Spirent Communications Employee Reviews in United States

Found 25 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice to see a company grow
Global Sales Support (Former Employee) –  Eatontown, NJJanuary 3, 2016
I worked with Spirent for 25 years. I saw the company grow from a small 50 person office to a global entity. It was thrilling to be a part of this company and learn all the new processes and procedures. Each year we were acquiring a different company so there was always something new to learn. Lately though, the past few years Management has not been as uplifting as they should be. They were not taking time to really focus on customer needs and employees capabilities. Which resulted in losing customers and layoffs.
Pros
people were fun, benefits were great
Cons
not feeling there was an open door policy
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid Spirent
Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 2, 2016
The overarching issue for Spirent is that they seem to have only one major competitor, who in some ways they are able to stay above on certain issues, and then on other issues, not so sure. With only one competitor, the impression that I had when I worked here is that there really isn't a great incentive for them to compete at a higher level, and it shows.

The fact that it is a British-owned company speaks volumes for what is wrong here, since the Brits often believe in playing things from the backline, and do not understand the need to be aggressive in their sales and marketing. They simply won't do it. Fine for the UK, but not for the US.

On team and culture issues, the impression that I received was that some of their employees dislike the company (or their jobs) so much, that they may actually be trying to hold the company back. So between the impression of incompetent executive management and those who are situated lower in the organization who are dead weight, it was a real mess of a place to work at, and I cannot recommend working here for anyone who has any worthwhile career aspirations. There are plenty of better places to work in Silicon Valley. Do not waste your time with Spirent. Seriously.
Pros
Good location if you live in North San Jose area.
Cons
Incompetent executives, lousy culture, lack of competitive spirit.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 27, 2016
The work environment is one that is centered around working as a team and that allows everyone’s talents to flourish. When I was researching your company, your desire to cultivate each of your employees’ skills was very impressive to me. I find that I work best in an environment that is empowering and positive, no matter what the work is that I’m doing
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can control your schedule if you plan your day right and work efficiently.
Field test engineer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 15, 2016
Field engineer role typically means you never work out of an office unless it is one of the test sites. Lot of independence with regard to hours and travel schedule. Its a good place to work. But customers are thinning out & past few years have been pretty bad.
Pros
Idle time is work from home
Cons
Sometimes weekend travel, have to stay in the travel market for back to back weeks depending on the project.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, Terrible Employee oversight by Stores management
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calabasas,CaJuly 6, 2015
Stockroom Employees are Surfing online constantly watching videos and spending time in appropriate web sites, management is oblivious to it or refuses to do anything about it! Certain employees in the stockroom are abusing the overtime, they sit on their desk slaking off and steeling overtime afterwards,

Terrible oversight by Management!
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Employees are abuse of the internet and have terrible work ethic, (Stockroom)
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, nice benefits,don't bother to work here
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calabasas CaJanuary 27, 2015
Don't know how they stay in business, everything that goes out comes back for repair, Stores Mgnt Really Sucks! Employees watching Movies ant TV shows instead of working, some surfing inappropriate Web sites, Mgnt chooses to ignore this. A few bad apples (2) abuse Overtime, No Oversight by immediate Mgnt. Lots of preferable treatment to some Slackers, while others work hard!
Pros
good benifits
Cons
some management oblivious to abuse of o/t and slacking
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Casual work Environment
Corprorate Technical Sourcer (Current Employee) –  Calabasas, CANovember 3, 2015
A great company to work for.
Beautiful office and location.
Great people and management.
A very positive work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Ping Pong table and many other ammenties
Outgoing Product Distribution Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDAugust 7, 2015
Typical day started at 8:00 am sharp. Got shipments ready for the afternoon rush. Shipped any orders we had paperwork for. Cleaned up and put away inventory when we could. Then during slow times I helped out in test and IT department.. After awhile I actually transferred to test department. Then was laid off and then 3 months later they brought me back till the company shut down our factory..
Pros
Hour Lunch, if work was done half day fridays
Cons
closed the factory down
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great family oriented place when I started but has changed over the years I have been here
Lead Customer Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Eatontown, NJAugust 28, 2013
The Company use to be all about the quality of the product and the well being of the employees, and now I feel its about the bottom line and stock holders. Afraid that if things dont change it wont be around for long.
Pros
good benefits and no micro management
Cons
increase of work load with zero compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Software Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJune 2, 2014
Typical day at work would be working on the project, code reviews and meetings with supervisor, manager etc. Learnt about corporate work culture. Good and kind management who care for the employee. Friendly co-workers. harmonious work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice environment
Systems Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Germantown, MDMay 9, 2012
New building with a great view. The best co-workers and great management.
Pros
100% match up to 6% 401k
Was this review helpful?Yes2No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends...
Manager (Current Employee) –  Eatontown, NJJanuary 7, 2015
Spirent is a great company to learn leading edge wireless technologies. That said, there are too many levels of management bogging down decision making. Also, cost cutting measures have had a definite impact on product quality and company moral.
Pros
positive learning environment
Cons
resistant to change and new ideas.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid working here
Wireless field engineer (Former Employee) –  Frederick, mdApril 8, 2013
I have to agree with the other review. There is no room for growth at this company. They reward slackers who rather watch videos on youtube or play games when they should be testing by giving them more hours to fix their screw ups. If you decide to work here and get the job it's also best to pretend to know what you are talking about than to actually ask questions. You will be treated like a hired slaved, so be forewarned. Wasted 2 years here, don't make the same mistake.
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes30No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager Web Services
Manager Web Services (Former Employee) –  CANovember 7, 2014
Responsible for Internet/Intranet dynamic architecture, content, graphics, Team Project Management, Budgets and Performance Evaluations. Received a "Will to Win" performance award in 2001 for ongoing development and communication support efforts - Establishing in-house Video Studio; Saving $18,000.00 annually, formally expensed to an outside vendor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great peers, Management lost focus
Senior System (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJuly 15, 2015
Best co-workers who will help you to no end. Lack of product road map vision has caused company to be overtaken to competitors.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Engineer (Current Employee) –  FrederickMay 2, 2014
There is no room to move up, do not work here. The technology is ok but bad management and poor structuring. People sit on the internet and play games. no room for growth no matter how hard you work. pay is not that great compared to other companies.
Cons
reward the slackers, no structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workday
IT Support/Contractor (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJune 23, 2014
• Providing day-to-day technical support to employees for network infrastructure and internal client systems software and hardware.
• Installing, configuring and troubleshooting desktop and laptop systems, workstations, servers, telephony and network equipment in a heterogeneous environment.
• Taking a proactive approach to computer/network performance issues.
• Recommending and assisting with the procurement of hardware and software solutions, including new acquisitions upgrades.
• Participation in the development of information technology and infrastructure projects.
• Documenting and tracking of IT assets, services and infrastructure.
• Documentation and tracking of all IT data center assets, services and infrastructure.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, very resourceful experience
Engineering Intern-Product Development (Former Employee) –  Eatontown, NJMay 26, 2014
Very good culture, place full of knowledge and newer experiences, very resourceful people
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse place i have ever worked at
Systems Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJune 17, 2012
At Spirent i was not given any any opportunity for growth, and when i opted myself to join another team within Spirent, My manager made sure that i fail under all circumstances. At that time people in this group were being laid off since the product had failed but few hanged on to their jobs and did whatever they could against other coworkers to secure their job.
Cons
unprofessional environment
Was this review helpful?Yes25No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, excellent co-workers, great benefits.
Software Release Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJanuary 5, 2015
Deal with code merges, bug fixes, urgent builds, assist developers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.8
Culture
3.3

Spirent Communications Reviews by Location