Find companies:
Spectrum Healthcare Resources
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Spectrum Healthcare Resources Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Company for the U.S. Army
Nurse Case Manager (Former Employee), Fort Knox, KyJuly 24, 2014
Pros: awesome work environment
Cons: instability of job security
This was a wonderful experience. I thoroughly enjoyed the work. I learned a great deal about case management and how to assist my patients more effectively. I assisted United States service members who had been wounded in combat and/or here in the united states with a traumatic brain injury. My job was to ensure that my patients set the appointments – more... they needed and were able to make it to them. I also helped them to manage the red tape involved with navigating the military and the healthcare system. My coworkers were wonderful. I generally get along with everyone, but the people in this clinic were great to work with. The hardest part of the job was the patients who did not want help, but who needed it. The balance between advocating for the need for treatment and respecting the patient's right to refuse treatment is sometimes difficult. The most enjoyable part of the job was teaching and helping my patients to understand the need for treatment and how to help themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back Office Medical Assistant/ Contract Employee
Back Office Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Mike O'Callaghan Federal Hospital, Nellis AFBJuly 10, 2014
Cons: company was in another state so any problems had to be taken care of with phone calls
Preparing exam rooms for the patients. Take vital signs and chief complaint and enter into the computer. Assist the physician with procedures. Clean and stock exam rooms. Keep current with Air Force Base continuing education.

Most of the co-workers were active duty airmen.

The hardest part of the job was getting used to the military way of doing things.

The – more... most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Friendly folks.
STERILIZATION TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Spring Lake, NCJune 20, 2014
Very good, very professional and great attitudes here. Pay is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work week
Medical Technician (Former Employee), Dover, DEMay 20, 2014
some days a worked as a lab tech drawing blood, most days I just did simple administrative work such as filing, checking in patients, and coding. and some days I evaluated patients for the doctors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, enjoyed working with residents.
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Derby, CTMarch 18, 2014
I washed dishes and set up trays, but the coworkers were unpleasant. It's important for me to work in a team environment- or alone. But If i'm with a team it's important everyone's on the same page.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible to their employees only value the money they can make from your hard work.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Ft. Carson, COMarch 6, 2014
Pros: financial compensation
Cons: everything else
I jumped through so many hoops to get a contract with this company. And then after being on the job for three months, they canceled my contract without any explanation or reason. My performance received praise and compliments from the site and then out of no where they canceled my contract giving me no recourse. The orientation was a joke. They only – more... care about getting you on the floor to make money off of your hours. They do not care about the employees, they only care about the money they've already received to staff the position. This company will terminate your contract at any time for no valid reason and you just have to deal with it. I strongly do not recommend you waste your time dealing with this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap, self absorbed and horribly run management
Manager (Former Employee), Torrington CT.January 18, 2014
Pros: all the friendly every day people who choose to just do their jobs, keep quiet and stay out of the drama.
Cons: upper management and favorites
This company cares more about inter-company personal relationships than the normal every day employee. Will they listen to your problem or idea? SURE while laughing to friends and never acting on them. Too many Politics, spy's and an HR/Controlling lawyer (Dave) who is allowed to step on anyone while making every day bad decisions. Already lost a couple – more... properties due to mismanagement and will continue to lose others. GRADE F AS PEOPLE WHO CARE! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run a very busy Occupational Health Unit
Occupational Health Nurse and Coordinator I, RN (Current Employee), Fort Belvoir, VAJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: monday to friday day work
Cons: volume - one nurse to a large population of 5k-8k people daily.
I enjoy every aspect of my job except the volume sometimes. At times there just is not enough of me to go around. I have wonderful clients, but some very sick ones. I receive many "thank yous" daily from them. I do my best to always provide each client with the maximum possible care and education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you like to work independently
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZDecember 17, 2013
Nice clinic with great providers. I would room patients and prepare them for their visit with the doctor. Clean and restock exam rooms appropriately. Assist the provider in procedures, collect specimen and send off to lab, prepare and administer injections as per doctor order. Co-workers were great and all staff was very friendly. Hardest part of job – more... was getting patient prepared for doctor visit on time, especially when they showed up a few minutes late. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SHR is new to operating a health facility, previous experience for the company is staffing ERs. Their experience has involved military facilities too
Appointment Center Supervisor (Current Employee), Fairfax, VAOctober 29, 2013
Pros: flexible hours as a salaried employee
Cons: amount of raise, lack of advancement
Typically, I managed my staff in the Appointment Center; coverage, answering questions, and speaking with patients the clerks were not able to help. I also worked with the Lead Physician entering schedules, noting scheduling problems.
I also attended different management meetings. I learned management views problem solutions with different guidelines – more... than the workers view problems.
The hardest part of the job was solving problems and everyone being satisfied with the compromises. At the same time, the most enjoyable part of the job was finding solutions that worked for everyone!
My co-workers were very helpful and great partners. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical experience
Clinical Experience (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIAugust 26, 2013
Very friendly staff members, and very well educated nurses. Allowed the student nurses a lot of hands on experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive agency and great staff always professional and friendly
Receptionist /Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 29, 2013
A typical day at work was normally busy, working with multiple physicians and patients. Provided care, education, various tests, injections, and front desk tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exceptional patient care
Administrative Assistant/Patient Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIMay 6, 2013
exceptional patient care, fun work atmosphere, challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Physician (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 19, 2013
I enjoyed the staff they are very friendly and helpful with finding me employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT RECOMMEND
healthcare (Former Employee), u.s.February 14, 2013
Cons: too many to mention all
THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT EMPLOYEES THAT ARE WORKING FOR A MILITARY FACILITY, JUST ABOUT MONEY THAT THEY GET FROM THE GOVT. VACATION AND SICK DAYS ARE A JOKE. INSURANCE PREMIUMS ARE SKY HIGH AND MAKE SURE THAT YOU ASK LOTS OF QUESTIONS BEFORE YOU ACCEPT JOB...LOTS OF HIDDEN EXPENSES THAT BY LAW, THEY DO NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR AND THEY WILL NOT TELL YOU THAT – more... UNLESS YOU ASK. FURTHERMORE, YOU HAVE NO LEGAL RIGHTS TO BACK YOU UP IF YOU NEED IT...IF MILATIRY TREATS YOU BAD OR DISCRIMINATES AGIANST YOU...YOU HAVE NO UNION TO BACK YOU UP LIKE GS EMPLOYEES DO...NCOIC, MILITARY BOSSES HATE CONTRACT EMPLOYEES.. BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY AND THEIR LIES!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Physical therapist assistant (Current Employee), Ansonia, CTJanuary 3, 2013
A laid back atmosphere with friendly staff. Great benefits and wonderful and management. One the best places I've worked at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great company to work for !
Substance Abuse Counselor/Cont. Care Coordinator (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOOctober 26, 2012
Pros: very employee oriented, solid company with good pay & good benefits.
Cons: no personal connection with management since they are out of state.
They take care of their employees and I would recommend them to anyone that is looking for employment in the fields they offer.

December 29, 2012

I didn't find them good to work for at all. They strongly favor the contract relationship over the value of their employee.

February 13, 2013

I agree 100% with Noreen. I had written agreements with Spectrum that they decided not to honor because it was no longer in their favor. What kind of company does that?! Especially when the employee has proof of that agreement through emails? When placed on bedrest for the remaining 3 months of pregnancy I was told that I should not expect to have a job when I was ready to return to work but they "might have something as a PRN employee". When they couldn't find someone that the military wanted, SHR called me up like nothing happened. I would strongly caution anyone who decides to work for SHR, they do not value the employee at all. There are other employees who quit to work with other contracting companys in the same facility, even though it meant taking a paycut - that itself should speak volumes.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Contract Company EVER
LPN (Former Employee), AlaskaOctober 18, 2012
Cons: how long do you have?
I was over worked and worked in a hostile work environment. When I went to my representative for resolution I received no help at all. I was expected to do more than anyone could accomplish realistically. I worked through lunches and still couldn't keep up with the work load. Can we say unfair labor laws??? I opened my mouth to stand up for myself and – more... was told that I would deal with the abuse or be let go. I would not let my worst enemy work for this company. I have worked for them for three years. Money is good but not worth the treatment you will endure. Benefits are useless for the money. Leave is a joke. Two weeks to earn, you can purchase a third. Really people? I have never endured the disrespect as I have here. I have also never been made to feel like I was incapable of doing my job. I have had nothing but glowing recommendations. I was so anxious to get away from this company, I quit without a job and that is ridiculous in this economy. – less

February 13, 2013

I also quit without a job lined up, it was just not worth the stress and they are an untrustworthy company. SHR will not honor agreements unless it benefits them and they expect their employees to put on this great show about how wonderful the company is when they come around introducing a new employee. The time off is a joke as well, if the military has a family day or delayed reporting or early release due to weather, drills/exercises, etc the employee has that time deducted from their vacation time.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They do not strive for their employees
CPhT (Current Employee), Tucson, AZOctober 14, 2012
They do not strive for their employees. It is all about getting a contract. There is NO employee interaction at all...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and Flexibility
Re-Credentialing Coordinator (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 14, 2012
I start the day by opening my computer and the software that I will need to complete assignments. I then get my coffee and water for the morning. I work on the most important assignments most of the morning. I then have lunch and complete the rest of the assignments for the day. I have learned that teamwork and team spirit are very valuable. I have – more... learned that going directly to management when you have questions to be answered (depending about the degree of the question, of course) is very important. I have learned that it is very important for co-workers to have a great deal of respect for each other. The hardest part of the job, there is not any that I can think of for the moment ( I'm being honest and genuine about my answer). The most enjoyable aspect of my job is the flexibility when it comes to utilizing my time off. – less