Find companies:
Spirit AeroSystems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
110 reviews

Spirit AeroSystems Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow work pace
Composite Technician (Former Employee), Kinston, NCJuly 11, 2014
Trying to find something to stay busy. Denied the opportunity to advance and learn CNC machine operation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work place, never a dull moment
First Level Manager (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 8, 2014
Spirit offers daily challenges to meet and exceed customer's expectations. Excellent multi-tasking and time management skills are a must have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thought it would have been better than this in aviation production
Gulfstream G-650 support manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJuly 6, 2014
Pros: ok benfits package.
Cons: no union suports for employees, no room for career longevity, no h.r. honesty or support.
I heard about this company a long time ago as being one of the best to work for. that you could have the ability to hold your chest high knowing you were employed by the best. I found out that was not the case. When I first obtained a position with the company, I was proud. Then I started to hear stories of employee miss treatment, no union support, – more... personal management treatments...I was appalled, then I started to see it for myself. I figured that I could present a change and start to listen to the employees, to support the employees, to help the employees. When that was happening, employees starting to smile and whistle while they worked in a matter of speaking. I guess the word got out. the H.R. department promptly told me to keep it up and I was doing a great job, Then they laid me off due to a supposed "Reduction in work force". then I find out they hired new managers. Sounds fishy to me. Would I work for them again, if I really needed a job and all I did was build the aircraft components........very slight maybe. The good good name of Spirit Aero Systems has been degraded a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying company
Composite Mechanic - Repair Station (Former Employee), Wichita, KansasJuly 4, 2014
Pros: great pay, decent benefits, friendly co workers
Cons: some managers
Eight hour days. Five days a week. Occasional overtime on weekdays and weekends (depending on your area). Good hard working people. Managers are hit and miss. Some are great to work for while others make it difficult to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment!
Electrician (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJune 30, 2014
Pros: good pay/benefits
Cons: management (electrical)
I was in an Electrical Internship, that was a new concept for Spirit Aerosystems so it had it's issues starting out. The people I worked with were very knowledgeable and helpful. The day to day work was very monotonous.and random. The hardest part of the job was being able to stay focused on the task at hand due to lack of interest with the mundane – more... tasks assigned. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning a vast majority of electrical related skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Assembler (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 23, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: as a contractor there was no benefits or job security
Overall this was a great place to work. I enjoyed working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable
Project Analyst (Current Employee), Tulsa okJune 20, 2014
The hardest part of working with Spirit Aerosystems is there was no job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing good
Acting First Level Manger (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKJune 12, 2014
This is one company that is trying to get rid of engineering.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different feeling
Quality Production Specialist (Former Employee), Kinston, NCJune 11, 2014
Pros: very easy to move up to managerial position
Cons: new company no stable path to follow
This company gave me a chance to start a new career. But the only issue I had was there is the straight forward plan of business or standard routine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very very unprofessional and mismanaged plant.
processor(painter) (Former Employee), Tulsa, Ok.June 8, 2014
Pros: medical insurance
Cons: incompetent management
The union (UAW) here is useless !! The buddy buddy program is deep and very much in play. The quality of work is sickening, push push out the door, no regard to the spec's. The management hope's you're not familiar with the process (so they can show you a short cut).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was not a very productive work environment
Fuselage Mechanic/Sealer (Former Employee), Wichita kansasJune 5, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: poor managerment
The management does not take accountability for the slow production and poor employee morale. The hardest part of the job is working long hard hours and not being appreciated by management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful workplace
Procurement Agent/ Buyer (Former Employee), Wichita, KSJune 1, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: stress, management and others
The job is very stressful and the company just piles more and more on people and expects more from them without advancement as promised. Not a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, clean environment with quite productive job position
Schedule Compliance (Current Employee), Wichita, KSMay 31, 2014
I am an early bird and arrive before 4 am, I hit the door running, and produce two reports to send out to Management every morning. The reports list all of our Sales we have/need to ship out in a certain time period, shows dates, who to ship to, quantity of parts, status of where the parts are, if we have them in stock or not...etc. I then start researching – more... my tagged parts and identify the HOT orders, including AOG's. It is a very exciting, busy job and my day just flies! All of my co-workers have different mind sets, work in different ways, and know that we have different personalities, but we all get along quite well. The hardest part of my job is just getting everything done within the day before I leave at 12:30 pm. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with all the many groups my position calls upon, many good people work at Spirit who care about their jobs and doing the Company well. My motto is upon leaving, to go home knowing I did the best possible job I could do that day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Missed opportunities
Quality Engineer (Former Employee), tulsa, okMay 19, 2014
Pros: health care plans
Cons: no pride in working there, no feeling of security
Spirit has let the leadership position in the industry, once held by Rockwell at the same facility, slip through their hands. The things Rockwell accomplished such as the space shuttle and B1B are totally beyond the means of the Spirit Tulsa facility. In my opinion, after 35 years there, the pride of working in that industry at that location is gone – more... and there are no apparent efforts to regain that pride.
Quality and integrity are second to schedule and the employees are just a means to an end, not a part of the team.
Really, the opportunities for success were laid at their doorstep. But, through bad management decisions and lack of respect for employees, the opportunities to enjoy the successes Rockwell had have been totally missed by Spirit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
: (
Assembler D (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKMay 6, 2014
Pros: mostly good coworkers
Cons: everything else
Spirit is a publicly traded company that cares only of one thing. FREIGHT ON BOARD! They do not care if you are worked 12 hours a day 7 days a week and never see your family. Management is not subject to those hours. Spirit is also a UAW ran union shop. The UAW is a joke. Look them up. The current UAW president has been in office for 30 years. I believe – more... he is in bed with the company and is being paid off to stay out of their way. The benefits are pretty good but I have had a hard time finding places that will accept it. If you love overtime, low pay, and management that has no clue what is going on or how to fix it then Spirit is your dream job!

P.S. The only way to get off of 2nd shift is to have more seniority than someone else on another shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Stress Engineer (Current Employee), Wichita, KSApril 24, 2014
Ford provide very good FEA working environment. You can receive good FEA training here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company. Limited Opportunities
Front Line Manager (Current Employee), Wichita, KSApril 17, 2014
Good company to work for even with the limited advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union Shop
Structures Mechanic (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKApril 11, 2014
Union Ran no compensation for exceeding expectations. 8 hour days. overtime available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Quality Systems Specialist/Tech Designer (Former Employee), Wichita, KSApril 8, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: management
I learned everything that I know about the First Article Inspection process and AS9102 regulations. It was a rewarding company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very competitive, always worrying about lay offs
Inventory Coordinator (Former Employee), Wichita, KSApril 5, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: bad mgmt.
I do not wish to comment at this time. I got laid off and I will not be going back.

1 2 3 4 5

About Spirit AeroSystems

Whether you're a customer, supplier, current or potential employee, or a community member, Spirit AeroSystems has something to – Read more