Find companies:
Springfield Technical Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Springfield Technical Community College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to help guide students
Biology Tutor (Current Employee), Springfield, MAMay 20, 2014
Everyday I usually had a student or two come by that asked questions about biology. The hardest part of the job was trying to get the students to retain the information. The most enjoyable part was when the student understood and they actually succeed in that class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Driver (Former Employee), Springfield, MAMarch 5, 2014
I like that there is something new every day to do. I think the work load can increase
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
informative
Data Entry, Office Assistant (Former Employee), Springfield, MAFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: internship
I was able to enjoy the little time i spent with this company. the professors are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Educational Experience
Lab Monitor/ Tutor (Current Employee), Springfield, MAAugust 13, 2013
A good way to get paid while pursuing a higher education plus the added bonus of being able to help the STCC community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STCC was the closet State Boiler Room to my home
Steam Fireman 1/Boiler Operator (Former Employee), Springfield, MAJune 20, 2013
Pros: free use of workout facilities, free workshoes annually
Cons: management shorted us on overtime and holiday pay, mangement took away all benefits, finally management eliminated our jobs entirely
At STCC beside the usual Boiler Room/ Chiller Plant operations I did many aspects of the overall HVAC maintenance. On a typical day I would do the boiler room/chiller plant rounds and logs and chem treating and general mainenance. If the Cheif was present during the heating season ( when the high pressure steam boiler requring 24/7 monitoring was online) – more... or when it wasn't heating season I would do the rounds of all the mechancal equipment and HVAC spaces and rooftop chiller towers and ventilation equipment and check the operation of the equipment in these areas. On a typical day I would be answering cold or hot complaints or following up on HVAC alarms from the Johnsons Controls Metysis HVAC computer monitoring system or answering noise or water leak or odor complaints to see if they were HVAC related. I did piping,motor changing, pump changing, filter changing, generator operating, radiator repairs, window AC changing, AC filter changing and cleaning, equipment oil adding and changing, belt adjusting and changing and replacement, condensate return equipment repairs, domestic hotwater circulation pump repairs and changing, aircompressor maintenance, smoke source detection, ductwork and insulation repairs, air handler repairs, heat exchanger repairs, ventilation fan and exhaust fan repairs. I think I would have to under go hypnosis to remember 100% of the repairs and maintenance I did in the seven years I was at STCC. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Aid Office WORK & EXPERIENCE
FAFSA Assistance Advisor (Former Employee), Springfield MAFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: making my own work schedule
Cons: no benefits
At the Financial Aid office on a typical day, my duties included opening and disbursing the mail for the day, data entry,fax,phone and student support. I would confirm, cancel or reschedule appointments for the next day, work on an assignment or finish projects at my desk while assisting students who enter the Financial Aid office at the front desk – more... area. For the first few years I was the first contact in the office between students and staff. I would assist students according to their needs and by the Financial Aid guidelines. Most of my skills were acquired through education and work at Springfield Technical Community College. The hardest part of my job at the Financial Aid office was balancing work, school, and kids at once. It took a lot of discipline and dedication to obtain my Associates Degree. My co-workers were great and the office worked well as a team. There were deadlines each of us had to meet and as a team we accomplished so much. The most enjoyable part of my employment is building a great relationship with the student body and staff at the college. The college is very diverse and accommodates everyone's needs educationally which makes the college very unique. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worrked while going to school
Engineering Student Tutor and teaching assitant (Former Employee), Springfield MassachusettsDecember 12, 2012
Pros: they are a reat place to get the starting semesters of engineering program
Cons: community colleges can carry sigmas, but sttc has a good reputation
STCC was a good preparation for RPI. the Professors cared very much for the students and would go the extra mile for us. They gave me a great foundation to build on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Springfield, MASeptember 10, 2012
Pros: able to study while working
Cons: no benefits or better pay
Help Students
There is no age to continue with your education
Supervisor a very down to earth person
Fun, different cultures
Graduation Preparation, but with the help of volunteers and students things always got done on time,
Getting to meet new students every year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Review
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Springfield, MAJune 4, 2012
Pros: high stress situations
Cons: enjoyment when success was made in clients lives
Great company who is a non-Profit orginazation for inner city poverty stricken community. They work closely with government organizations to offer servisec to ensure assistance to all walk of life that come from troubled or dysfunctional family. Great cause for better living. I enjoyed working for a company that made a difference to my community. This – more... job gave me allot of satisfaction know I was helping make a difference in people lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment were the use of Mac computers are mainly used in the graphic arts/photography workforce.
College Work Study/Computer Lab Supervisor (Current Employee), Springfield, MAApril 23, 2012
Pros: work on photography assignments, graphic art assignments, essays, and other homework
Being the supervisor at the Mac computer lab in the graphic arts department is beneficial for my major. The use of Mac computers on a regular basis helps me become more familiarized especially for PC users like myself. I am able to get assignments done and keep up with homework from my other classes. Having the opportunity to assist students with their – more... problems is enjoyable for me. It's even a learning experience for myself if I cannot assist them with a specific problem. – less