Sovereign Bank Employee Reviews in United States

Found 309 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Support
Retail Support III (Former Employee) –  Reading, PAAugust 23, 2014
The upper management didn't care about their employees. There is plenty of jobs but you need to enjoy being on the phone and meeting goals and dealing with not the easiest coworkers because everyone is under so much pressure to meet goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Consumer Lending Processor (Former Employee) –  Toms River, NJAugust 12, 2014
I gained a tremendous amount of knowledge during my time at Sovereign Bank working with home equity loans along with personal loans. I worked with consumers from the application process up until closing, going over documents, terms of their loan, and learning about equity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Financial Relationship Specialist (Former Employee) –  Freehold, NJJuly 26, 2014
Helped customers manage thier money
helped the customers with all issues they have
Management was very helpful
kept everyone on target
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved educating my team
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 16, 2014
Great bank to work for. They really care about their employee's.
Pros
lunch and learn classes with food provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting the Customers Needs
CCC Online Rep (Current Employee) –  Reading, PAJuly 15, 2014
Provide the customers with the best customers service and sale products to their best of need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice company to work with
Teller (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 8, 2014
Well the workers are really good its a hard working team, we have experience rough and nice customers but our team have an outstanding customer service back ground skills so we always do our best to please our customer at all time
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Quality and Training Manager (Current Employee) –  Reading, PAJuly 2, 2014
Learn something new everyday. Satisfaction of helping customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere with great coworkers that treat you like family.
Customer Service Representative/Teller (Former Employee) –  Shillington, PAJune 26, 2014
I learned a great deal about the bank and about how different aspects of financing worked. There was room for growth within the company, and they encouraged it.
Pros
great schedule
Cons
favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Personal Banker (Former Employee) –  Wareham, MAJune 23, 2014
Activley sell Sovereign Bank products. Provide exceptional customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing different characters was really fun
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Blue Bell, PAJune 14, 2014
Manage over 1000 accounts over $34million deposits.
Develop and grow existing investment and banking portfolios: while concentrating on 100% clients retention, by selling Sovereign Bank products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Community Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Stirling, NJJune 4, 2014
Learned sales, coaching a team.
Manage Goals
Community Involvement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teller
Teller Supervisor (Former Employee) –  York, PAMay 28, 2014
Managed, organized and maintained daily operations of branch, ordered weekly cash, performed monthly audits on team, followed policies and procedures, attended and participated in monthly meeting, planned weekly staff schedules, assign different task to team, order branch supplies, ATM custodian, key holder, sell upgrades to better suit customer needs
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the hours I worked here.
Ft Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, N.J.May 2, 2014
I enjoyed the relationships that were developed while working here. Customers as well as staff. The benefit package as well as pay was great!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work for this company again
Branch Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 28, 2014
The morale at Soverign is very low. Employees walk around in fear of losing there jobs if they do not exceed expectations daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Personal Banking Representative/ (Current Employee) –  east providenceApril 26, 2014
great place•a typical day at work
•what you learned•management•your co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  East Providence, RIApril 25, 2014
A typical day consisted of answering many incoming calls related to bank account activities. I learned a lot about banking and what best works for different people depending on their lifestyle. I enjoyed working with people of all different ages and ethnicities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counterproductive culture
Banking Center Manager II (Current Employee) –  Providence, RIApril 13, 2014
Culture is counterproductive between European senior management and American management. There is a disconnect in understanding customer service issues, systems and leveraging employees. No Work/Life balance, no valuing employees as people but treating them rather like numbers
Cons
understuffed and overworked employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable place to work
bank teller (Former Employee) –  Nashua, NHApril 9, 2014
A typical day at work would be to handle bank transactions such as checking and savings deposits, loan payments, balancing the ATM and currency exchange.
I always found my supervisor and the manager to be approachable. The bank manager had a great sense of humor and it made the work environment very pleasant.
I enjoyed working at this bank as well as at Citizens bank (worked as a banker as well, processing loans, etc) The hardest part of working at Citizens would be the sales goals, as this was challenging. Sovereign Bank did not have sales goals at the time that I worked there.
Pros
great team, management, coworkers
Cons
short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience working for a bank we learned so much and met nice people.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  East Providence, RIMarch 20, 2014
While working for Sovereign we were at a call center setting helping customers daily with managing their bank accounts, assisting with transactions, pin resets, account up grades and general help and information on our products.
Pros
it was nice speaking to different people daily assisting and met wonderful people in the work place.
Cons
only second shifts available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and Very Fun co-workers
Over Draft Collections (Former Employee) –  Reading, PAMarch 19, 2014
I enjoyed going to work everyday. A typical day was getting on the Dialer system to call customers or take incoming calls, The hardest part of the job would have helping the elderly understand why and how their accounts were overdrawn, then trying to help them find a solution to bring their account current. I believe the most enjoyable part of the job would have been the closeness with the co-workers and how well we all worked together. Also the management would be fun at times and very helpful. I gave myself a challenge every month to exceed the goal and that would make me work harder and I enjoyed that
Pros
friends with co-workers, pay, vacation time
Cons
cons would have to be when the system would go down and when the customer would hang up on me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 310 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2