Special Olympics Employee Reviews

Found 41 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a lot of fun.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Cushing, OKFebruary 12, 2014
I had a good time helping out with the Special Olympics. it was a good experience and was a great day to be outside and enjoy the weather.
Pros
I got to feel good knowing i hepled out.
Cons
There was none
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Special Olympics Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Wooster, OhioNovember 14, 2013
I had an amazing time volunteering for the Special Olympics. I was able to work alongside my college teammates and give back to the community to the children who were able to compete. It was a truly rewarding and humbling experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun experiences
volunteer work (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 15, 2013
i am very passionate when it deals with mentally challenge people because some are more worse causes then others and also because they may never experience the things regular individuals do. i like watching their face expressions and excitement in winning or even having fun. The worst part is watching them lose or get upset because they dont have the ability as others and some dont comprehend very well.
Pros
seeing them lose, watching them fail, seeing them get mad
Cons
helping with making individuals happy and feel good about themselfs
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Instructor/ Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Shamokin, PaSeptember 4, 2013
Awesome opportunity and time with handicapped patients. I taught c and learned a lot from the special olmmpics.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to volunteer at .
Special Olympics Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Pawtucket, RIAugust 19, 2013
Great Happy people who appreciate everything you do. Pleasure to work with and will continue to volunteer with such a professional and encouring place to be at.
Pros
Positive People
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love voluntering
Cashier/Cart Driver (Former Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIAugust 2, 2013
Very fun!. Loved volunteering with special Olympics at Country/Rock USA. Learned to help out people and handle money.
Pros
Got to see some of the singers
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved being a Volunteer for the kids
❸ Special Olympics Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bolivar, MOJuly 1, 2013
The kids are great and I love helping them everyday. It brightened my day when I came to help them.

Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my work here
Special Olympics Coach (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 25, 2013
The best volunteer job possible. It's fun working with the athletes one-on-one, and the relationships you make will last for a life time
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping special needs kids
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 13, 2013
You are assigned a buddy(s) and you are to entertain really, make sure they have a good time and get there physical. Then when they leave more kids comes in and you get a new buddy(s) to entertain while waiting for their turn to get a physical.
Pros
its a fun experience, it makes the kids happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with disabled kids
Special Olympics Coach (Current Employee) –  Warrenton, MOFebruary 5, 2013
I volunteer every Wednesday to Coach basketball for Special Olympics. I enjoy going to practice with them and helping them learn new skills and seeing them improve. While Coaching i have learned to have more patience and good verbal skills and being able to mulitast to i can get everything done in the time we have for practice.
Pros
working with kids
Cons
dont get paid
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inspiring
Event Worker (Former Employee) –  Belton, TXFebruary 3, 2013
Just watching over the events and making sure everything went smoothly
Pros
inspiring kids
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring
Event Worker (Former Employee) –  Belton, TXFebruary 3, 2013
Just watching over the events and make sure everything went smoothy.
Pros
helping the kids out
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJanuary 31, 2013
this was a volunteer meet in ABQ, nothing can come from this review. Still an amazing exp though
Pros
helping kids have fun
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHJanuary 18, 2013
helped coach my friends brothers team, very very good experience
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome volunteer opportunity!
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Clarion, PADecember 10, 2012
The experience is very humbling. You will work directly with the competitors and you will help and support them throughout the day. You will be assigned to a specific activity.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to volunteer for, learned a lot from great people.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Granville, OHNovember 7, 2012
• Expressed initiative by organizing fellow Denison athletes to volunteer
• Coordinated and administered multiple swimming and Track & Field events
• Coordinated and administered award ceremonies for swim and Track & Field events
• Organized location of sporting events and after award ceremonies.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Fundraising/Events Coordination Intern (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CASeptember 12, 2012
This is such a great organization to work with. A typical day as an intern would include working towards an event or fundraiser with the two women who run the program. Often times athletes would stop by to say hello and it was a great atmosphere.
Pros
fulfilling work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special Olympics
Volunteer/Coach (Current Employee) –  Plant City, FLJuly 28, 2012
Running practices, spending time with the team after practices and before games. I learned that it's better to give then receive and the best reward is knowing you did something good from the community. the hardest part of my job would be the season ending and waiting for a new season to begin. The beginning and during the season.
Pros
road trips, different gyms, tournaments
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Place
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Landover, MDMay 16, 2012
The Special Olympics was a bundle of fun. I learned about the value of life while working here. The most amazing thing about this was to see the smiles on all of the children's faces.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive Organization with great communication
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Southern California, Orange County, CAMay 7, 2012
Love to volunteer for The Special Olympics in the Bowling Conference for Southern California. My duties were to assist the Athletes on when to go up and became as a Bowling Coordinator Volunteer. Made sure the Athletes were aware with bowling policies and giving them a lot of encouragement. The most enjoyable part on volunteering is the smiles, heart, athlete they are to have wonderful talents and lastly the family, friends, coaches, staff, and everyone who volunteers to give this wonderful Athletes encourgement and a good deed. I have been volunteering for The Special Olympics along time. It is in my heart and duty to help volunteer for my whole life.
Pros
free breakfast, goodies, lunch, the smiles of the athletes, cheers, encouragement, the heart of everyone has for everyone, everyone is a winner
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

See more Special Olympics reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Special Olympics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.8
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.5
Culture
4.7