Find companies:
Spelman College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

Spelman College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rich historical college
Senior Research Analyst (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 1, 2013
Pros: great benefits, small campus
Cons: not much around in the surrounding neighborhood
Very interesting. Historically significant for women and the AA community. Rich culture. Excellence. Events are interesting with opportunity to meet experts and well known people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
CHEMISTRY INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 1, 2013
Pros: ability to make a positive impact on students' career and educational development.
Cons: wish i could teach there year-round, but there are no summer classes.
I have had the opportunity to teach general chemistry lecture (part 1) and general chemistry laboratory (parts 1 and 2). I have always loved to teach, so this is an ideal job for me. On a daily basis, I typically have a continuous flow of students in my office - some needing help with class, some needing career advice, some needing a letter of recommendation, – more... and many just to say hello. This is one of the fave parts of my job.

Time-management and planning are critical to my job. I work hard to make sure I am providing my students with the most accurate and most current information. get to do teach and mentor bright young minds! I love it! I enjoy preparing the lectures and standing in front of the class. I almost feel like I'm on stage, because I infuse my humorous personality into everything I do.

I get along splendidly with my co-workers. Some, I still have yet to build a relationship, and sometimes that can be frustrating, because I begin to wonder if it's me that's hindering the bonding.

I think the hardest part of my job is the grading, not because it can be time-consuming, but because sometimes I have to give bad grades, and that saddens my heart because I feel like each student is my own child. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Opportunity to work while attending school
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GeorgiaJuly 22, 2013
Perfect placement within the educational department of chosen major. Spelman College is a very flexible environment full of opportunity and growth!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job.
Textbook Coordinator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 19, 2013
Pros: nice location.
Cons: the weather
Daily management duties such as (but not limited to) opening and closing. Morning staff meetings to discuss flow and expectations of the day. During this time, associates were able to ask questions. Provide excellent customer service to all customers. Follow corporate directives. Perform Human Resources duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe environment, productive workplace
Coordinator of Loans, Grants, and Scholarships (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 24, 2013
Pros: a sense of empowerment and making history
Cons: career growth opportunities political
The organization's strategy was institutionalized-it is permeate of the organization. Objectives, functional tactics, policies, and compensation represent only the start of the company's long-term strategy implementation. It was a pleasure in making a part of history come true for so many young women of America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a productive company
Education Department Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 7, 2013
Pros: worked with good friends
Cons: management is poor
Sears has lost a lot of good employees, they closed a few of their
stores their top CEO were let go, in a matter of time we will no longer have Sears only for big items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Committed Team Players
Project Coordinator Office of Alumnae Affairs (Former Employee), Spelman CollegeApril 11, 2013
Committed and focused team members that value their contribution and the greater community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for, a great challenge everyday, and a variety of support calls to resolve.
Helpdesk Technician (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 5, 2013
Pros: working at school, great co-workers, and broad array of challenges
Cons: budget cuts
I worked on a variety of assignments throughout the campus. This includes providing technical support (internet connectivity, driver support, e-mail access, etc.) for both students and faculty. I installed printers, set up e-mail for faculty (Lotus Notes), responsible for office move break downs and setups (PC, monitors, printers, etc.), technical calls, – more... ethernet cord creations, schedule appointments, wireless drops and much more. I enjoyed how amazing this team works together to resolve issues across campus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GaJanuary 15, 2013
The work was independent. You go as far as your will. People were interested in seeing you move ahead.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning and working environment
Student Athletic Trainer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 28, 2012
Pros: gaining experience
Cons: does not pay much
The most enjoyable part of working for Spelman Athletics is working with athletes, learning about athletic injuries and how to rehabilitate them. Co-workers and management are the great and truly caring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work gained knowledge of how Spelman College was started
Senior Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 9, 2012
Pros: meeting interesting people from the students to the dignitaries
Worked with aspiring high achievers with a quest for success. A typical day at Spelman was interacting with the students. My co-workers were great. I learned alot and enjoyed the experience. I enjoyed every challenge that I encountered - it allowed me to grow both professionally as well as personally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't believe the hype! unless you are in management
Admin (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 10, 2012
Pros: flexibility
Cons: no advancement, pay (unless you are in management) vs. mess doesn't add up
For an institution that preaches academically on the advancement of black women, leadership, initiative and forward thinking. This only applies to students. As a former employee, I totally agree with previous reviews on pay, drama and NO advancement.The politics are horrible, worse than a Republican debate! The rich get richer and poor get poorer. In – more... reviewing the website, it is very deceiving, but I guess who would post the truth about there workplace? All managers and fellow responses... It is an establishment that prides itself in breaking your spirit and if they can't then they find a way to get rid of you. The students have more rights than the employees. I don't believe that racism is the problem, afterall it is a majority black campus. The problem is more so the problem we as black people have had with the sect of black people who think they have arrived. Most managers do not reach back and bring employee skill sets forward, however they will take your skills and pass them off for their own. While assuring you that your time will come and it doesn't most often. The institution brings forward slavery and slave like mentality in a whole new way. As if their practices are ok, afterall all jobs have drama and where else are you gonna go? However, if you are willing to give up everything you believe in, your values and live within the box they put you in then you will absolutely love it! Advancement and acknowledgment of accomplishments comes in very small doses in most cases. There are some fabulous managers, and there is job security. Flexibility is good, but it should be it's not reflected in your check and the drama scale stays on high. I could see working here if you have children at least you could use the discounted education fees, but if you do not have kids don't ruin your health or dumb down to play the thug in a suit games. If you have other options, opt out of this one! – less

