Find companies:
Southwest Airlines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
234 reviews

Southwest Airlines Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall summary
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee), Denver ColoradoAugust 12, 2013
Southwest does an excellent job on hiring good, dedicated, caring people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at the airport with passangers selling tickets and exchanging tickets.
Customer Service Agent and Temporary Supervisor (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 6, 2013
Pros: working with some really great co-workers in a fun environment.
Cons: when a flight would oversell, and we'd have to reschedule unhappy travelers.
Sold tickets, took cash or credit card for tickets, transferred from one flight to another, checked in luggage, worked in the customer service center to handle unhappy passengers. Also worked with great co-workers toward the same goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and very fun place to work
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), San Antonio TXAugust 5, 2013
Pros: free travel
Cons: always very busy
Lots of benefits
people are great and helpful
management is easy to work with
lots of opportunity to grow
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Airline EVER
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 4, 2013
Fun-filled environment that did not feel like work!!! Lots of opportunities and room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great employees
Customer Support and Services (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 2, 2013
Pros: benefits, co-workers, good company.
Cons: short-breaks, angry callers.
A typical day at work consist of me helping customers with their flight information or their Rapid Rewards accounts. I learned how to give the best customer service and how to keep our customers happy. My co-workers always had a way of keeping things positive and keeping the mood light. The hardest part of the job was the unpredictable phone calls. – more... You never know what you're next conversation was going to be or who it was going to be with. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the co-workers I had and the company overall was always doing things to show their appreciation and keep the moral up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, people oriented, exciting
BNA Ramp Supervisor (Current Employee), Nashville, TNJuly 31, 2013
Pros: great opportunity for everyone, with free travel and benefits
Every day is different. You get to meet new people each and every day. The company offers great opportunities for its employees and the sky is the limit as far as you want to go within the Company. Excellent opportunity to advance. Excellent benefits, 401K match and profit sharing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee), San AntonioJuly 29, 2013
Excellent company. Very flexible schedule and relaxed atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work overall
Agent (Former Employee), BWI Baltimore, MDJuly 28, 2013
Pros: good, afforable, health insurance and domestic flight benefits
Cons: too stringent, poor mgmt, low wages
Some of the Managers do care about the company and its employees. Unfortunately, some of the Managers and Supervisors do NOT know how to effectively manage employees. It is a busy work/operational enviroment, which for me was enjoyable and the work was interesting. However, there are so many stringent rules, that it's difficult to keep up with them – more... all and they seem to constantly change in some settings, with no flexibility. Mgmt and union rarely see eye-to-eye or cooperate, so there is constant tension. There is a high turnover rate at BWI and for those employees that work the operation--ramp, customer service and operations agents, there is NO balance of work/life. Employees are constantly forced to work overtime at the blink of an eye and come in on their days off with very little notice. While everyone should understand the need for overtime in any operation, it should not be the constant norm. In general, co-workers were friendly and helpful, but everyone was constantly complaining and stressed about the work enviroment and lack of effective management, it did not make for a nice place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun place with culyure, I would recommend my kids to work there
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), SFO/OAKJuly 27, 2013
Pros: lots of employee luv.
Cons: long hours and difficult customers at times.
I really enjoyed my time at Southwest. It is truly the fun airline
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great culture and moral
Customer Care Supervisor (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 17, 2013
Southwest has great culture and diverse view in the workplace. Very open and laid back but also dedicated to deliver excellent customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment where you are encouraged to be yourself.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJuly 16, 2013
Pros: fast paced work environment where you can play up your strengths.
Cons: very, very busy work atmosphere with an extremely high call volume.
You are encouraged to be yourself and rely on your own best judgement. Co-workers and management are there for you should you need any assistance. It was the best place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Care Representative Supervisor (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 15, 2013
Southwest Airlines is flexible and enjoyable to work for and with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, great benefits, bad management, a lot of hours and low wages.
Ramp Agent (Former Employee), Jessup, MDJuly 15, 2013
Pros: great environment, great co-workers
Cons: a lot of hours(which i would mind if the money was good)
The management is poorly trained(on the job), the union workers and non-union workers don't work as a team, I didn't learn much as the job wasn't overly technical, the hardest part of the job was working enough hours to get a good sized check and the most enjoyable part of the job was the benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Leasing Agent/Receptionist (Former Employee), phx,azJuly 13, 2013
nice pay, long hours. hard work but training was great. southwest cares about their employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Inflight Crew Payroll Auditor (Former Employee), Dallas, TxJuly 5, 2013
Pros: leave early day before holiday, free lunch, able to attend company function on duty.
Cons: none.
As an auditor, the primary goal is to complete various audits in an effort to correctly pay flight attendants according to their contract. process Medical, Maternity, OJI and other leaves. Process payroll reports for legal department. Our department is small and we worked great as a team being there for one another when needed. My Supervisor and Manager – more... were always available when needed. The most challenging part if the job were the pay and contractual changes. My most enjoyable part of the job were my co-workers, it was a great place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work , great co- workers
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), baltimore, mdJuly 2, 2013
great company to work for , great job, great benefits, and great life-style just everything about this job and company is awesome
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work With
SAP BusinessObjects Technical Lead/Sr. Architect (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJune 20, 2013
Pros: casual dress (shorts & t-shirts), great people to work with, free flights for life (while you're there or if you retire), 401k matching (dollar per dollar up to 9%)
Cons: healthcare benefits continue to rise in cost and decline in service everywhere, it''s a little faster at southwest, promotions and financial growth are nearly stagnant
There are always new challenges that arise in your work with Southwest Airlines. The company encourages working hard and playing hard. Unfortunately, without changing area of expertise, there are very little opportunities for career growth. Overall, Southwest is a good company with great intentions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company on the airline industry
RAMP AGENT (Current Employee), Newark, NJJune 13, 2013
Fun place to work, excellent benefits and great job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving Peanuts is Awesome!
Flight Attendant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 25, 2013
* Providing leadership and assuming complete charge of passengers and aircraft cabin management during normal, abnormal and emergency situations while performing onboard flight attendant responsibilities.
* Adhering to all procedures and rules of the Federal Aviation Regulations, Occupational Safety and Health Administration Regulations and Southwest – more... Airlines Manual of Policy, Procedures and Practice.
* Developing and maintaining team communications with crew to ensure all operations are planned and performed with safety as the number one objective.
* Completing reports as needed after any incident involving passengers, medevacs or emergency events.
* Ensuring that all onboard emergency equipment is maintained in a response ready state.
* Protecting any monies collected, while in personal possession.
* Assisting ground support personnel, co-workers and supervisors, providing a harmonious team environment while ensuring safe, efficient, cost-effective transportation across the United States.
* Ensuring the accuracy of all forms and required paperwork.
* Responding to passenger complaints and problems graciously, resourcefully and tactfully.
* Maintaining cleanliness of the aircraft cabin and ensures that fleet service and catering supplies are boarded as specified.
* Accounting and handling of all controlled items. Performing passenger boarding in all locations serviced by the Boeings. – less

– July 12, 2013

Hi, Thank you for the info . My dream is to work as flight attendant with southwest . Can you please tell me what should i do , or how you did to become FA

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), SeattleMay 22, 2013
Pros: fun, free flights
Cons: pay wasn't great at first
I was there for a short period if time as I wanted to travel the world, though if I had stayed I would have transferred to their in-flight department. They have a great culture and truly take care of their employees who stay with them for the long haul.

About Southwest Airlines

Southwest Airlines Co. (Southwest) is a passenger airline that provides scheduled air transportation in the United States. As – Read more

Southwest Airlines Photos