SOUTHWEST WATER COMPANY Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Payroll Tax Accountant (Former Employee) –  Stafford, TXOctober 19, 2015
Typical Company with fast paced work. Company just needed more structure. Reconcile all of the payroll tax which was backed up but not it is ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Find somewhere else if you are an operator
Facility Wastewater Operator (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 7, 2012
To many Chiefs! You answer to everyone, including the secrataries! If that is not enough, NEVER make a mistake or they will write you up. Very unfriendly management. Their idea of training is you ride with another person for two weeks, if they do not tell you something, its your responsibility to know it! Average length of time an operator stays with the company.........2 years! Also, you have to spend your money and use your vacation to go to continuing education classes. Now with the computers in the trucks, your are monitored from the moment you leave and every minute of your day.
Pros
set your own hours, somewhat
Cons
to many to say in this one line!
Was this review helpful?Yes23No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Bookkeepping/Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSOctober 29, 2013
This company came in a bought the company that I and 10 other staffer had work with for years. SWWC let everbody go.
Pros
good salary
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes11No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy training classes
CUSTOMER SERVICE/DISPATCHER (Former Employee) –  houston txOctober 8, 2012
working at southwest water i received SAP training, Oracle applications training, my co-workers became helpful and pleasant to work with, some management need more training on confidentiality, the hardest part of the job was being short handed on a 12 hr shift, most enjoyable was working with positive and proactive co-workers during long hrs,
Pros
being acknowledge for such great work
Cons
poor scheduling no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for this company and I learned a lot about the water industry.
Client Billing/Contract Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TexasDecember 26, 2012
My job as a Client Biller and Contract Manager Assistant was challenging at times, but I loved my job, because it fulfilled me with great knowledge and skills, and opportunities.
Pros
good benefits, family oriented company
Cons
the company downsized and laid off.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Payment Processing Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2012
Fast past environment, I learned alot working at Southwest Water, I learned all about the MUD Districts.

I meet some great hard working co-works
Pros
we did alot volunteer work to give back to the community
Cons
great benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TexasJuly 4, 2012
At one time SouthWest Water was a great place to call home but today it's frustrating to call it a place to work. As of July 23 over 200 employees will be looking for a job and out of work.
It was a great place (with the right managment) to get knowledge of water/wastewater and software.
The best part of the job was getting to know the vast variety of personalities in the industry.
The hardest part was dealing with the vast variety of personalities in the industry.
Pros
new things to learn each day
Cons
caliber of personnel hired
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun People to Work With
Field Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 8, 2012
The Employees of SouthWest Water Company are great to work with. Although there the Job Security just is not there.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 8, 2015
Check meters.
Made sure I answered customers questions about their bills, and provide the best feed back. I had learned how to communicate and teach our customers on how to maintain the usage of the water.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duties
Quality Analyst and Quality Control (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 23, 2014
• SAP development, testing, implementation, and training project
• Provide coaching assistance to improve level of knowledge and quality performance
• Provided recommendation, processed, and trained continued education of employees
• Develop action plans to improve the level of quality presented to our customers
• Weekly call calibrations with managers to collectively observe agent calls and discuss plans to improve
• Provide feedback to agents and coaches on individual representatives
• Conducted interviews, selected, developed training for new hire employees
• Developed processes for newly established department (Research Team)
• Present weekly and monthly reporting of monitored calls
• Monitor inbound calls for CSC agents
• 08/20/08 Promoted to Quality Assurance Analyst
• Call Monitor for quality assurance and monthly reporting and tracking
• Provide training assistance to familiarize new Contract Managers with Customer Service processes
• Work with multiple departments and groups to resolve billing and technical issues for customers
• Provide assistance with billing inquiries, service issues, setup/disconnection of accounts
• Inbound customer service representative for water service utility provider
Pros
no comment
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dispatching service orders/Purchase order processing
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pflugerville, TXApril 3, 2014
Dispatched service orders to coworkers, processed purchase order requests and filing.
I learned about the water and wastewater process. Also I learned a new processing system (SAP). My coworkers were very kind and enjoyed me asking questions about the processes.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
desk only duties
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work where I met a lot of nice people
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXFebruary 26, 2013
It was a great place to work and I'm very sorry that it shut down the Houston office and that I had to get laid off. I would still be working there if tha thad nt happend
Pros
they had lots of picnics outside, a lot of good people
Cons
switching over to a new system slowed us down
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAP Project Manager
SAP Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Stafford, TXSeptember 12, 2014
learned managing team with complete SDLC cycle.
experience working in extra hours
training & mentoring team memebers
hiring and motivating to reach targets.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun enviroment
MUD Board representative / Client Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 11, 2014
it was a great company to work for .
I enjoyed the clients and the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at SWWC
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 29, 2013
SWWC wasn't a bad place to work, in the 6 years of working for SWWC I learned alot. However it became the same thing everyday. There was no room for growth, and there was no challenge. Co-workers were great. The moral in the place was at all time low.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, and very educating place to work.
Data Control Analyst (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 30, 2012
Southwest Water Company is a good company to work for if you desire to get a better understanding of how a utiltiy district works.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Job
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  HoustonNovember 18, 2014
Did everything anyone needed in the office.
a good learning tool
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3 months w/o healthcare and internet usage monitor
meter reader (Former Employee) –  TexasMay 7, 2012
this company has 3-month probation so you have to buy your own medical insurance in that peroid. Also it blocks many websites and monitor and rank your monthly usage on internet.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment, employee oriented
SAP Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sugarland, TXMarch 24, 2014
efficient, expert and custom delivery of water and wastewater services to hundreds of thousands of customers in four states.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Area
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 28, 2012
Southwest Water company is about business and the company is wastewater only for the Shelby county area.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No11Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.5
Culture
3.4