Find companies:
Spencer's Gifts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
134 reviews

Spencer's Gifts Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, upper management is kind of delusional
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Bossier City, LASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: great coworkers, no dresscode, laid back kind of job
Cons: no benefits, pay is horrible, hours are barely there, upper management is demanding
Upper management never really interacts with entry level sales associates personally, but they are very demanding and push us to meet unrealistic sales quotas. Coworkers are all fun, great people. Store management is good too. They really will work with your schedule if you have other things going on like a second job. A typical day at work consists – more... of ringing up customers at the cash n wrap, assisting customers in finding things, promoting sales, and keeping the store looking neat... which means folding t shirts, putting things back where they go when you see something out of place, etc. There isn't really a hard part of the job. Maybe when we have to do inventory or work "parties," where you have to move everything in the store, but those only happen once every few months. Most enjoyable part of the job is that it is really laid back, no dress code, and my coworkers are great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a laid back job that keeps you busy with servicing customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCSeptember 21, 2014
Every day you had to greet the customers and persuade them to buy certain items.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and spunky
Cashier/Sale Associate (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZSeptember 12, 2014
handled shipment and organization of store
helped customers on the floor and cashing out
handled register
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customers
Sales Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great customers, fun environment
Cons: undervalued their emplyees
Day to day activities were enjoyable. Open the store, delegate tasks to my associates for the day, and help customers. Helping customers was my favorite part of the job. Lots of interesting people came into that store. The company was fun to work for but upper management was a disappointment compared to other companies that I've seen and been with who – more... try to be "hip". They had a few buyers who seemed like they knew what was popular and in demand but there were plenty of products that came through stores that made me judge the decisions the buyers department made. On top of that, most of upper management could not relate with the employees they had, maybe it was simply the age difference. This caused friction between store managers and the young staff that they employed. Other companies I've worked for seemed to have upper management that could relate to their employees. Maybe they read trend magazines or were simply young at heart but their knowledge and attitude helped raise morale and strengthened teams and retail stores beneath them. Aside from that, a day in the store was fun and yet still productive. We did our projects yet dropped everything to interact with a customer, and help them have fun in our store. I guess my biggest complaint is that when at the end of the day, if a project wasn't completely finished we would get a lot of anger from upper management. My explanation would be "We were helping the customers, making sure everyone had fun." This response was usually met with a lot of anger yet the first page of the handbook says "if you're not having fun, if the customer isn't having fun, you're doing the job wrong." The cups/shirt/whatever can be finished the next morning, when the store is empty. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and organized work place
Sales associate (Former Employee), Gainesville, FlSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: discounted lunch, helpful co-workers
Cons: short hours, slow paced environment
A typical day at work began by clocking in at a cash register promptly at the start of my shift, then ensuring that my area of the store is clean and organized, as well as greeting each customer. During my employment at Spencer's I discovered that I enjoy helping others in need. The management at Spencer's was firm, responsible, but also approachable – more... when assistance when needed. Although most co-workers can be irritating at times, the people I had the pleasure of working with were sincere, helpful, and hard workers. The hardest portion of my job was also the most enjoyable part of the job, interacting with the customers was almost always a joy of mine, but there were also customers that could be rude, and inconsiderate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable team to work with in a fun environment.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Columbia, MOSeptember 6, 2014
This has been the easiest job I've had thus far. If only it payed more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with cool co-workers
Holiday Sales Associate (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, lenient management
Cons: having to push selling items
Fun place to work, although pushing items was not my thing and being on everyone's back when in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Sales/ Cashier (Former Employee), West Covina, CAAugust 27, 2014
Customers and staff at Spencer's would make days go by so fast.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun job with great co workers
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 24, 2014
Pros: always something to do
Cons: only seasonal
stocked merchandise and learned to be people friendly. hardest part was the interview
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Sales Associate/Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 24, 2014
