SOUTHWEST WATER COMPANY Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perks
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 5, 2017
They would bring in lunch, or treats along with providing massages to the employees. You are very busy with phone calls and entering customer information along with setting up accounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SouthWest Water Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 10, 2017
Some days were busier than others. I didn't like the down time. I liked the diversity of the work. They are located at
728 Volare Drive
Birmingham, AL 35244
Pros
I learned a lot under my supervisor.
Cons
There was too much down time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Payroll Tax Accountant (Former Employee) –  Stafford, TXOctober 19, 2015
Typical Company with fast paced work. Company just needed more structure. Reconcile all of the payroll tax which was backed up but not it is ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 8, 2015
Check meters.
Made sure I answered customers questions about their bills, and provide the best feed back. I had learned how to communicate and teach our customers on how to maintain the usage of the water.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Job
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  HoustonNovember 18, 2014
Did everything anyone needed in the office.
a good learning tool
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun enviroment
MUD Board representative / Client Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 11, 2014
it was a great company to work for .
I enjoyed the clients and the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAP Project Manager
SAP Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Stafford, TXSeptember 12, 2014
learned managing team with complete SDLC cycle.
experience working in extra hours
training & mentoring team memebers
hiring and motivating to reach targets.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duties
Quality Analyst and Quality Control (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 23, 2014
• SAP development, testing, implementation, and training project
• Provide coaching assistance to improve level of knowledge and quality performance
• Provided recommendation, processed, and trained continued education of employees
• Develop action plans to improve the level of quality presented to our customers
• Weekly call calibrations with managers to collectively observe agent calls and discuss plans to improve
• Provide feedback to agents and coaches on individual representatives
• Conducted interviews, selected, developed training for new hire employees
• Developed processes for newly established department (Research Team)
• Present weekly and monthly reporting of monitored calls
• Monitor inbound calls for CSC agents
• 08/20/08 Promoted to Quality Assurance Analyst
• Call Monitor for quality assurance and monthly reporting and tracking
• Provide training assistance to familiarize new Contract Managers with Customer Service processes
• Work with multiple departments and groups to resolve billing and technical issues for customers
• Provide assistance with billing inquiries, service issues, setup/disconnection of accounts
• Inbound customer service representative for water service utility provider
Pros
No Comment
Cons
No Comment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dispatching service orders/Purchase order processing
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pflugerville, TXApril 3, 2014
Dispatched service orders to coworkers, processed purchase order requests and filing.
I learned about the water and wastewater process. Also I learned a new processing system (SAP). My coworkers were very kind and enjoyed me asking questions about the processes.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Desk Only Duties
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment, employee oriented
SAP Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sugarland, TXMarch 24, 2014
efficient, expert and custom delivery of water and wastewater services to hundreds of thousands of customers in four states.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
maintenance (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXFebruary 6, 2014
get wet everyday replace pipelines from2' 6' a lot of digging and locating the problem
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Bookkeepping/Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSOctober 29, 2013
This company came in a bought the company that I and 10 other staffer had work with for years. SWWC let everbody go.
Pros
Good Salary
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had worked on the wells.
Water and waste water opperator (Former Employee) –  Magnolia, TXJune 21, 2013
I found it very challageing to fix water leaks. I also enjoyed the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work where I met a lot of nice people
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXFebruary 26, 2013
It was a great place to work and I'm very sorry that it shut down the Houston office and that I had to get laid off. I would still be working there if tha thad nt happend
Pros
they had lots of picnics outside, a lot of good people
Cons
switching over to a new system slowed us down
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at SWWC
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 29, 2013
SWWC wasn't a bad place to work, in the 6 years of working for SWWC I learned alot. However it became the same thing everyday. There was no room for growth, and there was no challenge. Co-workers were great. The moral in the place was at all time low.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for this company and I learned a lot about the water industry.
Client Billing/Contract Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TexasDecember 26, 2012
My job as a Client Biller and Contract Manager Assistant was challenging at times, but I loved my job, because it fulfilled me with great knowledge and skills, and opportunities.
Pros
good benefits, family oriented company
Cons
the company downsized and laid off.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy training classes
CUSTOMER SERVICE/DISPATCHER (Former Employee) –  houston txOctober 8, 2012
working at southwest water i received SAP training, Oracle applications training, my co-workers became helpful and pleasant to work with, some management need more training on confidentiality, the hardest part of the job was being short handed on a 12 hr shift, most enjoyable was working with positive and proactive co-workers during long hrs,
Pros
being acknowledge for such great work
Cons
poor scheduling no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TexasJuly 4, 2012
At one time SouthWest Water was a great place to call home but today it's frustrating to call it a place to work. As of July 23 over 200 employees will be looking for a job and out of work.
It was a great place (with the right managment) to get knowledge of water/wastewater and software.
The best part of the job was getting to know the vast variety of personalities in the industry.
The hardest part was dealing with the vast variety of personalities in the industry.
Pros
new things to learn each day
Cons
caliber of personnel hired
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Payment Processing Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2012
Fast past environment, I learned alot working at Southwest Water, I learned all about the MUD Districts.

I meet some great hard working co-works
Pros
we did alot volunteer work to give back to the community
Cons
great benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun People to Work With
Field Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 8, 2012
The Employees of SouthWest Water Company are great to work with. Although there the Job Security just is not there.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SOUTHWEST WATER COMPANY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4