Find companies:
Sport Chalet
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
89 reviews

Sport Chalet Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to enhance your customer service and sales skills.
General Athletics Sales (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZAugust 14, 2014
Overall a great learning experience. Working in such a fast paced environment makes you focus on organization and time management along with superior customer service which is very beneficial.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun store to work at
SCUBA Sales Representative (Former Employee), Glendora, CAAugust 7, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: everything else
Boring, slow, very little customer traffic. Management is on you butt about every little thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with people who love what they do
footwear department head (Former Employee), brea caJuly 31, 2014
customer service is at the top of the list with sales being second. They do clinics for each of the major sports where you get to go all over such as; the beach for surfing; the mtn for snowboarding; usc for baseball; lakes for fishing and kayaking. co workers are for the most part a blast, people who work there are what they sell. hardest part of the – more... job is corporates demands to sell certain product even though it might not be necessary. best part of the job is the people, product and discounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and easy to balance with school schedules.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: pro deals, fun environment
Get a chance to learn a lot about different sports. The people who work there are easy to get along with. the best part of the job is the pro deals on merchandise in the store. that is when you get up to 50%-75% off selected merchandise. this job is a great place to work for a college student.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and can learn more
SAP CRM Consultant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 28, 2014
Its the very good place to work and know things very deep and grow more in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if have good managers
DH (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: fun co-workers
Cons: high focus on reaching store numbers
Typical retail job. Have opportunities for advancement. Focus on reaching store numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviroment
Department Sales Expert (Current Employee), Torrance, CAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: no raises
great managers
great coworkers
great discounts
Frequent run in with professional athletes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays the bills
Accounts Payable Associate (Former Employee), La Canada Flintridge, CAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: no sick days, no raise increase work load without increase pay, too much drama between staff.
processing invoices on SAP... and resolving vendor dispute. Typical retail accounting duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Valencia, CAJune 11, 2014
If the manager feels threatened by you, you will lose your job. No matter how good you are. They will not keep you past your 90 day trial.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for sales experience.
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZMay 21, 2014
A typical day at Sport Chalet went along the lines of a team meeting at the beginning of the shift, followed by a walkthrough to see what needs to be done. In the footwear department we focused on keeping the back room clean, keeping the shoes in their correct locations, interacting with every customer and offering and performing a GAIT analysis to – more... properly fit them for their needs. Our performance was based on how many GAIT analyses we conduct, how many premium insoles we sell, and how many key items we sell like sneaker balls and waterproofer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sporty Adventure
Footwear Associate (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVMay 18, 2014
A great place to learn lots about sports and outdoor activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very beneficial job although low pay
Floor Salesman (Former Employee), Stevenson Ranch, CAMarch 10, 2014
Pros: free rentals, 25 % employee discount
Cons: no pay raise unless promoted
A typical day of work at sport chalet includes sales, merchandising and conversing with customers face to face. I learned how to manage my time well and how to sell product to a wide variety of customers. Management at Sport Chalet was great. They were always there to help out and were always fair when it came to different scenarios. The hardest part – more... of the job was working out new product on truck days. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking with customers about fishing and camping product all day long. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average retail job
Sales Associate and Department Head (Former Employee), Burbank, CAFebruary 28, 2014
Most enjoyable part of the job was the ability to build relationships with coworkers and customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Sales Lead (Current Employee), valencia caFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: short breaks
I work hard and well focus on my task at hand. customer service,sales, assist with front end
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finish projects and sell along the way.
Sales Associate/Footwear Expert (Current Employee), Redlands, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: free lunches, learning something new everyday, and meeting new people everyday
Cons: short breaks and no annual raises
When I arrive at work there are usually projects to do at work. Examples like breaking down sandal towers and making new ones. Shifting over shoes in the racks to fit in the new arrivals from the day's truck. Setting up tables for upcoming clearance and cadence sales. On top of the projects I'm still on the sales floor helping out customers find the – more... right pair of shoes, comfortable yet stabilizing insoles to help with the pains or collapsing arches of their feet, and offering other new accessories to help with their daily lives. Above all having the customer totally satisfied when they leave our store. The hardest part of the job is offering the accessories without making the customer feel overwhelmed with how much they are spending. The most enjoyable part of the job is creating a new relationship with the customers so they keep coming back and always feel comfortable when I serve them. My co-workers are fantastic we always work together taking customers to different departments to complete their list of shopping and always offering the best job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management and Corporate Office
Department Manager (Current Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: employee discount, pro deals, free rentals
Cons: horrible gm, no raises, horrible dm, horrible business plan, miserable work environment
Ever since the owner died this company has turned upside done. All the company does is push credit cards. Regardless of your knowledge of product or how well you help customers, they will not care if you don't sign up credit cards. You will never get a raise nor will you get rewarded for hard work. They don't promote from inside and when they do, its – more... cuz they kiss a** to the DM, who never finished high-school, and they do whatever he says. This company is not profitable and never will be if they continue what they do. I would heavily not recommend not even considering this company for working or even shopping at unless you want to get grilled with credit card offers. If I could give negative stars then I would – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job friendly people
Cashier (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAFebruary 19, 2014
My typical day at work was opening the front end of the store, making sure my register was set with the right amount of money. Stocking items that just came off the truck. Helping customers find the right products and ensuring great customer service.
I enjoyed the management at sports chalet they were all very helpful and always doing there best
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Low pay.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), L.A. CaliforniaJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: discounts. great people work at all the stores. work with people who love whtat they do.
Cons: you work for almost free.
I loved working at Sport Chalet. The culture there is something that Norbert started in 1959 and it all wraps around treating customers well and treating employees well also. Lift tickets are discounted greatly, discounts on sporting goods are drastically discounted. If you love to do sports outside of work, this is the place to work. The pay is drastic – more... and they have not gotten a raise in over 5 years. They have a freeze on raises. I left because I could not eat and be an employee at the same time. I was not able to buy a lot of sporting goods because they didn't pay enough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best First Job I Could Ever Ask
Retail Sales Expert (Former Employee), Concord, CaJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: new product line conferences
I have learned and gain so much working at Sport Chalet. I got hired to work in All Sports Department, then I was moved to Footwear Department and then lastly moved to Seasonal Department. I had become an Expert in all those fields and had enjoyed coming to work everyday. I enjoyed working everyday with my co-workers, supervisors and manager to the – more... point that we became a family. The only hardest part of my job was finding everything that a customer wanted, but it was only due to shortage of merchandise, but if I could not find it in our location I would try to find it at our other locations. I enjoyed and stood by what Sport Chalet stands for as a store and only reason I left was because the location closed down, but I couldn't ask for a better first job then Sport Chalet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace for sports fanatics
Bike Sales Associate (Former Employee), Menifee, CAJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: on the job help, good management
Cons: unsatisfactory work hours
Slow days during the off-season and during the week, and on the weekend, occasional busy but mostly average. The management was good and the managers would always do their best to answer questions and address concerns. Coworkers were nice and would always do their best to help each other out.

1 2 3 4 5

About Sport Chalet

For those who play, there's Sport Chalet. The sporting goods retailer operates 50-plus stores mostly in California, but also┬áin – Read more