Find companies:
Speech
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Speech Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided with opportunity to learn from other SLPs in different fields.
Language Pathologist /Director of Rehabilitation (Current Employee), Orange, TxJune 30, 2014
Experienced and became confident in managerial responsibilities and improved ability to multi-task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to help others.
Language Pathologist (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 13, 2014
Nice co-workers with inspiring managers to help you grow. Great personal and professional growth opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding job within special education
Speech-Language Pathologist (Current Employee), Poway, CAJune 5, 2014
I get to spend my day working with children to help them communicate better. Sometimes this means helping them with word pronunciation, or assistive technologies, social language skills, or other language problems. It can be challenging to case manage and write individualized educational plans, write goals, collect date, and advocate for the many children – more... on my case load. However, the look of joy on their faces when they make a connection, paired with the excellent teamwork of my colleges makes it worth while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping children make positive changes is gratifying
Language Pathologist (Current Employee), Saratoga, CAMay 28, 2014
Pros: i have flexibility for time management.
Cons: long iep meetings after work
My typical day is seeing anywhere from 3-6 small groups of students per day. I work primarily with children on the autism spectrum and the focus of my work in in positive communication, humor and instilling in them a desire to interact with peers. I also teach creative writing with my students using conceptual vocabulary such as "acceptance, courage, – more... tolerance, honesty, kindness" and help them develop a story around the theme. This is good for creativity, organization, sequencing and generalizes to the academic setting for language arts and social studies. I like my job because I like kids. I dislike long IEP meetings and paperwork, documentation and updating goals. I dislike spending a good third of my day on administrative tasks such as record keeping. I also would like parents to understand the importance of play and having fun as a being critical for facilitating optimal language and social skills development. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus has ecellent staff for your support.
Language Pathologist, Travel- Focus Staffing (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMay 27, 2014
I have worked with Focus Staffing on several different contracts. They treat their clinicians right in every sense of the word.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The children and students are wonderful. I have worked with many different teams within the agency and have had amazing experiences with all of them.
LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST, UPSTATE CEREBRAL PALSY (Current Employee), Utica, NYMay 26, 2014
The therapy teams are an important part of the agency along with the teachers and aides. Team work is essential as well as collaborating with one another to ensure the students are provided the best education and one that in many cases is individualized based on their specific needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Language Pathologist M.S. CCC (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMay 15, 2014
Pros: young and enthusiastic staff.
Cons: fluctuating st needs for patients.
Select Rehabilitation and The Ambassador of Omaha provided invaluable experiences with a wide variety of diagnoses and treatment requirements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My present environment is an excellent place to work with children with various speech deficits.
Language Pathologist (Current Employee), Verona, MSMay 6, 2014
Pros: with this job comes great responsibility and my boss trusts me with it.
Cons: sometimes the afterschool meetings are long and tedious.
My day begins at 7:20 and ends at 3:30. I begin the day with individual sessions and move into group sessions with the children. Seeing the progress children make in speech class and the empowerment they feel is the best part of my job. The hardest part of my job is the continous stream of paperwork but I know it is of absolute necessity. I enjoy my – more... co-workers because of the collaborative efforts we are afforded to make a difference in the lives of children. I am also the multidisciplinary chairperson, overseeing the SPED process for children referred to the program. The opportunity to meet with parents and explain to them what this process means and how we can potentially help their children is very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest, top notch speech & hearing with a 4-star preschool.
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Ashtabula, OHApril 23, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: having more than one supervisor at a time.
The Speech, Hearing & Rehabilitation Center, Inc. was a place that had three components. One was a 4 Star developmental pre-school. The second component was the speech and language department and the third component was the hearing department. The children in the pre-school received specialized care from teachers who were top notch. The speech therapists – more... made quite a difference in the way children acted and spoke and the audiologist helped mostly older people with the hearing aids if warranted, although there were some children who wore hearing aids. The audiologist worked very hard to get the type of ear mold and hearing aid that the child wanted. It was said to me more than once that the people liked to come to the Speech, Hearing and Rehab. Center because we were honest and had integrity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, Professional, and Understanding
Behavioral therapist (Current Employee), Encino, CAFebruary 7, 2014
• Behavioral therapist
• Social skills development
• Physical skills development
• Individual Counseling

I learned a lot from this company, and how to help develop student's behavior with positive reinforcers. All of the students I have worked with had Autism. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the difference you're making on a child. It's – more... a very rewarding job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various home visits which allows variety.
Language Pathology Assistant (Current Employee), Joliet, ILJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: setting your own schedule
Cons: no paid vacation or holidays, and no area for promotion
A typical day is driving to a families home, servicing the child for an hour, then moving on to the next family. This a repeated act until 4 families have been serviced, this completes a full day's work.
As I service my families, I gain a since of inclusion, I provide what they are seeking for their child, and the families are well pleased.
I generally – more... do not encounter other co-workers, it is an independent position.
The hardest part of the job, however, this is very rare, is encountering families that do not want to implement helpful suggestions for their children.
The most enjoyable part of the job is helping the families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, great time management, problem solver
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Farmington Hills, MIJanuary 19, 2014
Reception, billing coding, insurance verification, check in/out, medical transcription
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educated workplace
Language Pathologist Extern (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLAugust 7, 2013
Productive and educated workplace that cares about its patients. Also, a great place to learn and advance knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Therapeutic Resources
Speech Pathologist (Current Employee), AZJuly 29, 2013
Pros: management; negotiation
Cons: none!
Very resourceful agency: Therapist-owned and goes the "extra mile"
to ensure the therapist gets the best possible option(s) available to them. This co. is very resourceful and will negotiate ongoing in your best interest. They are knowledgeable and will work with you every step of your professional journey. I have worked with other recruiting companies, – more... and they are by far, the best!

Speech-Language Pathologist- – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packaging
Packaging (Former Employee), Millersburg, OhioJuly 8, 2013
Typical day at work was normal. I learned to respect everbody
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giving speech and language therapy in the classrooms.
Speech and Language Pathologist Assistance (Former Employee), Miami, FlJune 6, 2013
Pros: the salary and the work with the children.
Cons: the long distance, and no benefits
I have a part time job, I worked in the classroom and communicate with the teachers, during the afternoon I provided speech and language therapy to outreach children and I had meetings with the children's parents.
I enjoyed giving therapy and communicate with my co-workers .
The long drive was very tiring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast-paced clinic working with pediatric population.
Speech Language Pathologist (Former Employee), Tyler, TXMay 31, 2013
Pros: flexibility, family-oriented
Cons: short breaks; fast paced at times
Evaluated and provided direct speech therapy for a diverse population of pediatric clients in an outpatient setting. The coworkers were very professional and helpful. Enjoyed working with other disciplines and having the opportunity to co-treat with physical and occupational therapy. The most enjoyable aspects of the job included the interactions with – more... the children and seeing them progress, as well as getting to know the parents/caregivers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Speech Language Pathology Intern (Former Employee), Grady Memorial HospitalMay 26, 2013
Pros: long breaks, healthcare
Enjoyable coworkers that provide collaboration and insight into acute care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elementary school with professional, dedicated staff
Speech Language Pathologist (Current Employee), Binghamton, NYMay 19, 2013
I provide speech-language services to children with mild-severe developmental delays and learning disabilities. I work with many professionals who are dedicated to providing the best educational experience for the students. It's necessary to manage time wisely and be extremely flexible.The paperwork demands are very time consuming and require work at – more... home to complete but working with the students is extremely rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Language Pathologist (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLApril 6, 2013
evreyone is very nice. It is a small private office. family is money driven.