Find companies:
Sovereign Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
234 reviews

Sovereign Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), East Providence, RIApril 25, 2014
A typical day consisted of answering many incoming calls related to bank account activities. I learned a lot about banking and what best works for different people depending on their lifestyle. I enjoyed working with people of all different ages and ethnicities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counterproductive culture
Banking Center Manager II (Current Employee), Providence, RIApril 13, 2014
Cons: understuffed and overworked employees
Culture is counterproductive between European senior management and American management. There is a disconnect in understanding customer service issues, systems and leveraging employees. No Work/Life balance, no valuing employees as people but treating them rather like numbers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable place to work
bank teller (Former Employee), Nashua, NHApril 9, 2014
Pros: great team, management, coworkers
Cons: short lunch breaks
A typical day at work would be to handle bank transactions such as checking and savings deposits, loan payments, balancing the ATM and currency exchange.
I always found my supervisor and the manager to be approachable. The bank manager had a great sense of humor and it made the work environment very pleasant.
I enjoyed working at this bank as well as – more... at Citizens bank (worked as a banker as well, processing loans, etc) The hardest part of working at Citizens would be the sales goals, as this was challenging. Sovereign Bank did not have sales goals at the time that I worked there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience working for a bank we learned so much and met nice people.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), East Providence, RIMarch 20, 2014
Pros: it was nice speaking to different people daily assisting and met wonderful people in the work place.
Cons: only second shifts available.
While working for Sovereign we were at a call center setting helping customers daily with managing their bank accounts, assisting with transactions, pin resets, account up grades and general help and information on our products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Very Fun co-workers
Over Draft Collections (Former Employee), Reading, PAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: friends with co-workers, pay, vacation time
Cons: cons would have to be when the system would go down and when the customer would hang up on me
I enjoyed going to work everyday. A typical day was getting on the Dialer system to call customers or take incoming calls, The hardest part of the job would have helping the elderly understand why and how their accounts were overdrawn, then trying to help them find a solution to bring their account current. I believe the most enjoyable part of the job – more... would have been the closeness with the co-workers and how well we all worked together. Also the management would be fun at times and very helpful. I gave myself a challenge every month to exceed the goal and that would make me work harder and I enjoyed that – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Banking is awesome at Sovereign
Customer Loan Specialist (Former Employee), Reading, PAMarch 3, 2014
The company has room for growth. The employees are great to work with. it's a very friendly atmosphere. I enjoyed working with my customers to bring their problems to resolution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finance Can be fun
Administrative Assistant to Senior Vice President (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 27, 2014
I found it to be a great place to work. Lots of different aspect to further your career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Head Teller Assistant (Former Employee), Elizabeth, NJFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: great place
Cons: salary
I used to love working there. Made me feel like family. I had to leave because my school hours were conflicting with my work hours. This is a team oriented company....well depending on which branch you work at
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Teller/ CSR (Former Employee), Hamilton, NJFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: meet variety of people
Flex with employees very comfortable place to work. Lovely environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Assistant Vice President, Branch Manager (Former Employee), Stirling, NJFebruary 4, 2014
Spend most of your day outside the office networking and focusing on business development. Lobby management to help provide a positive customer experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same
Lead Support Representative (Former Employee), Reading, PAJanuary 28, 2014
Same information as provided for Santander. Sovereign bank was taken over by Santander so therefore daily job duties and roles are very similar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales driven not customer service oriented
Bank Teller (Current Employee), PAJanuary 14, 2014
Cons: highly sales driven, poor customer service model, high turn over, no staff, late nights, no family work balance, no lunch breaks (when no staff to cover), sales goals extremely hard to reach and bonus is not worth the time
