probably do not want to give me a second chance. The culture there is fantastic, people are even better and it is an outstanding company to work for if you can get your foot in the door. You can make as much money as your willing to work for being that there's always an abundance of overtime and double time. Benefits are fantastic as well as the unlimited free travel benefits for you, your parents, spouse or committed partner and Children up to age 23 I believe. My last 2 years there I made $90,000 each year with all the overtime I worked as a baggage handler. If I hadn't screwed it up I would have been enjoying my 14th year there but I did so I live with it. If I can get back in and start all over again someday I will in a heartbeat! Bottom line this is a career you can have and be proud of if you can get in from beginning to end!
Pros
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes85No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place with great people
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 17, 2012
Ticketing and check in services:
• check-in by operating a computerized point-of-sale system
• all points of boarding process -- handle transactions required to board the aircraft in a timely and efficient manner
• baggage check-in service at ticket counter and at plane-side boarding gate
Reservations services:
• greeting and handling customers in a polite and friendly manner
• handle cash, checks, credit cards, travel vouchers and coupons as forms of payment for tickets
• compute charges
• make change and balance daily transactions
• answer telephone to provide information to callers
• page customers
• provide current and accurate fares, schedules, reservations, flight arrival/departure information and answers all general inquiries from customers and other visitors to the airport terminal;

Customer service regarding complaints and problems:
• deal with mishandled customers as a result of over sales, delayed or cancelled flights, lost, delayed, or damaged luggage
• resolve such problems quickly and within guidelines established by the Company
• document conflict resolutions and file proper paperwork
Pros
working for an airline with flight benefits
Cons
handleing extreme heavy bags and luggage
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt about maintenance engineering
Maintenance Quality Control (Internship) (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 1, 2013
 Understanding the maintenance procedures and repair criteria of Boeing 737 aircrafts through Maintenance Procedure Manual (MPM), Structure Repair Manual (SRM) and Aircraft Maintenance Manual (AMM).
 Learning the DMI (Deferred Maintenance Item) process to comply with the accurate documentation and reference standards of approved and authorized data as required by FAA
 Performing data engineering for deferment data of structural repairs, creating metric to measure DMI with Quality Control and Program Compliance and refining monthly reporting metrics.
 Preparing Lightning Strike (Repair 13) flowchart in accordance with SRM and AMM of Boeing 737-700/800 Next Generation aircraft with the help of Visio to assist the Aircraft Maintenance Technicians and minimize the defects.
 Researching and documenting the discontinuity and complexity in repair data of SRM and presenting these errors to the manufacturer and Company Leaders.
 Interacting with Engineering and Quality Control departments to develop effective solutions for lightning strike repairs.
 Evaluating the database of Lightning Strike defects to understand the types of errors.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work overall
Agent (Former Employee) –  BWI Baltimore, MDJuly 28, 2013
Some of the Managers do care about the company and its employees. Unfortunately, some of the Managers and Supervisors do NOT know how to effectively manage employees. It is a busy work/operational enviroment, which for me was enjoyable and the work was interesting. However, there are so many stringent rules, that it's difficult to keep up with them all and they seem to constantly change in some settings, with no flexibility. Mgmt and union rarely see eye-to-eye or cooperate, so there is constant tension. There is a high turnover rate at BWI and for those employees that work the operation--ramp, customer service and operations agents, there is NO balance of work/life. Employees are constantly forced to work overtime at the blink of an eye and come in on their days off with very little notice. While everyone should understand the need for overtime in any operation, it should not be the constant norm. In general, co-workers were friendly and helpful, but everyone was constantly complaining and stressed about the work enviroment and lack of effective management, it did not make for a nice place to work.
Pros
good, afforable, health insurance and domestic flight benefits
Cons
too stringent, poor mgmt, low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Executive Assistant to Director of Technology (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TexasSeptember 9, 2014
• Manage the Director's calendar and scheduling
• Coordinate business meetings including coordination of meeting times and places
• Coordinate travel arrangements, including registration for conferences, reservations for accommodations and travel, and assistance with subsequent Employee expense reporting
• Assist with payroll processing, including collection and recordkeeping of information on exceptions such as vacation and sick leave, and assist with distribution of payroll checks and incentive travel passes
• Assist with processing of new-hires and contractors within the Department, including acquisition of necessary equipment and supplies, completion of new-hire forms and assimilation into the team
• Coordinate Data Center events, examples to include are, The Annual Data Center Car Show, The BBQ contest, Easter Baskets Drive for Ronald McDonald, Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner, etc.
• Serves as the point of contact for Facility issues and manage to resolution
• Assist with communication of Departments and Company’s guidelines and office procedures to other Department (s)
• Handles vendor calls and call backs where directed
Was this review helpful?Yes11No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for with great benefits.
Customer Service and Ramp Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CAApril 2, 2014
I started out with Southwest Airlines as a Customer Service Agent in Burbank, CA. I moved to southern Orange County so transferred to LAX and then to John Wayne Orange County Airport. When in Orange County I also was the station Administrative Coordinator, Ramp Supervisor and Customer Service Supervisor. There is so much opportunity in this company you can determine your own destiny. The administrative position consists of balancing agents daily cash deposits, handling OJI, medical and personal claims. I was responsible for payroll audit sheets daily. Communicating with upper management on a daily basis in each department. As a Ramp Supervisor I oversaw the ramp agents preforming their daily tasks, marshaled in airplanes, loaded luggage. My favorite position was the Customer Service Supervisor position. I enjoyed interacting with customers daily. I also oversaw the customer service agents, quarterly bidding schedule, agents evaluations and held staff meetings. This was a really fun job.
Pros
great company with great benefits and excellent people to work with.
Cons
you have to bid for your shifts based on senority
Was this review helpful?Yes15No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, wonderful benefits
Customer Support and Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 20, 2014
I worked in the Houston Reservation Center for the last years of my Southwest Airlines career. I started in Dallas Reservations. When they closed, I went to Oklahoma City. The commuting was hard sometimes, but it was worth it to be able to stay with the company for so many years. I loved talking to the customers and helping with their travel needs. Sometimes it could be a challenge, but I didn't mind the challenge. I learned that we could usually find someway to help the customer if they had a problem or just had a question they needed answered. The hardest part of the job was when we couldn't resolve a problem. That isn't a very good feeling. It would happen sometimes, but luckily not often. Management for the most part were great. I can get a long with just about anyone. I worked with a bunch of great people, and made many great friends. The best parts of the job for me were all the wonderful benefits. Getting to fly for free is an awesome benefit. I really love Southwest Airlines.
Pros
great place to work, wonderful benefits, fun people to work with, great customers
Cons
didn't like sitting so much, tied to the phone for too many hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes29No3

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 446 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture