Find companies:
Sport Chalet
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
91 reviews

Sport Chalet Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best First Job I Could Ever Ask
Retail Sales Expert (Former Employee), Concord, CaJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: new product line conferences
I have learned and gain so much working at Sport Chalet. I got hired to work in All Sports Department, then I was moved to Footwear Department and then lastly moved to Seasonal Department. I had become an Expert in all those fields and had enjoyed coming to work everyday. I enjoyed working everyday with my co-workers, supervisors and manager to the – more... point that we became a family. The only hardest part of my job was finding everything that a customer wanted, but it was only due to shortage of merchandise, but if I could not find it in our location I would try to find it at our other locations. I enjoyed and stood by what Sport Chalet stands for as a store and only reason I left was because the location closed down, but I couldn't ask for a better first job then Sport Chalet. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace for sports fanatics
Bike Sales Associate (Former Employee), Menifee, CAJanuary 4, 2014
Pros: on the job help, good management
Cons: unsatisfactory work hours
Slow days during the off-season and during the week, and on the weekend, occasional busy but mostly average. The management was good and the managers would always do their best to answer questions and address concerns. Coworkers were nice and would always do their best to help each other out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Right Idea, poorly executed
Department Manager Seasonal &Rentals (Current Employee), Rancho CucamongaDecember 17, 2013
Pros: discounts on product
Cons: short breaks, poor management, slow sales, lack of growth
Typical day at work involves intense customer service, sales, merchandising, and inventory control among many other tasks. I was personally accountable for customer accounts. The management's lack of communication is one of their biggest downfalls. Because of the lack of communication, a lot of time is wasted on duplicating tasks, and efficiency could – more... be improved. The co-workers are great. Everyone shares a common interest in the sporting industry, so we can all relate on many topics. The hardest part of the job is that there is no room for growth. I was on the fast track to management, and got put on a halt because of the economy, and nothing has improved since. The most enjoyable part of the job for me is dealing with the customers. They are there to speak to me and ask me for my advice. I like being able to not only help them find what they need, but to educate them on the product so they know why they need it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company to work for
Department Head/ Area Manager (Former Employee), Tempe, AZNovember 28, 2013
Cons: everything
This company has no direction or profitability. You will NEVER get a raise. worked there 6 1/2 years no raise just excuses. Management is a joke. Will promote people from outside the company with zero management experience. Just got to know the right people. Most of the basic everyday staff ends up training new managers or department heads for that – more... matter. On hand inventory is terrible. You are constantly reminded of sales goals but don't have normal on hand sporting goods items to sell. Most of stock goes to so called A stores in California. Leaving Arizona stores with garbage no one wants. Then any request for stock gets denied by idiots that no nothing about the customer base you deal with on a daily basis, and they have no money to stock the stores as well. If you are a dumb college student Sport Chalet is the place to work. Just have no opinion of how to make the store better and brown nose and you will be just fine. And don't be sick cause there is no sick days or PTO for full time employees. You accrue nothing. They will also schedule you then send you home at a moments notice because sales per man hour is down on slow days, but at the same time have four managers hanging out on a Monday eating up 36 hours for the store, caring less about your time or well being. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport Chalet
Department Head (Current Employee), Huntington Beach, CAOctober 21, 2013
Sport Chalet is a typical retail establishment that is a corporation. There is much room for advancement. A typical day at work includes helping customers find the best product for their needs. Management and associates work very closely together. The hardest part of the job is the time crunch involved in getting projects done while helping every customer – more... who comes in the store. The most enjoyable part of the job is providing excellent customer service, and helping customers with something you truly enjoy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail
Sales Expert (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga CAOctober 16, 2013
Pros: free rentals, employee discounts
Cons: no room for growth
I didn't work here very long, plus my tenure with Sport Chalet didn't allow me to experience the company as a whole
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
ware house worker (Former Employee), Montclair, CAOctober 12, 2013
Pros: fun
Cons: demanding a lot of job done in a very extreme short time
good company with a lot of employees and a growing marketing .
fun working
