Sports Authority Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 2, 2018
Monitoring inventory of supplies and ordering more as needed. Answer and direct phone calls taking detailed messages when necessary. Provided outstanding customer service daily resulting in an increase in company revenue. Successfully processed cash transactions daily with 100 percent accountability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXDecember 29, 2017
It was a great experience getting to know people, specially freshly out from high school. Was scared at first speaking up to people, was a greatest fear of mine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watched dressing rooms cleaned up racks
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  1960 at Miles RoadDecember 29, 2017
We were busy because this was a holiday job. It was a very friendly place to work and I got along very well with everyone. I had to be on my feet all day but we stayed busy. After the first of the year they closed down all Sport Authoritys in Texas.
Pros
I had different hours
Cons
Different hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sports authority
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WADecember 29, 2017
Good people to work for and always nice willing to help whenever needed loved the staff and work environment was great and loved working with customers
Pros
Great company
Cons
Would have loved to keep working for them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well deserved store closing
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Greenfield, WIDecember 28, 2017
I loved working here. Great discounts, mostly nice customers, but terrible management. No wonder this company got shut down. I held a supervisor position but was still being paid minimum wage.
Pros
discounts
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sports Authority Sales
Footwear Specialist, Team Sports (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CADecember 28, 2017
easy simple tasks, management wasn't horrible could be better, learn a lot about sports and fitness if you already didn't. if your into athletics and sports its cool.
Pros
discounts, flexible hours
Cons
low pay, no benefits, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sports Authority
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  St Pete, FLDecember 28, 2017
Sports Authority went out of business so you do not have to worry about ever working there again. I do not like retail, one of the reasons I left. Too stressful and terrible hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to sale sporting goods
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sparks, NVDecember 27, 2017
I love sports. I love talking and teaching it, so this job was perfect for me. How ever I helped open a brand new store so they over hired for the location and hours were hard to come by
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMDecember 26, 2017
typical at work was to assist customers with
the product they can utilize for their sport.
Management was go at promoting a fun work
place without exerting employees.
Pros
employee discounts
Cons
went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Floor Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CADecember 26, 2017
TSA was a very fun experience for me, from my team to the customers. Everyone was always in a happy mood and devoted to work. This was the best company I have ever worked for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool experiene
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Deerfield, IL 60015December 22, 2017
This place had a great staff but management was not so great. Managers were awkward and they were a bit of rude. Great opportunity to help customers and feel good about yourself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  La Habra, CADecember 20, 2017
Always doing something at work, never a relaxed moment and always enjoying my work day. Environment of work was very fun and a little competitive and that was fun.
Pros
Discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sunrise, FLDecember 19, 2017
I was at sawgrass mills mall a very busy place this store was extremely busy at all times never any down time can be very stressful at times, best part was the co workers
Pros
fun
Cons
busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teams worked well together
Vice President of Operations (Former Employee) –  Englewood, CODecember 19, 2017
Great place to work, great collaboration. Company needed to get into online sales at a much quicker pace and develop more internal brands vs. relying heavily on name brands.
Pros
good teams in place that tooks time to develop but acheived goals
Cons
Sakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enviroment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Union, NJDecember 18, 2017
- Informing clients on product details, whilst initiating sales process
- Selling extended protection plans to clients
- Managing the register and finalizing purchases
- Hitting revenue targets for store consistently
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDDecember 12, 2017
I loved everything I did when I worked for Sports Authority. It's retail so prepare to work and deal with people, you will be challenge to meet goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its out of business
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  NJDecember 10, 2017
This job was pretty relaxed. A typical day consisted of picking up phone calls and give informative information about the store. It also required to hit a quota at the end of each week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works together and as a very great team
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLDecember 9, 2017
Sports authority was a sports shopping center that made everyone as in the customers and the employees felt as if we were all family oriented. In other words, Sports Authority was also competitive with other commons store even it own but difficult location. It’s fantastic place to work and build.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good while it lasted
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Hialeah fl and Aventura FlDecember 2, 2017
Store was closing so I had to find another job. I did so before the store closed.

Had to work at time the graveyard shift when the store was being revamped.
Pros
great employee discount 50%
Cons
store cosed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
multi-trade worker 3 (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 2, 2017
maintain the buildings finishes plumbing inspections I work all events as a rep for TSA talking can of all problems that occur during event such as nfl football games, concerts ect. ect.
Pros
see alot of football
Cons
no advancements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sports Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,854 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5