Southwest Minnesota State University Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly working environment
Computer Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Marshall, MNJuly 28, 2015
Working as a student worker/helper in multiple departments in Southwest Minnesota State University (SMSU), I realized that SMSU is a great place for international students like me to step into the working world and still feel welcomed. While working here, I learn that one has to be proactive and be willing to go out of your comfort zone to get to higher places. The hardest part of the job is to be constantly motivated to step into the office and start my routine of looking through a website that I have no control of.
Pros
Friendly working environment, flexible working hours, great for international students working part-time
Cons
Not much job advancement, ineffective working practices
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
President of Black student Union (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNApril 10, 2016
Enjoyed working with all the people I met. Everyday consisted of something a little different, and the management was always fair.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Must be willing to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty great for a first job
Student Center Set Up Crew (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNJuly 9, 2015
The work is easy, but the coworkers and managers are pretty cool, and you'll probably have a decent time working alongside these guys like I have.
Pros
Good work environment, good management
Cons
Some of the coworkers can be pretty flaky at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and conducive working environment
Computer Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNOctober 11, 2015
Encouraging working environment, supervisors always ready to help out and assist in personal growth. such wonderful working experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Aramark Dining Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Marshall,MN56258May 20, 2015
co-workers are really nice and always help each other , and get to learn how to communicate with customer . The hardest part of work is the order you placed are all kind of heavy so you do the lifting most of the time.
Pros
free meal
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Advocate/ Counselor (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNMay 8, 2013
Worked for the Physical Therapist on campus at the time with disciplinary paperwork and new students with disabilities. I helped make sure that the new students on campus with disabilities had a smooth transition from high school through their collegiate careers.
Pros
schedule, friendships
Cons
graduated
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay workplace with my own office
Associate Professor (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNNovember 13, 2014
Classes; graded papers. I learned that some people lie. My coworkers did not seem terribly friendly although I tried to make friends with them.
The hardest part of the job was knowing that I felt like an outsider because I did not work on campus all the time.
The most enjoyable part of the job was my students and my teaching.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Answered questions from students about early coursework.
UNIX Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Marshall, MNOctober 21, 2014
Answered questions from students about python and lower-level coursework.
Offered technical assistance to students using the system and programs in Unix lab.
Notified department head about equipment problems within lab.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was my student teaching experience
Student Teaching (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNMay 1, 2013
I had many different experiences with student teaching but the biggest one was the finale where I student taught for 4 months in a 4th grade classroon (3 months) and an 8th grade classroom (1 month). During this time I performed the basic duties as a teacher. It was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and meaning ful place to work
SMSU Center for Civic Engagement (Former Employee) –  MArshall, MNFebruary 23, 2013
Everything is done for one main cause which is to get others to civilly become aware and get involve.
Pros
close, active work place, freedom for direction on projects
Cons
little supervison
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot, perfect place to start working.
Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNMay 13, 2013
Perfect workplace, worked together in a group and had wonderful team. Great place to start!!!
Pros
free lunch most of time.
Cons
always able to go for short break whenever needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great up coming university!
Men's college rugby coach (Current Employee) –  Marshall, MNDecember 24, 2012
A great university to work and coach for!
I learned a lot about college coaching.
The hardest part of the job was constantly multitasking.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Position
Accounting Officer (Full time Temporary Job) (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNJuly 18, 2014
This was an accounting position and this was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can work under pressure
Admin office (Current Employee) –  Marhall MNJune 10, 2012
Am good at Negotiating and satisfy customer, priority is the first to take care.Am good in making customer to understand better about the company and what we do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct professor
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNMarch 13, 2013
Students are ready to learn and there is lot of room for growing the department.
Pros
students ready to learn
Cons
poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southwest Minnesota State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
3.7

Southwest Minnesota State University Reviews by Location