Find companies:
Southwest Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
234 reviews

Southwest Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, fun and very face paced
Customer Relations/Rapid Rewards Team Leader (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 11, 2014
Pros: free flights
Cons: social aspect
I loved working for SWA. I lead a team of 20 people in Customer Relations. I worked with them to meet the Company metrics, recurrent training and career planning. The hardest part of the job was working with other Team Leaders who has been there with the company for a very long time. The best part was working with the Reps. They are awesome. I enjoyed – more... helping them with their everyday work flow and encouraged them with positive feedback. Our Customers were pretty great also. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Marketing Specialist, Co-Brand Marketing (Current Employee), Dallas,TXApril 10, 2014
I currently manage the co-branding partnership on the digital side of digital credit card acquisitions. I work with a team of 4 individuals, who, each work in different areas of Marketing for the Rapid Rewards credit card ad partners program. The most enjoyable part of the job is that I get to be fully involved in test & learn for digital content, which – more... then impacts the company's overall financial performance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service & Support Representative (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 7, 2014
Pros: flying free
Cons: short breaks and lunch, no cafeteria on property
Southwest airlines is a very interesting place to work there is so much to learn about the airline industry. A typical date at work may consist of inbound customer service. Assisting customers with questions about the website, booking and canceling flights, locating luggage, booking and canceling hotel reservations, group rates, rental vehicles, children – more... and senior discount rates, pets, and weather related delays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A VERY GOOD AIRLINE TO WORK FOR
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), CHICAGO MIDWAY AIRPORT (MDW)April 5, 2014
LOADING AND OFF LOADING COMMERCIAL PASSENGER AIRCRAFT. MARSHALING IN THE AIRCRAFT AND PUSHING THEM OUT TO TAXI TO THE RUNWAY. IN GENERAL SERVISING THE AIRCRAFT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for with great benefits.
Customer Service and Ramp Supervisor (Former Employee), Orange County, CAApril 2, 2014
Pros: great company with great benefits and excellent people to work with.
Cons: you have to bid for your shifts based on senority
I started out with Southwest Airlines as a Customer Service Agent in Burbank, CA. I moved to southern Orange County so transferred to LAX and then to John Wayne Orange County Airport. When in Orange County I also was the station Administrative Coordinator, Ramp Supervisor and Customer Service Supervisor. There is so much opportunity in this company – more... you can determine your own destiny. The administrative position consists of balancing agents daily cash deposits, handling OJI, medical and personal claims. I was responsible for payroll audit sheets daily. Communicating with upper management on a daily basis in each department. As a Ramp Supervisor I oversaw the ramp agents preforming their daily tasks, marshaled in airplanes, loaded luggage. My favorite position was the Customer Service Supervisor position. I enjoyed interacting with customers daily. I also oversaw the customer service agents, quarterly bidding schedule, agents evaluations and held staff meetings. This was a really fun job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Nashville, TNMarch 28, 2014
I love wiring for sea. Its a great place. I would tell anyone looking for a job to apply here. its a very good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work enviroment
Ramp Agent (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 22, 2014
Pros: good down time during flights and good superviors
Cons: time in time you would have heavy flights but you get no help.
Fast work pace, but safe and management needs a bit improvement but overall great work place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many unhappy, afraid to speak up
CCR (Current Employee), CS & S PhoenixMarch 15, 2014
Pros: easy to get trades and time off in advance. free flights on southwest for spouses, partners, kids, and parents. great insurance, and up to 16 "buddy passes" per year for friends and other relatives.
Cons: low pay, the "pressure" to be 100%, when no one is perfect. incosistency among team leaders and center support leaders. weak union, no backing, and no one to really talk to except among ourselves
A typical day at work includes making, changing, and cancelling reservations for Corporate Customers, Travel Agents and the General Public, and putting up with numerous Team Leaders who will walk the floors and "listen" for mistakes, like a "witch hunt" or something. They don't layoff per say, but will follow the process to get you out, and if you go – more... to another department or to inflight (like many have) and don't make it thru, they will NOT TAKE YOU BACK, unless you are a favorite. I know 1st hand of jobs that were "found" @ LGA, BUR, LAS, and DAL to name a few places for some of those that were not able to "cut the mustard" of their new position so to speak.I learned that they do have their "favorites" even if your score card is pretty much perfect, they will find ways to get rid of you, or make your life miserable. Co Workers are great, lots of Happy Hours, trips to SeaWorld, Disney, etc... , even though we have lost about 20 on my team since 3rd quarter 2013, from walkouts, firings or forced "retirements". The hardest part of the job is trying to figure out what the various Team Leaders want, and which ones you can "trust", as there is so much inconsistency. Southwest refuses to charge for bags and changes which is great, but their NEED for extra revenue is HIGH, and they have us soliciting for the Chase Visa, Early Bird Check In's, Business Select tickets, Rental Cars and Hotels. Chase, Hotels and Rental Cars pay Southwest a commission for each one that is booked. Employees do not receive a commission, but if you miss it on a call, they let you know about it The most enjoyable part of the job of course is being able to be "yourself" when helping someone in need whether thru humor, seriousness or sympathy depending on why they are traveling, such as a funeral, sporting event, wedding, graduation, family reunion, vacation, etc... