Find companies:
Southwest Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
279 reviews

Southwest Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Ramp Agent (Current Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 16, 2014
good, exciting, the most enjoyable part of the job a typical day at work •what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for with great benefits
Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 7, 2014
An airline that is family oriented in all areas of the company. High tenure and never had a lay off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits.
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 6, 2014
A typical day of work can be found in my resume. What I learned was how to unload and prepare aircrafts to and from their respective terminal and gates. Management was more than compassionate, always lending a hand when needed. Co-workers super friendly and down to earth. Hardest part of the job is getting there. Had to park three miles away, take a – more... bus, walk half a mile just to clock in. Most enjoyable parts where bringing the planes in and pushing the out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Skies are the Limit
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 4, 2014
Pros: great coulture
Cons: some short layovers and long duty days
Every day was a different at SWA. When you checked in for your 3-4 day, you may never know who you are going to work with and will you get along. The great part about the SWA couture is that we all did. Southwest backed us on situations where if the customer made a complaint, they would hear both sides, before automatically handling the situation. I – more... Loved waking up in new cities, going out and exploring and just grabbing every moment out of life that i could! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best paying job with the best benefits.
Reservations/Sales (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMOctober 1, 2014
Pros: i could fly for free, use other carriers flying benefits and work part time.
Cons: you were confined to your position of answering calls, so not much versatility
I obviously enjoyed this job because I did it for 14 years.Making reservations for a airline is challenging and rewarding. I always felt like I was helping and making a differerance. Especially if you had someone elderly or who was not computer savy, I could walk them through our on line site and show them how to get the best fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anywhere but Las Vegas...
Ramp Supervisor (Former Employee), Las VegasSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: travel, great corporate mentality, insurance...
Cons: las management team, low morale, unnecessary infighting after the merger
Southwest Airlines has a history of being a fantastic employer; and in many ways they are. Imperfect, yes; but corporately their "heart" is in the right place. If the requisition for Ramp Supervisor was anywhere but LAS, I would not hesitate to recommend you submit your resume'. But not in LAS... Sadly, entrenched management - and far too many "mid-level – more... managers" striving to justify their existence; has resulted in a 'management mess' that the ramp supervisors have to deal with daily. The managers have little or no understanding of ramp operations, the few who have worked the ramp did so, so many years ago, as to make their experience more detrimental than beneficial. That, in combination with 'CYA'; makes the job much more difficult than is necessary. They will pay lip service to their supervisors-but not listen to suggestions to improve the operation. They are 'stuck' where they are in their own career, and thus have little or no interest in furthering yours. Much like the saying..."at the end of your rope? tie a knot and hang on." The recent merger with AirTran has made many feel either threatened or proud (for the wrong reasons) and the 'blending' of the companies is hostile at best, in LAS, BWI, MDW, and ATL. That, in combination with a unionized workforce that has not been able to sign a new contract (still in negotiation...) since 2010 or '11; has put the non-union ramp supervisors in the role as "bumpers" between the ramp and management; and thus usually "hung out to dry". You will get little or no back up from your managers, there are probably only 1 or 2 MROs you can actually trust. The other supervisors will have your back unless it means risking theirs, then it is (understandably) every man for himself. I have been in passenger aviation for over three decades, after leaving Southwest, I am now in a management position with Alaska Airlines; where - thankfully - my experience and knowledge is viewed as an asset and not a 'threat'. If you can get hired by Southwest, and then asap transfer to another station; go for it. If you have to stay in Las Vegas; start using your experience to go to another carrier... I have many friends still on the ramp in LAS, and it is heartbreaking that they feel 'trapped'. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are great. Hard work and fun. Unionized workforce.
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 26, 2014
Hardest part of the job are the hours if you are working in or around the airport whether flying or ground crew. Many locations are 24/7 with varying shifts and days off. May take you years to work you're way up the seniority list with weekends off. Most desk jobs that are 9-5 are located in Dallas HDQ.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, Great job, Management sucks
RAMP AGENT (Current Employee), Baltimore, MdSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: free flights, 401k match, union job
Cons: management
When I first started, the job was great; I enjoyed working there. the benefits are greater, you fly for free. now over the past year, management has changed dramatically for the worse, and the moral is very low. They go through supervisors more than agents, due to no union representation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Executive Assistant to Director of Technology (Former Employee), Dallas, TexasSeptember 9, 2014
• Manage the Director's calendar and scheduling
• Coordinate business meetings including coordination of meeting times and places
• Coordinate travel arrangements, including registration for conferences, reservations for accommodations and travel, and assistance with subsequent Employee expense reporting
• Assist with payroll processing, including collection – more... and recordkeeping of information on exceptions such as vacation and sick leave, and assist with distribution of payroll checks and incentive travel passes
• Assist with processing of new-hires and contractors within the Department, including acquisition of necessary equipment and supplies, completion of new-hire forms and assimilation into the team
• Coordinate Data Center events, examples to include are, The Annual Data Center Car Show, The BBQ contest, Easter Baskets Drive for Ronald McDonald, Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner, etc.
• Serves as the point of contact for Facility issues and manage to resolution
• Assist with communication of Departments and Company’s guidelines and office procedures to other Department (s)
• Handles vendor calls and call backs where directed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well balanced Company
Ramp agent (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 4, 2014
I worked full time here, as a ramp agent,