Employeewill – October 2, 2012

I Totally agree with this post. I have been employed at Spelman for the past six years and while it has its perks, there is very little room for advancement, regardless of ones education. In fact , I have seen people get terminated right after they have earned thier degrees. If someone is older or complacent with being in one position, I would recommend Spelman. But this is not the place for the upwardly mobile.

xxxxxx – March 1, 2013

I can write a book on the drama..After leaving corporate america, I thought I was going to be in a different environment but it was the same (maybe worse). Although its a female college I witnessed alot of things with students and male staff. There is absolutly no advancement. And its WHO you know not WHAt you know!!!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place for a young, eager, and perfson
Police Officer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 22, 2012
Pros: working with students, keeping campus crime free
Cons: no work life balance, no room for advancement
hardest part of job was know that you would never move up. most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people everyday and being someone that the students looked up to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school
Director of Special Events (Current Employee), Atlanta GAJuly 23, 2012
Pros: nice to be in education - lots of time off
Cons: low pay - not much advancement
Nice place to work - students are great to work with. Get a great opportunity to meet alot of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive during School year
Police Officer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 23, 2012
Pros: working with the students
Cons: no room for advancement
When school was in a typical day including driving around the perimeter of the school making sure that there was a level of safety for the student and faculty/staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work. Very unfair and unkind management practices.
Executive Asst to VP & CIO (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 10, 2012
Cons: back stabbers and cruel.
I find Spelman College to be a horrible place to work. I would not recommend anyone to work there.

DEXTER – August 7, 2012

PLEASE DONT WORK THERE! THE POLICE DIRECTOR MAINLY CATERS TO MEN THAN WOMEN. HES HAD ALOT OF COMPLAINTS BECAUSE OF THE UNFAIR TREATMENT OF THE WOMEN THERE. THERE IS ONLY 1 FEMALE LIEUTENANT IN CHARGE AND THE REST ARE MEN. HE HATES WOMEN THAT STICK UP FOR THEMSELVES. SPELMAN REALLY SHOULD BE SUED FOR DISCRIMINATION. THEY DON'T PAY WELL AND PUT IT THIS WAY...IF YOU HAVE A FAMILY DEPENDING ON YOUR EXPENSES U CANT SUPPORT THEM. FULL OF LIES AND DECEIT AND RACISM.

About Spelman College

Spelman College is a private, historically African American┬ácollege for women. The college enrolls some 2,200 students from more – Read more

Spelman College Photos