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging
Department Head (Current Employee), Laguna Niguel, CASeptember 18, 2013
I have enjoyed working for them and will continue to enjoy it until better opportunities arrive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great local company if you love sports
Allocation Analyst (Former Employee), La Canada Flintridge, CASeptember 6, 2013
Pros: nice benefits, opportunities for special events/items
Cons: advancement can be a slow process
I enjoyed my time with Sport Chalet, starting at the store level, then to department management within the store, then to the corporate level. I learned how product moves through the company and is distributed to the stores. I worked with some great people and made some good friends along the way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional atmosphere
SCUBA Instructor (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 31, 2013
Great oppurtunity to teach and certify students in the sport of SCUBA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiance
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 29, 2013
Making sure sales were being met and employees were working at 100%
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty simple job, it was great going into work, I did manage to move up in the company,by starting out as a receptionist, to AP/collection/cust. serv
Receptionist/Administrative (Former Employee), la canadaAugust 24, 2013
Pros: travel time to work was great
Cons: the professionalism with some staff was very low
I would be a great asset to your company, as I have worked in various fields over 15yrs with my previous employer. I am a very hard and dedicated worker that goes above and beyond my duties. Always on time, I strive for maximum results with productivity in all positions. When you bring me aboard, you will not be disappointed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE job. Very inefficient.
Fitness Specialist (Former Employee), La Cañada Flintridge, CAAugust 22, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: management, procedures, hours, everything
All of the procedures put in place are very inefficient. If you try to propose a new idea to a manager to make the company run better or look nicer the only response you get is "Yeah we cant do that". No explanation. I understand a lot of procedures are put in place by corporate, but if something can make the job LESS HAZARDOUS to employees and customers – more... then it needs to be done. NOT worth it. Absolute worst job I have ever had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun workplace, and team oriented
Retail Associate/Department Head (Former Employee), Antioch, CAAugust 19, 2013
Pros: staff
the store worked as a team and no matter what we could put aside our differences to achieve a greater goal and get along at least while we were on the clock.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the headache.
Manager (Former Employee), Riverside, CAAugust 19, 2013
Pros: employee discount through vendors.
Cons: most everything else about store level employment.
Founder dies and corporate decides to completely reverse what he stood for in terms of customer service. Standing pay-freeze (6th year running) for store-level employees while members of corporate create new positions with higher-income for themselves. Promotions are based solely on nepotism and not on hard work. Training is not adequately provided – more... for employees, nor are training materials readily available. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Days but fun people
Sales associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CAAugust 14, 2013
usually very dead. managers are nice and very helpful. family feeling environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management are not managers or supervisors they are your friend that gets rid of you when you don't fit in
Apparel Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 10, 2013
Pros: if you want a place to blow off and get payed for it
Cons: cons you have to fit in with the "click"
Scottsdale location has managers that don't act like managers. VERY UNPROFFESIONAL STAFF. Do not come here for career advancement!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sports environment for upscale customers
Merchandising Coordinator (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CAJuly 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits, awesome staff
Cons: must live in certain locations in order for advancement
Enjoyable work environment with many new faces. Must enjoy working in a sporting good environment and enjoy sports to enjoy working here. The people are great and the company has everything upscale for the outdoors and any sport you need supplies for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to Work
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 30, 2013
Pros: Great Discounts
Cons: Hours are given based on the performance of getting customers to sign up with Visa plans and Warranties

Employees must do face-to-face sale daily. Managers are great, but room for advancement is little to very minimal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun sporting enviorment!
Shipping/Receiving (Current Employee), Menifee, CAJune 26, 2013
Fast paced job talking about sports that I love to do, what could be better?

About Sport Chalet

For those who play, there's Sport Chalet. The sporting goods retailer operates 50-plus stores mostly in California, but also in – Read more