Find companies:
Southwest Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
291 reviews

Southwest Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardest part of job
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), SFODecember 8, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: weather depending on location
hardest part of the job is probably working with the co-workers If you're not a "people" person then it would be hard to work as a team on a flight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I ever had/Miss it everyday
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), New YorkDecember 5, 2014
Pros: everything
I worked for Southwest Airlines in NY as a Ramp Agent for almost 12 years before being terminated 2 years ago because of my attendance. There's not a day that goes by that I don't regret letting my personal issues get in the way of my job. I let myself down but more importantly let this great company down. Wish I could go back and start with them again – more... now that everything is back to normal for me but understandably they probably do not want to give me a second chance. The culture there is fantastic, people are even better and it is an outstanding company to work for if you can get your foot in the door. You can make as much money as your willing to work for being that there's always an abundance of overtime and double time. Benefits are fantastic as well as the unlimited free travel benefits for you, your parents, spouse or committed partner and Children up to age 23 I believe. My last 2 years there I made $90,000 each year with all the overtime I worked as a baggage handler. If I hadn't screwed it up I would have been enjoying my 14th year there but I did so I live with it. If I can get back in and start all over again someday I will in a heartbeat! Bottom line this is a career you can have and be proud of if you can get in from beginning to end! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough start, but overall great company
Ramp and Cargo Agent (Current Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 30, 2014
Pros: fun
Cons: mandatory overtime
Southwest Airlines is an incredible company. It is difficult at first with the 6 month probation, but overall a great experience and fun culture. It's pretty routine, management isn't that great but the station is good. The craziest (in a good way) group of people I've ever worked with. Mandatory overtime can throw a wrench in your plans, but it's double – more... time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding compay
Operations Agent (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 24, 2014
Great company with incredible benefits. Assisting the public with boarding the aircraft. Weight and balance of the plane.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous Company and Culture however, very limited room for advancement.
Customer Service (Former Employee), TexasNovember 21, 2014
Pros: awesome benefits and several employee appreciation days.
Cons: limited room for advancement on a local level.
A "Day-in-the-life" at Southwest consists of positive interaction with all front line employees while addressing Customer needs, Business needs and having the ability to communicate the expectations and solutions to meeting or exceeding those needs on a daily basis, together as a Team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place without micro managing.
Skycap (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZNovember 7, 2014
Pros: great money everyday.
Cons: hour commute to and from work.
I worked for tips in a stress free environment. Management in Chicago was amazing. Supportive supervisors. Family first team I worked with. Solid team members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job ever.
Operations Agent (Former Employee), Kenner, LANovember 2, 2014
Cons: weather delays
AWESOM!!! I learned weight and balance configuration of an aircraft.
Management is great. My co-workers were wonderful. There was nothing hard about the job. I loved every aspect of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They quit on me, I did not quit on them
Ramp Supervisor (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 28, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: you are just a number.
Poor management. Station manager set me up to take a fall for him after I blew the whistle on him. I was let go and he was transferred.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fly with strength
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 28, 2014
Pros: benefits, aiplaines and great place to work
Cons: heavy lifting.
I worked as ramp agent I transferred cargo and passengers’ baggage from aircraft to aircraft and/or to the terminal and operates and drives motorized equipment such as belt loaders, air start units, lift trucks, tugs, bag carts, lavatory carts and de-icing units.
I learned team work and safety in the airline industry. I learned to how prioritize tasks.
Management – more... was driven...
A lot the of the co-workers were fun and great to work with but there were few that made female workers' job a bit harder.
Heavy cargo or passengers luggage can be difficult, but there were equipment to facilitate the transfer between carts to airplanes.
Get to work around airplanes, fast paced environment and discounts on air fair. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
haad ping pong table
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 28, 2014
a typical day at work would be loading and unloading planes. was a great place to work had good employees and was an overall fun and great environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Material Planner (Contractor) (Current Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 21, 2014
Pros: culture
Cons: pay
Culture is very laid back and positive people to be around. People are usually supportive. Sometimes would wish managers were more aggressive. It's acceptable to walk around and chat it up with those around you. Most enjoyable part of my job was being around positive people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for, wonderful benefits
Customer Support and Services Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 20, 2014
Pros: great place to work, wonderful benefits, fun people to work with, great customers
Cons: didn't like sitting so much, tied to the phone for too many hours a day
I worked in the Houston Reservation Center for the last years of my Southwest Airlines career. I started in Dallas Reservations. When they closed, I went to Oklahoma City. The commuting was hard sometimes, but it was worth it to be able to stay with the company for so many years. I loved talking to the customers and helping with their travel needs. – more... Sometimes it could be a challenge, but I didn't mind the challenge. I learned that we could usually find someway to help the customer if they had a problem or just had a question they needed answered. The hardest part of the job was when we couldn't resolve a problem. That isn't a very good feeling. It would happen sometimes, but luckily not often. Management for the most part were great. I can get a long with just about anyone. I worked with a bunch of great people, and made many great friends. The best parts of the job for me were all the wonderful benefits. Getting to fly for free is an awesome benefit. I really love Southwest Airlines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Ramp Agent (Current Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 16, 2014
good, exciting, the most enjoyable part of the job a typical day at work •what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for with great benefits
Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 7, 2014
An airline that is family oriented in all areas of the company. High tenure and never had a lay off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits.
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 6, 2014
A typical day of work can be found in my resume. What I learned was how to unload and prepare aircrafts to and from their respective terminal and gates. Management was more than compassionate, always lending a hand when needed. Co-workers super friendly and down to earth. Hardest part of the job is getting there. Had to park three miles away, take a – more... bus, walk half a mile just to clock in. Most enjoyable parts where bringing the planes in and pushing the out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Skies are the Limit
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 4, 2014
Pros: great coulture
Cons: some short layovers and long duty days
Every day was a different at SWA. When you checked in for your 3-4 day, you may never know who you are going to work with and will you get along. The great part about the SWA couture is that we all did. Southwest backed us on situations where if the customer made a complaint, they would hear both sides, before automatically handling the situation. I – more... Loved waking up in new cities, going out and exploring and just grabbing every moment out of life that i could! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best paying job with the best benefits.
Reservations/Sales (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMOctober 1, 2014
Pros: i could fly for free, use other carriers flying benefits and work part time.
Cons: you were confined to your position of answering calls, so not much versatility
I obviously enjoyed this job because I did it for 14 years.Making reservations for a airline is challenging and rewarding. I always felt like I was helping and making a differerance. Especially if you had someone elderly or who was not computer savy, I could walk them through our on line site and show them how to get the best fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Anywhere but Las Vegas...
Ramp Supervisor (Former Employee), Las VegasSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: travel, great corporate mentality, insurance...
Cons: las management team, low morale, unnecessary infighting after the merger
Southwest Airlines has a history of being a fantastic employer; and in many ways they are. Imperfect, yes; but corporately their "heart" is in the right place. If the requisition for Ramp Supervisor was anywhere but LAS, I would not hesitate to recommend you submit your resume'. But not in LAS... Sadly, entrenched management - and far too many "mid-level – more... managers" striving to justify their existence; has resulted in a 'management mess' that the ramp supervisors have to deal with daily. The managers have little or no understanding of ramp operations, the few who have worked the ramp did so, so many years ago, as to make their experience more detrimental than beneficial. That, in combination with 'CYA'; makes the job much more difficult than is necessary. They will pay lip service to their supervisors-but not listen to suggestions to improve the operation. They are 'stuck' where they are in their own career, and thus have little or no interest in furthering yours. Much like the saying..."at the end of your rope? tie a knot and hang on." The recent merger with AirTran has made many feel either threatened or proud (for the wrong reasons) and the 'blending' of the companies is hostile at best, in LAS, BWI, MDW, and ATL. That, in combination with a unionized workforce that has not been able to sign a new contract (still in negotiation...) since 2010 or '11; has put the non-union ramp supervisors in the role as "bumpers" between the ramp and management; and thus usually "hung out to dry". You will get little or no back up from your managers, there are probably only 1 or 2 MROs you can actually trust. The other supervisors will have your back unless it means risking theirs, then it is (understandably) every man for himself. I have been in passenger aviation for over three decades, after leaving Southwest, I am now in a management position with Alaska Airlines; where - thankfully - my experience and knowledge is viewed as an asset and not a 'threat'. If you can get hired by Southwest, and then asap transfer to another station; go for it. If you have to stay in Las Vegas; start using your experience to go to another carrier... I have many friends still on the ramp in LAS, and it is heartbreaking that they feel 'trapped'. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits are great. Hard work and fun. Unionized workforce.
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 26, 2014
Hardest part of the job are the hours if you are working in or around the airport whether flying or ground crew. Many locations are 24/7 with varying shifts and days off. May take you years to work you're way up the seniority list with weekends off. Most desk jobs that are 9-5 are located in Dallas HDQ.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, Great job, Management sucks
RAMP AGENT (Current Employee), Baltimore, MdSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: free flights, 401k match, union job
Cons: management
When I first started, the job was great; I enjoyed working there. the benefits are greater, you fly for free. now over the past year, management has changed dramatically for the worse, and the moral is very low. They go through supervisors more than agents, due to no union representation.

1 2 3 4 5

About Southwest Airlines

Southwest Airlines Co. (Southwest) is a passenger airline that provides scheduled air transportation in the United States. As – Read more

Southwest Airlines Photos