Sports Authority Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COAugust 24, 2017
Fun place to work and make friends. You can work on your customer service skills while learning about sports gear. They are a caring company and want you to succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  White Plains, NYAugust 24, 2017
Great job opportunities. Friendly staff. Overall, a great stepping stone job, with ample experience for those that need it. Management was amazing as well.
Pros
Management, benefits
Cons
Retail job (hours)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working in the Accounting Office PT
Accounting Office Employee (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLAugust 23, 2017
I only worked in the Accounting Office PT, only 10-15 hours a week. Besides my full-time job, it allowed me to make extra money. I loved the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax culture
Benefits Specialist (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COAugust 21, 2017
Good company before the company went into bankruptcy. Total Rewards team was strong and encouraged advancement. Casual dress code. Good benefits offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PAAugust 21, 2017
Fast paced but fun environment to work in. Everyone worked as a team and helped each other out when needed. Management team was excellent and were there and had answers whenever you needed them
Pros
Hour breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and active sporting enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORAugust 20, 2017
I ran the shoe department and occasionally helped in other departments. I love sports so the atmosphere was my favorite part. The employees were lively and outgoing.
Pros
Fun working enviornment
Cons
Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and an amazing place to work.
Cashier, footwear (Former Employee) –  Paramus, NJAugust 19, 2017
Sports authority was nothing compared to dicks sporting goods which was a very big head turner especially since they are in the same job title. management was great hours flexible and it just made me feel part of a family great place to work at with very good co workers.
Pros
free lunches long breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Team floor salesperson, cashier, and stock keeper (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILAugust 16, 2017
Fast paced environment makes the day go by fast. Great people to work with and is flexible with your schedule. Hardest part is dealing with the public.
Pros
Flexible with your schedule
Cons
Dealing with rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COAugust 16, 2017
It was my first job ,loved the people that i worked with. Was there for about 3 and a half years. Went bankrupt and everyone lost their jobs. management was ok.
Pros
nice discounts
Cons
i was only part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall rating
Technician (Former Employee) –  Niles, ILAugust 16, 2017
1.check work tickets check inventory and get busy
2.to deal with many customers that don't speak english
3.managers were great and fun to work with
4.culture was great fun to work there
5.got very busy at times during the winter team work was a must
6.fun people around you fast paced and great tech center with best tools and managers
Pros
learn a lot of skills
Cons
be best to speak a few european languages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bankrupt
Sales Team Leader (Former Employee) –  United StatesAugust 15, 2017
company is bankrupt. they closed down. they aren't open anymore so there is no employees even though they still have their name on the stadium in denver
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun fast paced environment
Sales Associate / Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 14, 2017
Great company to work for. The ability for much advancement. Customers were great,staff was as well. Learned a lot about sports merchandise which made my job easier and the customer comfortable.
Pros
advancement
Cons
company closed its stores
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed culture for the most part; god preparation for busy season.
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CAAugust 13, 2017
I worked in the Footwear section where I was in charge of keeping the section clean and organized as well as helping customers within the area. I received a pay raise each year as well as one with my promotion to Senior Sales Associate. I was laid off because the company went bankrupt and all the stores closed. As a Senior associate I earned a lot of leadership experience by training new associates and being a person to go to for questions and guidance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staples
Co-Store Manager (Former Employee) –  New JerseyAugust 12, 2017
dont' remember much about the job its been more then 8 years now
Hard to give a full feedback on something i dont remember that much
don't remember much about the job
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of business
Operations Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, MNAugust 12, 2017
This company is out of business. They went out of business in August of 2016. They were headquartered in Denver and are no longer conducting business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAAugust 8, 2017
Poor management, only worried about themselves and their job security. Didn't do much to help with production. Bossy, overbearing working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stores gone and I'm sad
Lead Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZAugust 8, 2017
The people I worked with were all great friends. The store was very nice and had a relaxed feel. Met my awesome boyfriend of five years because of this store. lol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate, Cashier, and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Emeryville, CAAugust 7, 2017
Working at Sports Authority was by far my favorite. Daily responsibilities included helping customers with checkout, unboxing and hanging new merchandise. Management and co-workers were very nice and helpful. I am sad that the company went out of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sr. Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New JerseyAugust 7, 2017
Unfortunately all stores have closed at this point, but working there was fun. The discount was the best thing about the job overall. Would have continued to work there if it didn't close down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the people I worked with.
Cash Lead (Former Employee) –  Lake Stevens, WAAugust 5, 2017
I loved the people and the store I worked at. My managers were all great. They took the time to make sure every one of the employees had the time they needed and shifts they wanted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sports Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,805 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5