Find companies:
Southwest Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
272 reviews

Southwest Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 5, 2013
A typical day was to book flight for customers,quote fares, rent cars,and hotels if needed and general flight info.
learned how to inter act with many different kinds of people, consumer and business, customer
management was ok depending who's team you were on.
co - workers were some of the most caring people I have met in the call center environment.
the – more... hardest thing about the job is that the shifts changed every month so u never knew what you were going to end up with.
the most enjoyable thing was free air fare so we were able to see the country all for free. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Ramp agent (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 3, 2013
Great company, Great benefits, Free flights

young and dumb. let go of this job
been kicking myself ever since
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Southwest Airlines
Flight Attendant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 3, 2013
Company that is always concerned for their Employees and Passengers safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You work hard and play hard best company in the world
Customer Representative (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 1, 2013
Pros: free stabdby flights
Cons: only 30 min lunch
I was with Southwest Airlines for over 15 years the are by far the best company ever. I retired due to an illness that has since resolved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt about maintenance engineering
Maintenance Quality Control (Internship) (Former Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 1, 2013
 Understanding the maintenance procedures and repair criteria of Boeing 737 aircrafts through Maintenance Procedure Manual (MPM), Structure Repair Manual (SRM) and Aircraft Maintenance Manual (AMM).
 Learning the DMI (Deferred Maintenance Item) process to comply with the accurate documentation and reference standards of approved and authorized data – more... as required by FAA
 Performing data engineering for deferment data of structural repairs, creating metric to measure DMI with Quality Control and Program Compliance and refining monthly reporting metrics.
 Preparing Lightning Strike (Repair 13) flowchart in accordance with SRM and AMM of Boeing 737-700/800 Next Generation aircraft with the help of Visio to assist the Aircraft Maintenance Technicians and minimize the defects.
 Researching and documenting the discontinuity and complexity in repair data of SRM and presenting these errors to the manufacturer and Company Leaders.
 Interacting with Engineering and Quality Control departments to develop effective solutions for lightning strike repairs.
 Evaluating the database of Lightning Strike defects to understand the types of errors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Luving, lots of Company spirit, family oriented.
Center Support Leader (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 1, 2013
Pros: flying benifits
Everyday is a different day. The only constant thing was change. I mean that in a good way! You were always busy with something thing to do. There was never a dull moment. My coworkers were always there to lend a helping hand, that's just how they do it at Southwest. I can't really say there was a hardest part to the job because I had support system – more... wide. There was always someone there to help. The most enjoyable part of my day was just coming into work everyday being with my family, yes it felt like being with family when I came to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 31, 2013
Pros: lots of frontline support and insentives to perform well.
Stimulating environment that was fast paced and fun. Always felt supported by management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for with great benefits
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 30, 2013
Pros: flexible, lost of great benefits, awesome people to work with.
Cons: i currently have the last shift of the day, which is hard for me to see my family
Southwest Airlines is a great company to work for. They offer several beneifts for employees and their families. Southwest Airlines intends to be number one in Customer Service. We just happen to fly planes. Southwest Airlines is very flexible with hours you can work to spend more time with family or tend to other life events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work/very busy
Business Analyst/Project Manager (contract) (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 29, 2013
Requirements Gathering
Visio diagrams
Requirements Tracking
Facilitate Meeting
Use case/user stories
Testing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not just a job....its a career.
Customer Service & Support Supervisor (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 28, 2013
Its a Fun luving job, the culture is very warm. The flexibility makes working incredible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard...play harder
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKOctober 16, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere and work ethic
Cons: if you need time off, make sure you can afford it
Southwest Airlines is famous for their mantra: work hard...play harder. The atmosphere is often festive (seasonal decorations, costume parties, drawings for prizes). They believe in working hard to get the job done. Inbound calls whereby customers are needing assistance with reservations, billing, baggage and airport issues. Several applications available – more... to make sure we have the answer to the customer's questions/needs.

The hardest part of the job is time off flexibility... If you want time off, it's best to pay someone to take your shift, versus taking your vacation or pto... There are penalties for not coming to work. However, if you are one of the more industrious (or just need more money), you can offer to take a shift that someone will trade for cash, vouchers, or others options...it is a bartering society. It's cheap to travel, when seats are available. Benefits for family members makes it possible to visit the many Southwest cities.

I learned that Southwest does take care of their people - I would work for them again. Management is available and willing to listen. Southwest is a union run business and thus, you have some protection against disputes that may arise. Co-workers became family and were a big part of my social life.

The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting people on the phone, and on flights that really appreciated the Southwest Spirit; it made me proud to be part of the Southwest family – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE TO WORK
PROVISIONING AGENT (Former Employee), El Paso, TXOctober 15, 2013
FAMILY ATMOSPHERE,WORKING ALONG SIDE BEAUTIFUL HARD WORKING PEOPLE WHO WANTS TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE FOR THE COMPANY. ALWAYS LOOKING FOR A NEW CHALLENGE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Southwest
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 15, 2013
Working as a Customer Service Representative at Southwest Airlines is both challenging and rewarding. I cam called upon each day to be flexible and focused with handling customer complaints. I work with the best coworkers in the world, and I have grown a lot under each of the leaders I have had in my two years time. I would say that the most difficult – more... thing about the job is staying flexible and positive when I am required to use my secondary skillset. But the best part of the job is definitely the people I share my work experience with. They have brightened many a dark day and brought out the best in me. I am thankful for Southwest's culture and people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Customer Service Representative/Dental Assistant (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 11, 2013
Pros: meed new freinds
Cons: start way to early
I love Southwest Airlines when you work for them you have a family you work hard, you start early and it is very demanding, they tolerate nothing. But it makes you realize that its a good thing. The training was fantastic, They make you learn and its fun, and if you love to travel its a great job, I never look at the pay check, If you work your passion – more... you will never feel like you are working, The hardest part of the job is putting up with people that are impatient, or drunk, the most enjoyable are people traveling with pets, they are so cute, or just married couples, or just happy people on vacaton I love people anyway you learn so much from them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The very Best People in Comercial Aviation
Senior IT Project Manager, Technical Services (Former Employee), Southwest Airlines General OfficesOctober 11, 2013
Pros: travel, fun, work hard and play hard
Cons: n/a
Southwest Airlines is a Career, not a job.

The Best People in Commercial Aviation!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company
Crew Scheduler (Former Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 7, 2013
takes care of there employees, has a lot of growth opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool job working with airplanes
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), BWISeptember 30, 2013
Pros: free flights for you the worker and spouse, 1 set of parents and children that belong to worker, insurance begins day 1 for worker, insurance is blue cross blue shield
Cons: work the most terrible hours, terrible shifts or positions until you put in about 5 years when you finally move up the ladder, you must bid for shifts
As a ramp agent, a work day could mean day shift, evening shift or double shift.

Usually you have a partner that you flip specific jobs between. You may be the lead, where you would marshall in the plane and make plans on how to pack the plane by weight of packages suitcases and cargo. Your helper will be doing the packing for you and also hooking – more... up all attachments the aircraft needs. The lead will then push the plane out for lift off after all is approved by pilot.

It is not easy to be outside, safety guidelines are important, and weather conditions could vary, air flights change, are early or late sometimes, some cargo can be very heavy and injury can happen easily.

Although there are many hard things to get through and learn like all airport codes and computer system, how to measure weight and pack correctly for next airport, it truly is a neat job. sitting inside the cargo area of a huge 737 is awesome.

Management/supervisors are very helpful and always around. Co-workers are all different. Especially if they have been working there a long time and have there own system of doing things. Some are helpful, some are late, some are hard working and some are just plain rude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Denver, COSeptember 20, 2013
Southwest is a fun but also very stressful environment. Every day is different. My co-workers are great and willing to help you out at anytime. Hardest part of the job was learning to accept that you will be verbally abused by passengers and not to take it personal. The best part is knowing you brightened a lot of passengers day by getting them from – more... point a to b – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Central Support Desk Supervisor (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: ability to be the consumate professional daily
Cons: not enough hours in the day
Great place to work. Managed a high volume call center with 18 direct reports. Gained additional experience on how to multi task and organize priorities. Part of a great team in a high stress exciting and dynamic environment. The most enjoyable was helping my staff make career choices. The Helpdesk was a springboard for opportunities and part of my – more... responsibility was to prepare the best of the best and provide an opportunity for them to move on. The hardest part of the job was the long hours and keeping up with everything on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was my family away from family!
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: getting profit sharing and 401k as soon as you start if you enroll. flying for free
Cons: only con i had about southwest airlines is that i dont work for them anymore.
Working for Southwest Airlines was a dream come true.
They appreciated everyone! Nobody was ever gone unseen or unknown. i love the family environment, the spirits of the employees and just love singing and seeing different people who brought out different aspects of the company!

About Southwest Airlines

Southwest Airlines Co. (Southwest) is a passenger airline that provides scheduled air transportation in the United States. As – Read more

Southwest Airlines Photos