Depending on the day of the week and time, Spencer's was usually a fast pace place. I learned to operate an automated register system (my previous sales job was all manual punch-ins), how to quickly and efficiently stock and/or keep the store organized and neat while effectively welcoming and assisting guests on the sales floor. My manager was wonderful, – more... even when feeling overwhelmed by the day and amount of things we needed to take care of. My manager and co-workers were great, playing on each others strengths, especially when stocking or taking inventory while guests were present; maximizing stock output while making sure our guests were helped and checked out in a timely manner. The hardest part of the job would have to be keeping up with the masses of guests that come in during the holiday season. The best part of my job, I would have to say, is the customers. Every new face was a new experience and a new conversation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insecure and Unethical
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Victoria, TXAugust 4, 2014
I caught the assistant manager 3 times behind a clothes rack, texting, when I was told once not to take my cell phone out on the sales floor.
The team manager, basically called me stupid after asking a question about one of the task I was assigned.
They hired 14 people to set up the store, then cut half of the people out when the store opened.
Stupid – more... place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and lively place to work at.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Queens, New YorkAugust 1, 2014
Typical day at work is fun and full of experiences. I learned how to approach people freely and genuinely enjoy a job. Management was on point. My coworkers were entertaining and passionate. Hardest part would be lack of advancement and financial growth. Most enjoyable part would be the experience of meeting out of this world people and working with – more... merchandise that was interesting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an interesting place to work, although I didn't care for how the company itself was ran.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Charleston, WVJuly 22, 2014
I met some wonderful people while working at Spencer's, and that is the best thing that came from there. I wasn't too fond of the DM nor how the company handled things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winston-Salem, NCJuly 21, 2014
Spencers was a fun environment to be in meeting new people all the time! Management always saw that the employees were taken care of while also running a good company with room for advancement!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and competitive job
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 17, 2014
Greet all customers, present/ push items, ask customers if they need help or have any questions or concerns. Keep entire store clean and organized. Help customers at the register and make sure they leave with a fun and positive experience. Thank all customers for coming in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat, Fast pace, fun enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 13, 2014
On a day to day basis at Spencers Gift we would provide our guests with great customer service. Such as greeting guests as they came into our store, asking them if they need any assistance, if they did we would help our customers find any item in the store and answer any questions he/she may have. Also we would ask guests to return and shop with us – more... again as they exit our store. I learned how to provide customers with good service and also how to preform in the retail business. The management was very strict, pretty high expectations for a retail business. Co-workers we're decent, some slack off, making other associates like myself go around picking up their slack. But other than that it was a healthy work environment. The hardest part of this job would probably trying to get some guest to purchase an extra item in order for us(the sales associates) to get what we call an "add on" . The easiest part of this just was interacting with our guests and providing the assistance they need to leave our store satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job but i couldnt afford it
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), St. Clairsville, OhioJuly 11, 2014
Pros: diversity and friendly employees and uppermanagement
Cons: low pay
I loved every second of working for Spencer Gifts. The workflow is great and you get to know your employees and customers very well. Our district manager was very helpful and friendly and not judgemental at all. The only reason i left was the pay. Other than that i highly recommend this job for anyone who wants to make some extra money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place!!!!
Seasonal Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Olympia, WAJuly 8, 2014
My work experience there was AMAZING!!! Loved the people, the music, the products, the employees, the vibe, the flow, the entire Love section, etc

10 out of 10 would recommend working there if your personality is as alternative as the store itself :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average minimum wage, mall retail job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Friendswood, TXJune 28, 2014
Pros: flexible hours for being a student
Cons: salary
It was fun while it lasted, you meet tons of different people everyday. The pay wasn't enough and even the managers wouldn't get paid much, overall just a typical job for a high school student, who has to deal with bizarre people from time to time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Savannah, GAJune 25, 2014
Was the worst place I worked. There was no help from management and no one ever gave any help to problems that happened in the store.

1 2 3 4 5

About Spencer's Gifts

The teen and young adult years are peppered with trips to mall-based Spencer Gifts for lava lamps, beer pong tables, black lights, – Read more