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a person that doesn't have any kids.
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Oakland, CAMarch 14, 2014
Working required overtime to get good pay. Flying free is good benefit, it takes money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Sr. Executive Assistant (contract) (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 12, 2014
My overall review is that Southwest Airlines is a wonderful place to work, friendly, learn and sharing and growing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer Service Skills
Customer Sales and Service Agent (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKMarch 12, 2014
I love working in the customer service field,. I had the opportunity to work with customers that needed assistance in making reservations, car rentals and hotels.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most fun you can have while working hard at making a brand global.
Flight Attendant (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 10, 2014
Pros: free travel
Cons: time passes you by quickly, meaning years.
Life and work at Southwest Airlines has been like running in an Olympic decathlon. Your mind and body has so much potential that one does not know until it's pressed to test it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wondeful culture
Business Consultant (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 8, 2014
this company is a wonderful company to work for. Its culture is the heartbeat
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful fun LUVing culture!
Customer Service, Operations (Current Employee), Orange CountyMarch 6, 2014
I LUV SWA! I work for a fabulous company with awesome benefits and great people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for...
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2014
I loved working for Southwest Airlines, although if you are a parent to young children, then this job really isnt for you. Its more of a job for those living the single life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travel industry
Ramp Agent (Current Employee), Manchester, NH, Reno, NV and now at Tucson AZFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: flt delays and cancelltions
great job and company. job requires you to be ready when planes are late and when they all land at the same time .work safe and good commutation with co-works is important to get the job done. best part is knowing you have done your best for the customer for a good experience and safe flight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
Ramp Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Jackson, MSFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: great working culture
Cons: union personnel very negative
Movement of aircraft and passenger bags and freight.
Enjoyable place to work and very career oriented towards your personal growth.
Exceptional benefits package for indivduals and their families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAP HR
SAP Business process consultant (Current Employee), irvingFebruary 16, 2014
outhwest Airlines Co. (NYSE: LUV) is a major U.S. airline and the world's largest low-cost carrier, headquartered in Dallas, Texas. The airline was established in 1967[2] and adopted their current name in 1971.[3] The airline has 44,831 employees as of December 2013 and operates more than 3,400 flights per day.[4] As of June 5, 2011, it carries the – more... most domestic passengers of any U.S. airline.[5] As of January 2014, Southwest Airlines has scheduled service to 89 destinations in 42 states and Puerto Rico.
Southwest Airlines has solely operated Boeing 737s, except for a few years in the 1970s and 1980s, when they operated a few Boeing 727s. As of August 2012, Southwest is the largest operator of the 737 worldwide with over 550 in service, each operating an average of six flights per day.[4] In May 2011, Southwest acquired AirTran Airways, with integration of the carriers expected to be complete by 2014.[6] On March 1, 2012, the company was issued a single operating certificate, technically becoming one airline. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest place to work.
Reseration Agent (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: free flights for employees, and all around good company.
Great flights benefits and insurance. Employees and management were the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance Associate
Finance Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 30, 2014
Performed high level of customer service at Southwest Airlines in the Revenue Accounting Department. Very enjoyable place to work.

1 2 3 4 5

About Southwest Airlines

Southwest Airlines Co. (Southwest) is a passenger airline that provides scheduled air transportation in the United States. As – Read more

Southwest Airlines Photos