I learned that team work really plays a big part in this position.

Management for the most part were easy to get along with.

The job is real physical on the body, but it also helps you keep in shape as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each workday is something different. Be prepared work hard and have fun.
Ramp Agent/Social Media Manager (Former Employee), Midland, TXSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: free flights!!
An awesome company to work for. There never was a typical day at work in the airline business. Every day and every hour have the potential to be totally different because of so many factors such as weather, mechanics, airplane destinations, airplane problems, etc. I learned to think on my feet and to always expect the unexpected. The hardest part of – more... the job was working in all different elements of weather but you quickly get used to it and it becomes second nature. The most enjoyable part of the job are the free flight benefits!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
Claims Specialist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 26, 2014
Pros: free flights
Cons: short breaks
Southwest is a great company to work for friendly group[ of people free flights as a benefit great company to retire from
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Professional Enviroment, the Agile methodology is a plus
Sr. Software Developer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 16, 2014
Pros: lot of freedom allows you to wear a shorts
Great place to work very professional environment, they follow Agile methodology which is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for G2
General Manager (Current Employee), cHARLESTONAugust 15, 2014
... CONTRACTOR FOR SW AIRLINE WORKED ALL DAY AND ALL NIGHT JUST TOO MUCH FOR LITTLE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome and Amazing
Fuel Tax Accountant (Current Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 14, 2014
Pros: casual work enviroment
Cons: i cant think of any
Working in the Tax Department at Southwest Airlines is a learning eveperience everyday., There is so much that goes in the fuel aspect of the business that I never knew before. Learning the different rules and pipeline regulations was a learning cure for me, but with patience and hard work I now fully understand how what i do is not only important to – more... the Tax Department but how it effects the bottom line for SWA as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Technology (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 24, 2014
LUV this company and its culture. Great atmosphere and very friendly people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blessed
Cargo Agent (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: free flights and travel.
A day at Southwest Airlines is really cool. I meet new people every day. We just purchase another airline, I'm learning a lot from my new co-workers and our new management. My co-workers are very reliable and hard working. My job is not really hard just fast pace. The most enjoyable part of my job is the fun that we have at work while we are getting – more... the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ground ops treated poorly
Ground Operations Agent (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 16, 2014
great company unfortunately if you're not a flight attendant mechanic or pilot consider a different career path. lack of transferable skills no tuition reimbursement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, an equal opportunity employement, free flights
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: free flights all around the states
Cons: short breaks especially during holidays or long weekends
The work with Southwest Airlines vary from day to day it depends on the assignment given to me on that day, it can be from gate relief, checking in passengers at the gate, assisting customers with their quiries and concerns, helping other team members with their concers or areas.
My co-workers were very helpful, fun to be with and supportive of each – more... other during work hours, theyw were not confined to their own areas and responsibilities.
The hardest part of the job is when their a volume of flights and customers especially on holidays, or heavy fligth days, it can be demanding.
the most enjoyable part of the job is being able to make customers happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Customer Service/Support (Former Employee), Columbus, Oh / Houston TXJuly 9, 2014
Met new personalities daily
Learned great customer service skills
Fun coworkers willing to teach

1 2 3 4 5

About Southwest Airlines

Southwest Airlines Co. (Southwest) is a passenger airline that provides scheduled air transportation in the United States. As – Read more

Southwest Airlines Photos