Southwest Key Programs Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a hit or miss
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  TexasJanuary 8, 2018
If you are a favorite or turn into one of their favorites then you're set. If not then just take this job to make quick money. Keep in mind non profit so no raises. They are always needing personal so it's a job to quickly get and make money. Other then that don't expect much. A lot of work load for little money and they will pin every little bad thing on you before the management dares take blame. You can scratch their back but they won't scratch yours.
Pros
Benefits are great also the Sick leave & Personal leave. Plus you always will have full 40 hours.
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place of employment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Benito, TXJanuary 8, 2018
Great place of employment, great place to learn new skills. Always changing and plenty of room for advancement.
Great pay and benefits along with bonus' based on performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work. Lots of mobility.
Post Release Worker (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXJanuary 7, 2018
Good organization, Good experience. There was too much travel for me in particular and that is the reason that I chose to leave. I appreciate the culture and professionalism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut THroat hostile work environment
Intern Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 5, 2018
SA Tx OFFICE takes the trophy for DIRTY run hostile work environment. Trainer portrays the agency to care for minors and the values of mission of SW Key and boldly act SO NON-TRansparent. The agency has a big staffing poor retention rate, dirty handed poor way of handling pre hires and NOT disclosing work schedules until after training. People new hires have quit voluntarily and have walked out because I don’t blame them they saw the under handed ness of this agency.
Monitor staff is agency monitor checking looking for I don’t know what .
Don’t waste your time WALK BETTER YET RUN FAST AWAY FEOM THIS HOSTILE WORK ENVIRONMENT.
The good qualified staff are the only intelligent ones who want no part of it.
Pros
Nice drive will miss seeing deer
Cons
Management, unethical and underhanded administrators managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work place
YOUTH CARE WORKER (Former Employee) –  San Benito, TXJanuary 5, 2018
I love working with kids which made work much easier. Absolutely love the work environment and how friendly everyone is. Like at any other job, favoritism was horrible! Poor management and supervisors are extremely lazy! They overwork their staff with crazy working hours since this is a 24 hour working job.
Pros
Good benefits, good pay and overtime
Cons
No room for advancement, no raises, hectic working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SWK awesome but no advancement or security
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Clint, TXJanuary 4, 2018
I loved working with the great kids that we got the chance to help. It was a great job until the budget came back at the end of the year and there were many lay offs. I thought I had a secure job and I also had benefits and special duties. I was laid off from one day to the next, no warning. Unemployment is a joke.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As noted below
Clinician/LCSW (Current Employee) –  San Benito, TXJanuary 2, 2018
Prevalent favoritism, hostile work environment, lack of respect for professional employees and predominant intimidation practices and lack of competence in lower and upper management.
Pros
Client population.
Cons
As listed above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good mission. Poor management.
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 30, 2017
The overall purpose of SWK is one that I whole heartedly support. Unfortunately the management is very poor. They do not know how to properly manage minors. There were too many incidents that could have easily been avoided across different facilities involving minors just in the time I was there. If you don't like the idea of being harrassed by a shift leader then I would not recommend working at this one. Same shift leader, different incidents with different people but no help from management. Not to mention the 5 dollar cut to our wage.
Pros
Mission
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very human job
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 29, 2017
It's a good job for people who likes to help teenagers which are without their families. The staff is good mostly the managers. Is a good job for hispanics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a wonderful experience.
Clinician (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZDecember 21, 2017
The work is very intense and you will be responsible for the manors wellbeing. There are very distant timelines and procedures that must to be followed . We had a wonderfully team who collaborated with each other making the work environment pleasant. The work is very demanding; however, the children are great to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No sense of appreciation for Staff! Terrible services for the minors!
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaDecember 19, 2017
Management is TERRIBLE! Lack of professionalism at the regional & corporate level. If staff are not respected and cherished, imagine the minors who come from vulnerable backgrounds. This "non-profit" should be investigated!
Pros
Interacting with minors who deserve better services
Cons
Low-Pay, Inept management, Corruption
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work
Case manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 19, 2017
Excellent work, despite being exposed to many different crisis intervention situations. Very easy to burnout due to workload, but in the end helping the affected minors makes it all worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layoff
Medical Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 18, 2017
Been trying to get back into this company from the layoff but everytime i apply im not hired even thought im rehirable i guess its based on who uou know
Pros
The minors n some co workers
Cons
Management.recruitment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first time job for any one getting out of school
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXDecember 11, 2017
Good first time job for any one getting out of school. Case management has a good culture within there department. But management is not the best. There’s a lot of problems with the “backing up” there employees when something goes bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 7, 2017
Poor management, very unorganized. They would expect you to supposedly work overtime, but ended up cutting your hours or giving you extra days off. No time for a personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping youths
Lead Security Monitor (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZDecember 4, 2017
A nonprofit company dedicated to helping youths from other countries. A very good cause. I was proud to be a member of the family and help in what little way possible for the advancement of the youths.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high paced and huge responsibility
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 2, 2017
Working for a 24 hour facility and with children is a very high paced and huge responsibility. The children at this facility are under the governments guardianship so the expectation of care is very high. Not only is providing the care to our children but handling a staff for 3 shifts is also very demanding. Making sure the safety and security for our minors is being provided at all times.
Pros
learning and teaching culture
Cons
on call at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZNovember 29, 2017
a tipical day at work is to supervise minors at all times, as ycw is not sitting is all time stand up maybe sit down for eating lunch if u r lucky for ten minutes
Pros
fee lunch
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The more they paid the worse they threat the employee
CLINICIAN (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 28, 2017
They treat the employee like slaves Never ever work here. There's is no professionalism at all. The HR department doesn't know the laws and they never protect they employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of favoritism!! Its not about how you work but WHO you know
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  San Benito, TXNovember 28, 2017
Good company but ALOT of favoritism!!! You need to know people to work your way up. 1st shift acts like they own the place and look down at you. Never work 40 hours per week, they schedule monthly meetings and trainings on your days off. Poor management
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks, 2nd shift rarely gets a chance to sit down
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southwest Key Programs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 237 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
3.3