Find companies:
SPARTECH
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 reviews

SPARTECH Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So So company
Operator/Martial Handler (Former Employee), Cape Girardeau, MOFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: made good friends
Cons: always working
A typical day included weighing up blends to run in machine to make plastics. I learn how to run an extruder. Management wasn't the best,mostly in office. Corporate had no clue what it took to do the job and changing policies that made the job tex times harder then it should of been. My co-workers were pretty good,i made some great friends. The hardest – more... part of the job was the heat,having to be up 30 feet for an hour to two hours at a time in 100+ degrees.The most enjoyavle part of the job was the people i worked beside and plus the pay was good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed my time there
Mill Operator (Former Employee), Salisbury, MDFebruary 13, 2014
I didn't work there long but my time there was an overall good and genuine experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization and facilities in a difficult economic climate
Senior Dev. Eng., Specialty Colors and Compounds (Former Employee), Donora, PANovember 12, 2013
Pros: facilities, personnel, scope of products, regulatory structure, big organizaiton
Cons: just happened to be there when the economy took a downturn.
Worked in Monongahela PA when the global economy took a giant down-turn. Spartech shut a number of plants and our facility downsized as well. We had great equipment, well maintained, screw extrusion (twin and single) with powder and liquid feeds, lamination lines for roofing compounds and incorporation of polyester scrim. Excellent laboratory with TGA, – more... DSC, Dielectric Characterization, Color (Beckman), Ash, Gloss, SAP data base with integral on-line process data, full pilot laboratory with extrusion, sheet and film lines, two banburys, hot presses and most impressive was an FTIR microscope for analysis. Great management and personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Operator (Current Employee), Lake Charles, LAAugust 10, 2013
Good people to work with.
Good pay checks.
Overtime.
Plant closing in January
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive growth environment
Development Engineer (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: strong technology advancements in engineered tpo compounds.
Cons: job security
Great people to work with! Team motivated environment. First class innovation center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
making plastic cups (Former Employee), Muncie, INNovember 28, 2012
Pros: 30 min break
Cons: it was a 12 hr shift
Very fast paced and the co-workers were real easy to get along with. The kool thing i learned was how plastic jello cups were made to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people but in need of serious management
Corporate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOAugust 15, 2012
Pros: rewarding innovative thinkers
Cons: senior management is isolated
Financially driven company, needs to invest more to provide customer solutions and operational improvements to be competitive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding expierences and many friends
Production Manager (Former Employee), Stratford, ONJune 6, 2013
I enjoyed the years and all the experiences that went along with working at Spartech. The plant has now closed down and moved. I will miss all the friends made over the years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
CI Human Resource Coordinator (Current Employee), StratfordOctober 18, 2012
Spartech – Specialty Compound and Color Division
Continuous Improvement / Human Resource Coordinator (Focused on linear, incremental improvement within the existing processes, driving change, reduce costs and improve efficiencies)
(65 employees)

• Managed all aspects of the HR department, including recruitment, discipline, reviews, payroll, scheduling – more... and more.
• Completed monthly production reports, analyze information, determine what operational procedures can be improved to cater to customer needs, revise systems that do away with redundancy, and evaluate operations.
• 5s leader, Kaizen Event Chief, and integral part of the team driving change. – less

About SPARTECH

Spartech takes ordinary plastic and makes it special. The company compounds basic plastic resins from other suppliers into sheet – Read more