Sports Chalet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not opened
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaOctober 7, 2017
Business went out of business. When opened it was always busy and great products and some were priced good. hours were ok if you had another job there was no full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible job Horrible manager
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CASeptember 4, 2017
This place is no longer in business, which is not a surprise. Full of micromanaging, and demeaning managers that only cared about getting their check at the end of the week.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grate place to work.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAAugust 29, 2017
Very challenging and competitive work place throughout district. A typical day would be opening store in the morning, balancing cash office from night before, checking, emails from management and corp office. Starting the day by checking the schedule and assigning task to employees, walking the store for any problem areas or hot spots. Going over daily sales and membership goals for the day with employees.

The hardest part of my job was leaving for the day and the most enjoyable was help the customers find just what they were looking for.
Pros
Great culture and always meeting new people and learning and displaying new products.
Cons
Store Closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAJune 19, 2017
they are out of business now so I do not know why I have to write a review for a company that no longer exists. but it was a relaxed job, nothing crazy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company went bankrupt.
Sales (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 16, 2017
The managers were on the aggressive side, at least one of them was but he was the main. Since it was closing down it was very unorganized while I was working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
FIXTURE LOGISTICS SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  La Cañada Flintridge, CAMay 12, 2017
Lots of exposure to the retail world from store openings to store closures.

Great leadership from the corporate level.

Pay was minimal for the job responsibilities
Pros
Pro deals on vendor products
Cons
Holiday vacations were non existent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super Fun Company
Team Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  West Hills, CAApril 28, 2017
Unfortunately Sport Chalet is no longer in business. They were located on the west coast. Super fun company to work for. Learned to scuba dive, ski, and fish while working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment to work at.
Retail Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZApril 26, 2017
Sports Chalet was a great place to work, and had a great environment. I loved working there for the time I did, however with every great place comes some negatives, like the strict management and short breaks. However, the helpfulness of all the employees along with understanding of other priorities was fantastic.
Pros
Great hours, very understanding of other commitments
Cons
Strict Management, Short Breaks, Not many promotions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good High School Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Eastvale, CAMarch 21, 2017
This was my first job in high school and I worked there with a few of my classmates and I had an OK time there. I don't have a lot of interest in sports equipment etc but it was good for some extra cash at the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAMarch 17, 2017
Sales culture is top notch.
Ability to apply cross selling techniques towards wide array of products and services.
Outdoor and Active centric company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAMarch 12, 2017
This was my first job and I really learned a lot of skills. It was very challenging in the beginning because I was attending school while working, but the atmosphere was great and everyone was helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work pace
Laguna Niguel - General Athletics Specialist (Former Employee) –  Laguna Niguel, CAFebruary 10, 2017
Usually try to keep yourself busy by doing pointless things. Very easy job that does not require a lot of skill or effort.
Pros
benefits
Cons
slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntington Beach, CADecember 24, 2016
I enjoyed working here however no matter what i was doing, i was never doing it correctly according to the management. That was the only real issue the rest of my time working there was well enjoyed they had a great staff and amazing work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great customer service job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CANovember 3, 2016
Although sport chalet is now closed, this was a great job while you are working and going to school. Working at sporting goods stores also helps you keep up an active lifestyle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 7, 2016
I learned how to work as a cashier, gained experience and improved on my skills. I met great people had a great experience, mostly for my first job. I really enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport Chalet
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CASeptember 9, 2016
Offer friendly services to customers by responding to their needs and questions.
Create weekly work schedules for all associates in department.
Assist with the daily operational functions of the department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience
Expert (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZAugust 11, 2016
Management was professional and got along well with employees. I enjoyed the products that we sold and employees worked hard to provide great customer service. Employees were encouraged to advance, however the store ended up going out of business.
Pros
Good hours, lots of opportunities, free rentals
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZAugust 11, 2016
Make customers happy every single day. form the moment I would step in through those sliding doors I knew what had to be done and I did it no questions asked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with people that enjoyed fishing, scuba, running, skiing and camping.
Department Manager/PADI Instructor (Former Employee) –  Marina del Rey, CAAugust 8, 2016
Great Place to meet people that have a passion about being outside and challenging themselves to exploring activities outside. A typical work day was getting scuba equipment ready for sale and teaching people how to use the equipment while helping them make good decisions on purchasing the right gear for themselves.
Pros
Working with people that enjoy outdoor activities and meeting a variety of people.
Cons
Pay wasn't so great and neither were the retail hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAApril 25, 2016
Coworkers are amazing
I learned how to spool a reel
I leanred rentals
Management was very easy to work with
Worked well with my school schedule
Very considerate of personal issues and emergencies
Pros
free classes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sports Chalet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 60 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.5