Sovereign/ Santander US: Work every weekend, no staff to alternate shifts with, work over time, over time is unapproved, do not get a lunch break (creates more overtime), Branch level management is mediocre at best, DE and corporate message is not motivating at all, run by intimidation,referrals for bonuses are "scrubbed" in any way possible to eliminate – more... payout. Payout (for tellers) are minimal, High stress negative environment, Typical day consists of one teller on the line alone working open to close, Day starts with a mandatory conference call that leaves you feeling hopeless and nervous about sales production, calls continue 3-5 more times a day not allowing time for completing customer service tasks, organization and production; MULTI TASKING all day, working with one other person in the branch who is just as overwhelmed and multitasking, cannot leave for a lunch break, cannot leave one person alone in branch, Lucky to have a minute to run to the bathroom, some times you might manage to heat up food for lunch but get three bites in between phone calls and revolving door of customers before food is cold and not worth eating at 4PM, Sales calls are required from Platform and tellers. Mandatory calls nights 1-3 nights a week (until 7 PM), if unobtainable goals are not met threats are made daily to have to drive 2 hrs or more to a "central location" for individual reprimanding and group "skill building sessions", " Sessions are scheduled hrs away from home and scheduled until 7PM or weekends. If you decline to go you get called insubordinate, if you do not produce the exact number of accounts, credit cards, loans, etc. you are told to on the exact day you are told to you get called insubordinate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Administrative Assistance to VP (Former Employee), Toms River, NJJanuary 10, 2014
Great atmosphere to work. Management and co-workers were always pleasant and willing to help. Working with different people on a daily basis is something I enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank
Financial Specialist (Current Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 2, 2014
Learned the ins and outs of the banking industry. Gain experience working with bank clients and prospects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank Teller
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Cranston, RIDecember 29, 2013
Daily bank transactions for individuals as well as local businesses. Closing and balancing personal draw and closing procedures with the vault.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Busy. Enjoy Banking
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Dresher, PADecember 28, 2013
Pros: healthcare/clients/co-workers
Having worked at Sovereign Bank for such a long period of time, I got to know so many regulars that came in. For me, banking is what I really enjoy doing. I don't think there was anything difficult about this job. It came so natural. Loved working along side of co-workers, my boss, and loved the clientele that came in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable group of people to work with.
Financial Control Analyst (Former Employee), DORCHESTER, MADecember 24, 2013
Pros: enjoyable working environment.
I supervised a small group of Financial analysts that performed job assignments daily and monthly. I was able to learn to support any issues encountered by my team and other departments that needed expert knowledge and information that I had learned to access and understand.
My co-workers were always very appreciative and a pleasure to work with.
I – more... always enjoyed interacting with my fellow workers, being able to assist with them getting their job done.
The hardest part of the job was when I was assigned a project and had to still cover my normal responsibilities. It was a challenge at
time.
Manage was appreciative and cooperative. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teller job
Teller (Former Employee), Long Branch, NJDecember 21, 2013
cashed checks, made withdrawals and deposits, did ATM work, sales to customers, answered phones, worked on computer, money orders and cashier checks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global bank with a small US focus
Branch Manager II (Current Employee), Lafayette Hill, PADecember 2, 2013
Pros: soical interaction with employees and customers.
Cons: achievements are not recognized, and resources are limited
the company is attempting to merge with Santander Bank,
We are currently experiencing a freeze of advancement for employees, and the overall idea is to continue business as usual.
The company admits to being understaffed, and having a second tier operating system (computers, network).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We all worked together very well as a team
Branch Manager / Vice President (Former Employee), Scotch Plains, NJNovember 27, 2013
Pros: i am a people person, management was professional and got along very well with everybody
Cons: healthcare
Typical day:
5 minutes daily jump start
Employee coacing, Every Monday we had a sell meeting with all the employess and went over were we were stating towars reaching the goals and how much we need to make and surplus the quartelly branch goal.
Contact business customersto to set up appointments to stop by their during during the week for accout review – more... and perhaps sell additional products that would benefit them better.Lobby Ledership, we took turns between the personal bankers,had at the end of the day review with each platform person to go over what they acomplished for the day and how many apointments they had for the next day and what was their plan as well for the next day. I was asked to be introduced all business customers that went to make deposits at the teller line or if they
were sitting with one of my platform person. I would like to sit with them to go ove their potfolio and if theydid not had time I would schedule an appointment to go to their busines.We also had abot 1 or 2 conference calls a day to report how as the day going and then a the end ofthe day.

The most enjoable part of my job: I loved people, I am a people person, it was so rewarding when they trusted me and I could it help them. I treated my job like was my own business!!! Wanted to suceed!!

My co-workers:
We all work together and got along well, we were almost like a family that we all wanted to help and we all wanted to suceed and achieve the branch goals %100 ++

The hardest part of my job.....acually nothing important....maybe the widgets (the little $10 checking accounts - we had to have 3 aday) where I coul it be doing something more lucrative

What I learned:
Every company is different, I enjoyed workingthere for10 years with Sovereign, but then I decided to pursue my childhood dream of going to medical school......and now I can see that it isn't for me and I do mis bancking!! and my customes!! – less

About Sovereign Bank

Santander Holdings USA is the parent company of Sovereign Bank, which reigns in the Northeast with more than 700 branch locations. – Read more