Sports Authority Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of business
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Crystal Lake, ILSeptember 20, 2017
The company went out of business. Enjoyed working there when they were open. Customers and staff were all very friendly. Room for advancement if you want to grow with the company.
Cons
out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Store associate (Former Employee) –  White Marsh, MDSeptember 19, 2017
Learned how a lot about customer service. I learned how to put customers first. The workplace was fun and I enjoyed being there. It was good but store got liquidated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORSeptember 19, 2017
I had this job when I was a young teenager. It was very interesting and it gave a glimpse into the world of working when I was younger. Overall it was a good experience for me. Unfortunately they are now bankrupt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Oak Lawn, ILSeptember 18, 2017
I only worked there for 3 months and don't think it is fair to put my opinion in about something I didn't even get to actually experience as my co workers have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive workplace. Poor management.
APPAREL SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GASeptember 17, 2017
The workplace was fun and competitive. It offered pretty decent discounts on merchandise. The management was unprofessional and handled irresponsibly.
Pros
Discounts. Free lunch. Competitive.
Cons
Poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Seasonal Assistant Buyer - Swimwear and Outerwear (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 15, 2017
Great team work environment..Sports Authority no longer exists so I was unable to respond to some of the above questions. I worked at the corporate office up until the company went out of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extraordinary Job
Co-Store Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaSeptember 14, 2017
The days are incredible. Everyday is a party. Sports and everything sporting goods. Nice clothes, great shoes. Real shame the company went under and has been replaced with a less than satisfactory replacement
Pros
Great enviroment
Cons
Went out of busines
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are out of business
Sales Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Montclair, CASeptember 14, 2017
They were not a good company. They did not provide good hours for employees but they did have nice people working for them. Corporate did not share information with stores and were not upfront about the troubles company was facing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers were good but pay too low
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, ORSeptember 14, 2017
I really enjoyed the people that I worked with and the managers were great but the pay was really low and the spiffs in my department were really hard to achieve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waikele, HISeptember 13, 2017
Sports Authority was an extremely fun place to work. I met a lot of cool people while working there. I would still be working there if the place had not closed down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed work environement
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sayville, NYSeptember 13, 2017
Relaxed work environment with friendly and helpful staff and employees. Problem solving skills were enhanced when interacting with demanding customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Product Replacement Plans were the Goal
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 13, 2017
We were assisting customers with sporting goods purchases and selling product replacement plans. The pay and benefits were very low, but there was a nice culture and job security.
Pros
Easy Job
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Footwear Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Elmsford, NYSeptember 13, 2017
Enjoyed working here great job good pay good benefits flexible hours good discount very customer friendly employer . Easy to rank up within the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I ever worked for
Store associate (Former Employee) –  Eureka, CASeptember 12, 2017
Usually help customers, restock shelves, and other things scan items into the system, ring up customers. It was definitely a place I wanted to grow in. Sadly it went under.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of business
Lead Cashier (Former Employee) –  Paramus, NJSeptember 11, 2017
The company went out of business but it was a good place to work. Some management problems but nothing serious. Would still be working there if it didn't go out of business.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great company
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILSeptember 10, 2017
Started on the ground floor with TSA, as a part time salesperson. Worked my way up to assistant store manager. They appreciated hard work and rewarded you for it.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Was bought out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sports authority closed. That is why I left.
Excellent customer service (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 10, 2017
Sports Authority was in the process of closing down all their stores.This was a different type of experience. Everything in the store was at least 80% off.
Cons
short term employment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, MISeptember 8, 2017
Working here taught me many things about the work industry. Although this was my first job , they treated me like i was a veteran and i was accountable for all mistakes and actions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Morrow, GASeptember 8, 2017
A typical day at work involved helping customers locate what they needed no matter the department. I learned that with sports authority they will lead you to believe there is growth opportunity when there really isn't.
Pros
discount
Cons
short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Norridge, ILSeptember 7, 2017
Working for Sports Authority I learned a lot about sales and it was a great experience that I continued to grow from. They provided an awesome sales team for us to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sports Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,752 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5