Sparks Personnel Services, Inc.

Sparks Personnel Services, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 59 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another typical Temporary Agency.
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAJanuary 26, 2016
You must know every office skill there is to know. Again they take all your information and they might call you once this year.
Pros
None.
Cons
Too many of them in business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive company
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Greenbelt, MDDecember 1, 2015
Very helpful. The are quick to put you onto another site after your contract is up for your previous company. They are also very professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greak work enivornment
administrative assistant (Current Employee) –  Frederick, MDNovember 6, 2015
Fast paced workplace with a supportive team. Gaining a lot of knowledge about the delivery business. Room for advancement. Room to be yourself and offer new ideas to help run business more effectively.
Pros
knowledge, co-workers and management team
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temping Experience
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDOctober 5, 2015
Unfortunately, I felt that the temping experience didn't work in my favor because their was not place for me to developed job growth.
Pros
Self-discovering
Cons
Temping from place to place
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sparks
Temp Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDJuly 22, 2015
Sparks is a great place to start and begin the process to find a job. They are highly recommended if you want a corporate office position.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast pace
Painter/ Larbor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 11, 2015
Painting board, prep, pull stock, clean, prepare of show event package and wrap inventory, pull and move supplies with pallet jack.
Pros
Everyone was very pleasent
Cons
Layoff
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR Coordinator
Meeting Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Teaneck, NJMarch 10, 2015
Managed new hires documentation, background checks, drug testing for new employees at new client sites. Coworkers were the best team i have worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sparks...
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDFebruary 19, 2015
I liked working for them as well. I just wish they had more longer term positions. Communication should be worked on a little.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Temp Agency
HealthStream Phone Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDFebruary 2, 2015
A very good temp agency where they really help you find a position within your field as well as provide great customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lies is all Sparks is about
Punching Bag (Former Employee) –  Las VegasJanuary 31, 2015
As soon as the show is over so are you. Worst Co I have ever worked for. Management is so full of BS They say they wont hire anyone with a felony record , But there shop foreman has a Felony DUI Unless you know There plant supervisor take my advice keep looking.
Cons
everything they tell you
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are of African descent don't waste your time!
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Sterling Heights , MichiganJanuary 19, 2015
This place has temporarily ruined me!.. I quit a job to work for them and they worked me for two days and laid me off. Because I quit my former job on such short notice I wasn't able to go back. They.have been unsupportive in finding me another assignment. I hate Sparks....DirtBags!!!!
Cons
they don't care about melanated (black) employees!
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staffing agency with vast job placements
Office/Administrative Services (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDDecember 31, 2014
I loved working for Sparks. It gave me a lot of different work experiences in a lot of different fields
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite and Demanding
Data Entry Specialist (Former Employee) –  Centreville, VANovember 16, 2014
I worked for Sparks for a company as a temp. The training was not great and expectations were to much for the computer system which failed contantly. I learned how the lilly program worked and it was the most easy part of my job.
The manager I reported to was great and understanding. Co- workers we fun and great at helping others.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with the computer system that was always slow and wouldnt allow you to do your job effectively.

I enjoyed the employees who were there to support me and made things worth being there.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive place to work and learn
Underwriter 1R (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 14, 2014
I work with an amazing team, but sometimes there is disorganization. Hardest part of the job is not getting titles back.
Pros
working with a good team
Cons
manatory overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Clerical Worker (Former Employee) –  Beltsville, MDOctober 30, 2014
This company is loyal, committed, and really care about your professional growth and compassionately acknowledges your personal needs not penalizes you for things you can't control.
Pros
reliable
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only temporary position to fill in for an employee on maternity leave.
Assistant, Long & Foster Property Management (Former Employee) –  Centreville, VASeptember 16, 2014
Learned to submit work orders and resolve tenant issues. Organized property managers files.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work
LPN (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARAugust 18, 2014
Not adequate staff and little effort to keep and take care of current staff. Management does not communicate well.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts Payable
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAJuly 30, 2014
• Enter monthly vendor invoices, subcontractors and consultants
• Enter voucher information into Purchase Order log so that status of P.O.s can be tracked
• Print voucher forms and provide information to Controller for review
• Work with the Controller to resolve any issues with invoices
• File all paid expenses for vendors and employees
• Make copies of signed checks for vendor files
• Mail checks to vendors
• Assist employees with general questions on electronic expense submissions
• Receives, researches and resolves a variety of routine internal and external inquiries concerning account status, communicating Receives, researches and resolves a variety of routine internal and external inquiries concerning account status, including communicating the resolution of discrepancies to appropriate persons.
• Files, maintains, and distributes accounting documents, records and reports
• Assists with posting of cash receipts and other routine accounting functions
• Performs other duties as required to support the Finance Department
Was this review helpful?YesNo7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a good day
Teller (Credit Union) (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 6, 2014
enjoys working with people, on a daily basis I answered incoming phone calls regarding claims issues via telephone, or email.
Pros
team work
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDMay 23, 2014
I would work with them again if given another position opening. They placed me in some very great work environments.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 60 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture