Southwest Airlines Employee Reviews

Found 690 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 27, 2016
Great benefits, experience, and great people to work with. Traveling for free, was able to have my own schedule with other employees and fast paced during the days.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work!
Temporary Instructor (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 27, 2016
I LUV my Co -Hearts and this is definitely an awesome place to work for! I started two years ago and already had the opportunity to get my feet wet in the training environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
NOC and ATC Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 20, 2016
They can be a certain way when it comes to your health. Just make sure that you protect yourself from certain people of you'll be out of a job just like I wash laid off.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of the coworkers are decent people..
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  TexasDecember 20, 2016
All these people say how wonderful Southwest Airlines is, have never worked out on the ramp. To Southwest you are a machine and you are treated like one too. How many times I've worked an 9 or 10 hour shift with no lunch brake so many times I've lost count. It's because Southwest is to cheap to put 3 or 4 agents at a gate. It makes me sick to think all the people at headquarters,just think everything is so wonderful, I'd like to see them get there butts out on the ramp for a week and see how absolutely messed up that it is, I guarantee they wouldn't think it's a wonderful. They have supervisors, that shouldn't even be allowed to work at the company.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Pay sucks, poorly managed
Was this review helpful?Yes34No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interactive
Customer Relations representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 19, 2016
I loved working here and it was a new life experience. Everyone in the company was not only friendly, but also helpful in furthering one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
miss the company
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 19, 2016
previous employment with SWA had to leave due to financial problems . worked over 7 years on ramp miss the people and the location but needed to move back up North
Pros
pizza
Cons
help
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Aircraft Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 15, 2016
Great place to work. Fun loving hard working bunch of folks who always have your back and look out for you. Great benefits such as traveling and healthcare.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company with a lot of love for their employees
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKDecember 8, 2016
Southwest is a great company to work for. They have a great culture of fun, and show a lot of support for their employees. The call center environment is a bit rough, but if you can get your foot in the door there, there are numerous opportunities for growth
Pros
Fun overall company culture
Cons
Oklahoma City Call Center leadership needs some work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Ground Ops (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXDecember 7, 2016
There were very few days that I didn't enjoy my time at work. We had a great team of agents at every location that I worked at. We had lots of fun and stayed busy so the days went by fast.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, only the select few get hired at Southwest Airlines.
Ramp Agent (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVDecember 1, 2016
Great place to work, Very physically demanding job with up most attention to detail to customer as well as fellow employees safety.

Hardest part of the job: Lifting 20K - 40Klbs of weight per shift.
Pros
Flight benefits
Cons
work schedules, working in inclement weather.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Ramp Agent (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYDecember 1, 2016
Just needs better management. Everyone was fun to work with daily. Active and hands on. Great benefits. Managers were never on the same page and things became erratic and crazy when they would try too get back on the same page.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 30, 2016
representative who consistently meets and exceeds productivity goals. Proven capacity to troubleshoot issues to resolve issues quickly. Maintains a high level of professionalism, patience and efficiency to minimize customer dissatisfaction and increase customer loyalty.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Southwest Airlines
Ramp Agent (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 30, 2016
Great company to work for, Very Poor MANAGEMENT. They will target you and make sure that you know that you're being targeted other than that great company and very family like.
Pros
Working with great people
Cons
MANAGEMENT SUCKS
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Configuration Manager / Sr. Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 30, 2016
Culture above all !

and because of that, employees are always happy. Leadership is keen on cutting edge technology and trust employees to be creative (within reason of course).

I LOVED working here...too bad i had to go :(
Pros
Culture, leadership, environment...what is not to love ?
Cons
Growth potential fairly limited..
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun loving caring company
Customer Support & Services (Former Employee) –  TexasNovember 28, 2016
Enjoyed helping customers with air traveling arrangements and
great feeling knowing they were satisfied. Also enjoyed working
along with coworkers and bond we all had. An awesome company
to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reviewed Previously
Pilot Crew Scheduling (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 25, 2016
Southwest was and probably always will be a wonderful company to work for. I have been trying to get back into the airlines and its is very difficult process.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 23, 2016
Worked as a Flight Attendant for 9.5 years. Amazing company. Great benefits, great pay. Trading schedules is easy. You have to be able to adapt very quickly in order to survive at any airline. You never really know what any day will throw your way. As Flight Attendant, you usually work with different people every week. This can be tough for some people as you don't always get along with who you are working with. Over all, the worst part of this company is how hard it is to get hired. Most people get their foot in the door with an entry level position on the ground until they have a year of service under their belt and can transfer over to another department.
Pros
FUN!
Cons
Company Culture has changed a bit in the past few years
Was this review helpful?Yes18No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great culture
RAMP AGENT (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 20, 2016
Fun company to work for with a great culture. The employees are your brothers and sisters. Challenging at times and very fast paced around the holidays.
Pros
pay, union, benefits
Cons
Work life balance, If they call you and physically speak to you over the phone on your day off, it is mandatory that you work. You will get a lot of mandatory time, If you were supposed to get off at 5, you will be there until 130 AM
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ramp Agent
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 15, 2016
Southwest Airlines is a great airline to work for. To work for Southwest Airlines you need to not only be able to work well under pressure but also be punctual.
Pros
Free flights
Cons
Mandatory Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to move around in company
Customer Support and Services (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMNovember 14, 2016
Southwest is a good Company. They do have amazing benefits. The Call Center however, is a very stressful job and extremely micromanaged. Good news is if you can make it a year, you can look into other job openings in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southwest Airlines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 694 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
3.9
Culture
4.4