Special Olympics

Special Olympics Employee Reviews in United States

Found 38 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Instructor/ Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Shamokin, PaSeptember 4, 2013
Awesome opportunity and time with handicapped patients. I taught c and learned a lot from the special olmmpics.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to volunteer at .
Special Olympics Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Pawtucket, RIAugust 19, 2013
Great Happy people who appreciate everything you do. Pleasure to work with and will continue to volunteer with such a professional and encouring place to be at.
Pros
positive people
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love voluntering
Cashier/Cart Driver (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIAugust 2, 2013
Very fun!. Loved volunteering with special Olympics at Country/Rock USA. Learned to help out people and handle money.
Pros
got to see some of the singers
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved being a Volunteer for the kids
❸ Special Olympics Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bolivar, MOJuly 1, 2013
The kids are great and I love helping them everyday. It brightened my day when I came to help them.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my work here
Special Olympics Coach (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 25, 2013
The best volunteer job possible. It's fun working with the athletes one-on-one, and the relationships you make will last for a life time
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping special needs kids
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 13, 2013
You are assigned a buddy(s) and you are to entertain really, make sure they have a good time and get there physical. Then when they leave more kids comes in and you get a new buddy(s) to entertain while waiting for their turn to get a physical.
Pros
its a fun experience, it makes the kids happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with disabled kids
Special Olympics Coach (Current Employee) –  Warrenton, MOFebruary 5, 2013
I volunteer every Wednesday to Coach basketball for Special Olympics. I enjoy going to practice with them and helping them learn new skills and seeing them improve. While Coaching i have learned to have more patience and good verbal skills and being able to mulitast to i can get everything done in the time we have for practice.
Pros
working with kids
Cons
dont get paid
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inspiring
Event Worker (Former Employee) –  Belton, TXFebruary 3, 2013
Just watching over the events and making sure everything went smoothly
Pros
inspiring kids
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring
Event Worker (Former Employee) –  Belton, TXFebruary 3, 2013
Just watching over the events and make sure everything went smoothy.
Pros
helping the kids out
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJanuary 31, 2013
this was a volunteer meet in ABQ, nothing can come from this review. Still an amazing exp though
Pros
helping kids have fun
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHJanuary 18, 2013
helped coach my friends brothers team, very very good experience
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome volunteer opportunity!
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Clarion, PADecember 10, 2012
The experience is very humbling. You will work directly with the competitors and you will help and support them throughout the day. You will be assigned to a specific activity.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to volunteer for, learned a lot from great people.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Granville, OHNovember 7, 2012
• Expressed initiative by organizing fellow Denison athletes to volunteer
• Coordinated and administered multiple swimming and Track & Field events
• Coordinated and administered award ceremonies for swim and Track & Field events
• Organized location of sporting events and after award ceremonies.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Fundraising/Events Coordination Intern (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CASeptember 12, 2012
This is such a great organization to work with. A typical day as an intern would include working towards an event or fundraiser with the two women who run the program. Often times athletes would stop by to say hello and it was a great atmosphere.
Pros
fulfilling work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special Olympics
Volunteer/Coach (Current Employee) –  Plant City, FLJuly 28, 2012
Running practices, spending time with the team after practices and before games. I learned that it's better to give then receive and the best reward is knowing you did something good from the community. the hardest part of my job would be the season ending and waiting for a new season to begin. The beginning and during the season.
Pros
road trips, different gyms, tournaments
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Landover, MDMay 16, 2012
The Special Olympics was a bundle of fun. I learned about the value of life while working here. The most amazing thing about this was to see the smiles on all of the children's faces.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive Organization with great communication
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Southern California, Orange County, CAMay 7, 2012
Love to volunteer for The Special Olympics in the Bowling Conference for Southern California. My duties were to assist the Athletes on when to go up and became as a Bowling Coordinator Volunteer. Made sure the Athletes were aware with bowling policies and giving them a lot of encouragement. The most enjoyable part on volunteering is the smiles, heart, athlete they are to have wonderful talents and lastly the family, friends, coaches, staff, and everyone who volunteers to give this wonderful Athletes encourgement and a good deed. I have been volunteering for The Special Olympics along time. It is in my heart and duty to help volunteer for my whole life.
Pros
free breakfast, goodies, lunch, the smiles of the athletes, cheers, encouragement, the heart of everyone has for everyone, everyone is a winner
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

See more Special Olympics reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.8
Based on 44 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture